We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the old town”
Review of Corte di Re Artu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Corte di Re Artu
Ranked #44 of 177 Lucca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed in Lady Ginerva suite in this restored house for one week and it is a 10 minute walk from the old town of Lucca. It has its own parking on site or if that is not available, there is free parking just around the corner. The house is restored in the medieval style and our room was at the top of about 5 small flights of stairs. Our room was spacious with its own fridge, TV, safe and table and the bed is a four poster of iron. There is even a old fashioned bath in the room. There is a separate shower/toilet room and a small balcony. There is also wifi connection available.

Francesca the manager was very helpful and informative when we asked questions and she also booked our Ufizzi Gallery tickets for us to save us a wait when we went to Florence. She also suggested a drive to the Garfagnana region and that was interesting and worthwhile.

Breakfast was adequate but nothing to rave about. Juice was served in plastic cups. There was the usual couple of cheeses, breads, croissants, eggs,yoghurt, fresh fruit and cereals.

My only negative comment was that there was not always someone at reception. At breakfast, there was always someone there but at different times of the day, there was noone around. There is noone on site at night but the manager could always be contacted by mobile. Not always convenient if you do not have a mobile phone.

We would recommend this property for its access to the old town.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelbourneJade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 236 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

Corte di Re Artu is located some 5 mins walk from the old city walls,a pleasant walk in.
Francesca was very accommodating during our stay ( a party of 8),making a reservation for our meal one evening and providing an early breakfast on our departure.Individual and original rooms of good standard.3 parking spaces outside for guests use.
Bar San marco some 20 yards from accommodation,cheap and cheerful.
Lucca was beautiful with an abundance of restaurants and bars to choose from,great friendly people made a very enjoyable weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hooky9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

The location is really perfect, close to the historical area (10 min walk). Breakfast was simple but good. Maybe the quality of the isolation should be revised: we had some quite noisy people in the room close to us. Not easy to park in front of the hotel but you have a public one close to the hotel

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matyeux86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

My little daughter and I stayed one night in July 2013 at this wonderful place. We enjoyed the very friendly service of the owner who is very fluend in English. Eventhough we booked at very short notice via HRS at a stunning price she gave us her best room. We slept very well during that hot summer night thanks to the air conditioning. The italian style breakfast was a good start into the next day. I can only highly recommend this B&B which is much more a boutique hotel.
Ciao Tess + Raimar from Hamburg, Germany

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raimarvw v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Very enjoyable with a fantastic breakfast. Close to the Old city and next to a nice little cafe for provisions. Fantastic room, large bathroom and bed with an old claw foot bath in the main room.
If your looking at staying outside the walled city but close enought to walk, look no further...

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank timsontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

After checking out this b & b and reading the reviews I was slightly concerned however, I do wonder what some people expect.

Firstly this is a b & b and doesnt excatly what it says, it isnt a hotel, no 24 hour reception, late night drinking bar etc and for the location, rooms and breakfast it was superb.

It is a 5 minute walk to the walled city and 10 minute walk into the main town. Have to say location is wonderful and right at end of road is a fab take away pizza shop, lovely authentic bar and small restaurant.

Francesa whom works at the reception and breakfast was wonderful and nothing was too much trouble from issuing us a map to booking a taxi for us.

We found the outside and inside stunning, so nice to stay in something authentic rather than a plush hotel with no charactor. The courtyard out the back was great, even managed a pizza takeaway to eat out there.

Rooms were spotless and I mean spotless, the bathrooms were to die for and the beds were the most comfortable that I have ever slept on. Such lovely character to enjoy within the building it was wonderful.

We had the room at the front with the small balcony, such a joy to wake up and see the church from our room.

Breakfast was typically b&b style, juices, water and hot drinks, cakes, bread, eggs, meats cheeses etc. Really nothing wrong with it, bear in mind it isnt a michelin starr restaurant so not sure what people expect.

The bar next door seems alway open and we enjoyed a few one for the roads there before bedtime! Great atmosphere.

Lucca itself is glorious and wish we had longer to wander around but we did Pisa on the train which for 4 euros was a bargain for the day and only downside of our stay was that it wasnt longer.

Will return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ale_fra_23_3_2010, Proprietario at Corte di Re Artu, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear family!

we are so grateful to read your comments and so happy to get a good service. We look forward to welcome you again at La Corte di Re Artu!

Greetings from Lucca to your kind mum!

Francesca e Alessandro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We spent three wonderful nights at the Corte di Re Artu' , an authentic and exclusive medieval residence. It was like visiting the past - we slept in a suite with a four-poster bed - I felt just like a queen! I can recommend the hotel for a romantic stay and for sightseeing tours of the city centre. The spacious car park next to the hotel is free of charge, so we just left the car there and walked into the historic city centre (just 5 minutes walk from the hotel). The staff were very kind and helpful, the hotel is extremely clean with a medieval ambiance, but at the same time a very contemporary feel with all the comforts one needs to feel welcome and at home.
Theresa Mayor

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.8 mi away
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
0.7 mi away
Corte Dei Folletti
Corte Dei Folletti
#42 of 177 in Lucca
311 reviews
1.8 mi away
Villa Corte Degli Dei
Villa Corte Degli Dei
#14 of 177 in Lucca
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Il Seminario Bed & Breakfast
0.6 mi away
B&B Anfiteatro
B&B Anfiteatro
#15 of 177 in Lucca
431 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lucca Charm
Lucca Charm
#53 of 177 in Lucca
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corte di Re Artu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corte di Re Artu

Address: Via San Marco 443, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Lucca
Price Range: $45 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Corte di Re Artu 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Corte di Re Artu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corte Di Re Artu Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing