We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a disappointment after these great reviews...” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Biancalana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa Biancalana
Ranked #109 of 165 Lucca B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a disappointment after these great reviews...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

I'd booked early at Casa Biancalana to attend my sister's wedding in Tuscany. They'd taken a credit card booking happily and I'd confirmed the booking the week before as I'm 33 weeks pregnant and really didn't need anything to go wrong, as I knew it would be very hot (it was 37 degrees). Atilla congratulated me and said she looked forward to welcoming me. So far, so good. We arrived to and after a lot of loud knocking on the door (they can't hear you unless they're right by it...!) we went in. To be told that we couldn't have the room we'd securely booked as the person staying there wasn't feeling well and wanted to stay another night. They suggested a 'flat' 3km up the road with no facilities and then coming back to the hotel to use theirs, and then move our stuff again the day after (the wedding day!) to the hotel to suit them. They didn't seem apologetic or offer any discount for the extreme inconvenience this would cause. They also refuse to consider asking the other guest to move given that the room had been securely booked for some time. Very disappointing and causing myself and my husband a lot of stress. We could only give up and go and and find another room - thereby ruining a day of our holiday. We found the Hotel Villa Cheli on the south west side of Lucca and I can't rate it highly enough - a warm welcome and couldn't have been more accommodating, unlike Casa Biancalana. If this is the way they run a business and treat customers then I think it's a great shame.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    34
    11
    9
    30
See reviews for
42
68
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sandefjord, Norway
Level Contributor
140 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

Casabiancalana has very nice rooms and a lovely garden. The service was friendly and attentive. Don't be afraid to ask for restaurant recommendations, the landlady gave us several very nice tips that showed to be very nice experiences. Only thing that also other have mentioned, the place is a little outside the center. The drive into the historic part of Lucca is about 10 minutes or around EUR 10 with a taxi, but don't let this be an issue when choosing; Hotel Casabiancalana is a fantastic place. BTW, We stayed here for 14 days and could easily stayed for another 14 days.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oistein_O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2010

We had difficulties finding Casa Biancalana, ( ensure you have a good Google map and the full street address) however Attilia guided us by telephone and met us at the front door! We agree wiht others comments re location, however there was good free car parking nearby. The welcome from Attilia was incredible and she is very proud of history of her home, and its beautiful furnishings and garden. We had a large quiet and extremely comfortable bedroom with ensuite bathroom upstairs, and were spoilt with the beautiful breakfasts ( and all the trimmings!) Attilia told us she does cooking classes - sadly no time on this trip, but we would definite stay at Casa Bianacalana again and allow a few more days to relax in thr surroundings.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittard, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2010

I just want to thank you again for the great hospitality and kindness that you showed us. We had an excellent time at your beautiful old casa where especially I liked the atmosphere in the whole house. This is really a great place to stay and maybe some of us will come back some day.

I appreciate it very much that you cooked such lovely dinners for us and the breakfast was exactly as I had read about it : excellent !... and the cakes...wow, delicious !

Catharina, thank you too for your wonderful delicious cookies and your effort to help your mother preparing this wonderful meal, also for George on the first evening.

All 12 men were surprised by the hospitality and atmosphere in the house which felt like home. Attilia is one of the nicest Italian woman I have ever met and she did all possible efforts to pleasant our stay. I can certainly recommend this place to everyone. Clean nice rooms with great beds.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank manniederlibero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2010

On the cool October days of our stay, windows and doors were left open, and there was no heat. We froze in the evening and morning. Too far to walk to Lucca town, public transport spotty, and too dangerous to ride a bike, you have to have a car to stay here any time of year. The facility would be a lovely stay in warmer months with large garden and pool to relax in. Big breakfast room with generous delicious food choices. I liked the building and rooms which have the feel of elegance of age with thick walls, antique furniture, wooden shutters, nice linens, comfortable beds, plenty of towels, and the hostess was really nice. Procure a room away from the road. Free wi-fi internet was available but only from a few spots in the place. We will recommend this facility but only to those who have a car.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arnold B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights; 2 adults and 2 kids, in the apartment Lavinia which was very spacious. The hotel is a little way out of the walled city and you would really need a car (there is free parking at the hotel). However, the hotel itself is lovely - a guest house, really. It is a charming villa with a tranquil garden and pool which was great to unwind in before setting out again for dinner in the city. Breakfasts were feasts and the hosts very friendly and helpful. If the house was in the centre of Lucca it would be perfect as everything else is exactly what you could wish for.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StubbyDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2010

Couldn't have asked for more……! We arrived at Casa Biancalana after a fairly straight forward drive from Pisa airport. A local map of Lucca is advisable in order to find it though.

We were given a very large and comfortable room which came with its own large bathroom and use of kitchen facilties. The villa itself is stunning, with a modest but nice pool, lovely well kept gardens and a true rustic italian feel.

Atillia and her husband George were incredibly attentive and friendly and made sure we had everything we needed. The villa is a 5 minute drive to Lucca town or a 30min walk which in the lovely evenings we decided to do more than drive. Lucca town is fantastic with plenty of lovely restaurants and shops to explore as well as being a beautiful place to just stroll around.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jsauly23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
1.9 mi away
Villa Giustiniani
Villa Giustiniani
#27 of 53 in Lucca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
4.3 mi away
Villa La Principessa
Villa La Principessa
#15 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Cheli
Hotel Villa Cheli
#14 of 53 in Lucca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Albergo Villa Marta
Albergo Villa Marta
#9 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
3.0 mi away
Il Casale di Nanni
Il Casale di Nanni
#35 of 165 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
5.7 mi away
Villa Pardi Lucca
Villa Pardi Lucca
#41 of 165 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Biancalana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Biancalana

Property: Casa Biancalana
Address: Via della Santissima Annunziata 1070, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 165 B&Bs / Inns in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Casabiancalana For those who love beautiful, the taste and refinement and search for a Bed and Breakfast in Lucca as an alternative to more expensive hotels in the area, in B&B Casa Biancalana a unique solution, that is a level Bed and Breakfast absolutely top, with rooms and apartments located in a splendid villa of the 1600, tastefully furnished and renovated, to provide a unique ambience and excitement guests .... Inside the B&B there are also two receptions rooms, la Limonaia room and the Hall of Portraits, for the Organization of events, ceremonies and meetings. A solution to the Top, absolutely not comparable to traditional Bed and Breakfast in Lucca and its province ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Casa Biancalana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Biancalana Lucca
Casa Biancalana Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing