We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of B&B Casa Alba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
B&B Casa Alba
Ranked #118 of 168 Lucca B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2011

Good room and Marta is friendly and accommodating - rooms are basic and breakfast is Italian style (small). It feels like student accommodation with you are left to your own devices but with WiFi and easy access to the whole town what else do you want?

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank En0ck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    20
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
3
42
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2010

Fabulous B&B with homely comforts. We were greeted by freshly scented lavender room, clean and air conditioned. Stayed four nights, towels cleaned changed after 2 nights. Freshly baked (home) cake for breakfast & brewed coffee. Great location on main shopping street of Lucca. My wife and i will definitely go back, it was the highlight of 2 weeks in Italy, we spent too much time out of the city.
Marta is very welcoming.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterMarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2010

Very nice authentic, tenement-based B&B , which was clean with comfortable bed. We arrived on a late flight and were fortunate that a fellow traveller agreed to stay up and let us in, otherwise we might have slept rough that night. Not an ideal venue for late arrivals as Marta does not live on premises.
Otherwise nice and homely - student feel to it. Notes warning you off the cake a bit forbidding and breakfast a bit meagre - but maybe that's an Italian B&B thing.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruthine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2010

The strengths of Casa Alba are its central location within the walls of Lucca, and the friendliness of Marta the owner. Decor wise, the communal dining area is quite funky - it reminded me of a student flat and felt really homely. The bedrooms however looked really dated and could have done with freshening up, though they were clean. My room was quite spacious but as it faced a scruffy inner courtyard wall at the back, it felt dark. I had a look at the oher rooms and the one facing the street was definitely the worst - noisy, small and musty. The apartment, as that's all it is really with what would have been living space turned into extra bedrooms, is pretty small and although I stayed there out of season and it was quiet, I imagine that if you are unlucky enough to be staying the same dates as noisy guests, you could be disturbed. Marta came back at a pre-arranged time to give me breakfast - but in fact all she did was get out some cake from a cake tin and give me a bread roll. I made my own tea with the kettle and I wasn't offered juice or yogurt although I had seen some in the fridge, so I was a little disappointed. Another downside, is that Marta does not live at the apartment, so like another reviewer, I was earlier than my estimated time of arrival, so noone was at the apartment to let me in and I couldn't reach Marta on the telephone. I too had use the services of the local tourism office. Not an ideal start to the stay. All in all, a good budget place to stay if you want to be central, especially if you are in a big enough group to take up the 4 bedrooms and then have the place to yourselves.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanetDSevenoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2010

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at Casa Alba di Marta in Lucca and loved every minute of it. Lucca is a fantastic little town and provided a nice relaxing reprieve from our whirlwind trip through Italy. Casa Alba is in a great location on Via Fillungo, the main street through Lucca. Walk out the front door of the building and you are right in the middle of everything. The B&B is up a few flights of stairs, but we traveled with backpacks so it was no problem getting our bags up there. Our room was spacious and impeccably clean. The mattress was a little hard, but that's my only complaint. The bathroom was nice and the shower had good water pressure and plenty of hot water (my only recommendation is to install a soap dish or a little shelf to hold shampoo/soap/etc.--that would have made it perfect!) The common area/breakfast room was very cheery and the breakfast was good--homemade breakfast cake, fresh bread with butter and jam, yogurt, coffee, and juice. Marta is a wonderful hostess, very sweet and hospitable. We were given great restaurant recommendations (try Trattoria de Leo for delicious, reasonably priced Luccese food) and thoroughly enjoyed strolling through this beautiful, quaint town. I definitely plan on visiting Lucca again in the future and wouldn't hesitate to stay at this lovely B&B again.

(By the way--Lucca is where Puccini is from. There are concerts on most days of the year in the church where Puccini was baptized (great acoustics). We were two of four people who attended the concert on one of the nights we were there--it was like having a private opera concert just for us. Absolutely fantastic! You can inquire at the Tourist Information office about the concert schedule while you are there. This was one of our favorite experiences during our trip.)

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderlust817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2009

We stayed at Casa Alba di Marta for 7 nights and it was perfect for us. Our room was very clean and bright, the ensuite bathroom was large, modern and spotless, and the bed was comfortable. Our room and 3 others face the inner courtyard. One room faces Via Fillungo, the main shopping, people watching street in Lucca. It was so peaceful and quiet at night, the only noise came from the restaurant at street level mainly when they were closing and putting trash out. The windows were large and when open would let the sun stream into the room. Shutters and drapes keep it dark if you prefer. There is a common area that was shared by other guests. A small fridge and two tables are in the sitting room for guest use. Marta arrived at the same time each morning and made great coffee! Breakfast was continental, including tea, milk, juice, yogurt, fresh bread, cake, and condiments. Marta stays in the morning to clean the rooms and is there if you need advice on travel, restaurants, shopping, laundry, etc. The restaurants she recommended were excellent and we returned to them at least once. The best pizza in Tuscany is just below Casa Alba. It was very easy to communicate with Marta by email and she was there to greet us at the time we agreed on for arrival. She is available by phone as well. We found that after walking around every day, all day, our room was a welcome haven and the weekly rate was very fair. Marta was in the process of setting up a router for wireless internet. The rooms are on the 3rd floor and the stairs were a challenge after a long day, but helped to wear the pasta off! Lucca was a good central location to travel to Pisa and Florence. Locals are friendly, the streets are clean, food is great, and there is so much to see and do in and around Lucca.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2009

We were absolutely delighted with this B&B. The communal space is bright and cosy- our room (quiet, facing a back courtyard) was delightful, and in the July heat, the superb whisper-quiet air conditioning was more than welcome!! Marta is extremely welcoming (speaks excellent English) and was more than happy to offer advice, from where to get reasonably priced groceries to beaches. Marta brings bread and cake (delicious, and baked by Marta herself) in the morning. There is also a fridge for guests which we found very useful. Excellently located in the heart of the city, we absolutely loved Lucca and thought Casa Alba was the perfect place to stay. Thanks Marta!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidGHorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
1.0 mi away
LuLa Bed & Breakfast
LuLa Bed & Breakfast
#66 of 168 in Lucca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.7 mi away
Arancio Guest House
Arancio Guest House
#142 of 168 in Lucca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Colonna
La Colonna
#68 of 168 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Le Terrazze
Le Terrazze
#27 of 168 in Lucca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.0 mi away
B&B Anfiteatro
B&B Anfiteatro
#19 of 168 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.9 mi away
B&B Angelini
B&B Angelini
#12 of 168 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Casa Alba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Casa Alba

Property: B&B Casa Alba
Address: Via Fillungo 142, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 168 B&Bs / Inns in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B Casa Alba 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Alba is a lovely bed & breakfast situated on the 2nd floor of a medieval palazzo on Via Fillungo inside the city walls of Lucca, in Tuscany. Very centrally located amongst historical sites, shops and restaurants, B&B Casa Alba offers the opportunity for its guests to experience deeply this beautiful Tuscan city at its best. Each of the 4 rooms have their own private bathroom, and they offer additional comforts such as air conditioning, free internet wifi, Sat TV, a fridge, hair dryer, and a continental breakfast in the morning.In the breakfast room you will find a kettle, tea and coffee at your disposal at any time. Driving a car is restricted in Lucca centre. Via email we can issue a temporary permit so you can drive your car to B&B Casa Alba to unload your luggage. We can direct you to where parking is permitted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your B&B Casa Alba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing