We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a lovely find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alla Dimora Lucense
Ranked #35 of 51 Hotels in Lucca
Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“a lovely find”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

after ending up at a revolting hotel in Prato during a weekend with a major cycle race, I found Alla Dimora Lucense at the last minute using Trip Advisor.
My mum and I left our bus tour and boarded the train for Lucca. Unsure of what to find arriving at the train station we breathed a sigh of relief, the town just had a lovely feel.

The taxi driver took about 10 minutes to reach the hotel in the narrow streets of the old town. We were received by the manager and we felt very welcome. She showed us to our room on the top floor. A lift took us 2 floors and we had to carry the bags up another. It was not too hard. The room had a small sitting room with a double sofa bed, and upstairs had a queen bed and the bathroom. The view from the windows was of the roofs … a favourite of mums so she was very happy. It was a really quiet and peaceful. The beds were not the most comfortable, and we were happy to stay only 2 nights on them, but that was the only downside.

The breakfasts were simple and continental, as expected … the croissants tasty and fresh with lovely fresh coffee.

Wifi was easy to use in the courtyard, and meant the room really was an ideal escape.

The communication with the hotel was good - with my booking confirmed (with a personal email) at 11pm at night. Above and beyond for a family hotel.

Lucca itself is lovely, stay within the walls and you will adore it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Di_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    27
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
27
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Alla Dimora Lucense for a long weekend in October, visiting for our friends' wedding. We arrived early to a busy reception but were greeted warmly and told that our room was ready for us. Our room was large and clean and although it was next to the breakfast room, not too noisy. The hotel is in a quiet side road but in a great central location near to shops and restaurants (less than a minute's walk). The staff were friendly and helpful and we would definitely stay there again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Grand-Pressigny, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

My friends and I stayed at Alla Dimora Lucense recently for three nights. The proprietress/manager was so very helpful and kind, she repeatedly went far beyond the necessary to help us. She gave us train timetables, called a taxi, gave wonderful restaurant recommendations, and much more. Our rooms were huge, great bathroom, furnishings were fine except the pillows are like sacks of cement and the bedside light so dim I had to use a flashlight. Breakfast in a cheery room was, however, disappointing. There were piles of packaged little cookies or muffins that looked revolting, and the coffee was surprisingly weak considering we're in Italy after all. Otherwise, some sad fruit, fresh pastries and yogurts. There was also a nice lounge with wifi and comfy couches. The location can't be beat, overall I really enjoyed my stay and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street may be slightly more exposed to night-time noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbondanza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathgate
Level Contributor
134 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed here for three nights. Ester was in contact with us before our stay to ensure our room was ready for our arrival. When we did arrive Ester was there to welcome us and throughout our stay was very helpful. This is located within the old town and everything is within walking distance, including the railway station with luggage. Our room was a good size with everything you needed and had loads of charm. Overall a wee gem of a place and wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Nice little hotel located in the semi-pedestrian old town. The owner is a very friendly and competent lady running the place by herself, much more like a B&B than a hotel.
Location is perfect, close to the main street and the amfiteatro, with plenty of places to eat, drink and shop nearby. There are parking places shared with other hotels available 300 m away, which may be slightly inconvenient. Rooms are spacious and clean, nicely decorated. Breakfast is simple but good,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldHopperEU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meze, France
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

I noticed Alla Dimora Lucense only comes half way through the reviews of hotels in Lucca. That is so sad. Because Dimora Lucense is a gorgeous little hotel. We chose it after reading many reviews for its position in the walled city and its parking. Considering that if you want to stay in the old part of Lucca, finding a car park in the hotel was a great bonus. And we were absolutely not disappointed by this quaint little hotel, very warmly decorated and welcoming. Situated in a very quiet street close to Piazza Amphiteatro and Via Filungo.. and a couple of hundred metres from a water fountain where local people fill up their bottles regularly, Dimora Lucense offers a good size room with a well appointed bathroom . The lady running the place speaks several languages and is always so ready to help you out . She makes you feel welcome and at home and prepares for you each morning a reasonable breakfast. I would highly recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank platypus06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

This was our 3rd or 4th stay at Dimora Lucense. It is a great B&B with small lovely rooms, but everything you need. The bathroom is a good size and very clean.
The breakfast was included this time and was very good. Coffee was made to order.

It is close to everything and easy to drive to.

The best part of the B&B is Ester, the lady at the front desk, who does everything! She checks you in, makes your breakfast and even moves your car in the attached garage. I can't say enough about her, she is so nice!!

I hope we will be back soon to a great little place in a great town!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tersant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Luna
Hotel La Luna
#20 of 51 in Lucca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.2 mi away
A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca
0.2 mi away
Antica Residenza dell'Angelo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Piccolo Hotel Puccini
Piccolo Hotel Puccini
#24 of 51 in Lucca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ai Cipressi Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Residenza di Via Fontana
Residenza di Via Fontana
#43 of 170 in Lucca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alla Dimora Lucense? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alla Dimora Lucense

Property: Alla Dimora Lucense
Address: via Fontana, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 51 Hotels in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alla Dimora Lucense reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alla Dimora Lucense Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing