We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A perfect Tuscan holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Michaela

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Michaela
Ranked #42 of 168 Lucca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ludlow, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect Tuscan holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2008

We arrived at Villa Michaela on a hot summer’s evening, unaware of the experience awaiting us. The Villa was stunning and beautifully furnished, surrounded by idyllic gardens and pool. We were warmly greeted by the owner, Vanessa. My teenage children were pleased by the delightful company of other young people staying at the Villa and enjoyed the extensive facilities; tennis courts, pool table, home cinema to name but a few. Furthermore, the location was perfect - we were able to enjoy the picturesque village of Vorno and the ancient town of Lucca, a short 15 minute drive away. This was a truly memorable holiday, not only for the serenity and beauty of the Villa, but for the warmth and hospitality extended to my family. We shall return!

  • Liked — The Beautifully furnished villa
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RAZ55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    12
    2
    6
    8
See reviews for
31
41
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2008

I arrived at Villa Michaela in wonderful sunshine - opera music was playing in the background and the scent of roses and honeysuckle greeted me at the entrance. Villa Michaela is a magical place, full of charm, personality and presence. A wonderful villa with an even more wonderful family who owns it. They make you feel so welcome and so at home you won't want to leave. Wonderful dinners cooked in the Limonaia are a highlight and a swim in the magnificent pool. Lot's of chilled white wine and antiques add to the stay. A wonderful local restaurant in the little village completes the food experience and is run by an amazing Italian family who also own the local shop and bar!

I would come back to Villa Michaela in a shot! It now feels like family and a home from home - although a very magnificent home!

Please visit... it's enchanting. It truly is Tuscany on a silver platter!

  • Liked — The bathrooms!
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Maria73Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2008

we had a wonderful stay at Villa Michaela - the owners swept us up into their family life and treated us like friends - full of advice of where to go in the area and even brought their chef Lucca in to cook us all a delicious meal on our arrival night. the Villa has been magically and inspirationally restored by the owners and I couldnt praise it highly enough Robina and Alastair Farley

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank screenlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East England
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2008

We went there for our 25th wedding anniversary and had the most fabulous time. The Villa lived up to all our expectations and more.
The food was delicious and we loved eating in the garden under the trees in the shade. The pool was wonderful both as a fitnesspool and for cooling off in the hot Tuscan sun. The staff were most helpful and
we were given excellent aadvice on where to eat in and around Lucca.
The local bar was such fun and served delicious food too. A superb banquet was surved at Villa Michaela for our 25th.

The housekeeper (also called Michaela) was so helpful and even went into Florence for me to pick up an Armani suit that was being altered.

Such a fab relaxing palace to stay in.

  • Liked — The wonderful furniishings and antiques
  • Disliked — Bath in one of the many main bedrooms took quite a time to fill
  • Stayed September 2004, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Howicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2006

This villa is a bit run down and in the small town of Vorno about 15 minutes from Lucca. The place has some charm in a haunted house sort of way. It is intended for longer stays and really does not function as a hotel. The food was poor and the staff was not very availble or friendly. The place sells itself as an interior design masterpiece but we found the villa mismatched, unclean, and just plain creepy. And all this for a high price in a remote location.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
11 Thank NicaCasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2006

We stayed in the Coach House purchased thru Luxury Link at Auction. We undoubtedly were the first to rent the Coach House for the season. It is was dirty especailly the kitchen and living room. We had no luck with the help who seemed to want to be on holiday for another week. There were grounds issues and dog issues all treated quiite casually by the staff. Not a good experience and the after experience of trying to get some satisfaction was worse.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Tips/Secrets — Go Somewhere Else
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank HARVEYMAINS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
1.4 mi away
Albergo Villa Marta
Albergo Villa Marta
#6 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
2.1 mi away
Villa La Principessa
Villa La Principessa
#15 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Cheli
Hotel Villa Cheli
#14 of 53 in Lucca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Villa Giustiniani
Villa Giustiniani
#27 of 53 in Lucca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Volpi
Hotel Villa Volpi
#29 of 53 in Lucca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
4.4 mi away
Lucca in Villa San Marco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Michaela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Michaela

Property: Villa Michaela
Address: Via di Valle 8 | Vorno, 55060, Lucca, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 168 B&Bs / Inns in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Michaela 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Michaela is one of Tuscany's most beautiful villas set in an olive grove with an adjoining chapel. Weddings, family re-unions Corporate events a speciality. 17 Double bedrooms. Stunning pool, screening room, large dining room seats 40. Private chef available. Villa Michaela is the Italian home of the Rhode School of Cuisine. 20 Minutes to Pisa, 40 to Florence, 10 to Lucca and 30 to Forte de Marmi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and Booking.com so you can book your Villa Michaela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Michaela Hotel Lucca
Michaela Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing