We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good location and reasonable price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Leone di Sant'Anna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Leone di Sant'Anna
Ranked #50 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Lucca
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good location and reasonable price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We were a little trepidatious about staying here as we had read mixed reviews on the website. However, we needn't have worried. We were given 2 double rooms, one ground floor as requested. Both rooms were spacious and had everything we could need, although we did note that there was a damp smell that got stronger as the day wore on - possibly from the bathroom?

The hotel was very well located for getting into Lucca, and we had no problem getting use of the free parking. We took breakfast at the hotel too. We made our decision on the basis of ease, but the breakfast itself was ok.

We took full use of the garden area, and enjoyed sitting out here having a drink before heading out for dinner in the evening. Beware the ambulances rushing up and down the street during the night though - they are rather loud!

All in all it was a perfectly satisfactory stay. Given it's location we thought the hotel was very good value (ie. cheap) and as a result one must adjust ones expectations accordingly. We would happily stay here again though.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Preciousholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    19
    24
    28
    41
See reviews for
16
57
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
pescara
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I had to clean the room before entering: inches of dust and dirt everywhere, expecially under the bed and behind the wardrobe. I had to pay 120 Euros just for one day.
Spoke to the owner on the phone (he was busy on the seaside (???) instead of properly running his place !!!). The answer given by the hotel-pro was the worst I've ever heard: "You speak silly ... you stupid tourist" (??????)

Francesco

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank francesco c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lucca hotels

Beaumont, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed there as we were passing through Tuscany. Our group of 4 was placed at the top (3rd floor). The rooms were cute but the 3rd floor is very low with the roof inclined to make walking a little difficult. The hotel staff was very friendly and the reception area is very charming. The spa is actually an above ground jacuzzi which was empty when we stayed there. The air conditioning which are room sized wall units was not nearly enough to cool our room and the other couple we were traveling with had to wake up early and go straight to the nearby laundromat due to an infestation of bed bugs. When we told the staff in the morning, they offered no compensation (not that we were looking for any). They did however give us a plastic trash bag to help us contain the infestation to our immediate articles of clothing. It seems that many people have had pleasant experiences here which is why we booked in the first place but if I had to stay here, I'd avoid the 3rd floor.

Room Tip: Stay off the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andrew g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Me and my girlfriend stayed there for two nights: we had made reservations for a room, but since the "hotel" was overbooked we were placed in a fold out couch in the basement of the building, with 4 other guests. It seems as though the receptionist lived in the basement as well, his room separated from the guests' only by a divider (the second night we were there he was shouting on the phone until 3 am). Apparently the guests are also supposed to share the TINY bathroom with him (which was never cleaned during our entire stay - very dirty floors and all sorts of products all over the place).

On their website they advertised as having a jacuzzi and free rental bikes, but when we asked the receptionist about he told us the jacuzzi was out of order and the bikes were all broken.

However, the location is pretty good, being only a 5 min. walk to the Lucca walls.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_NNN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

The B&B arranged a shuttle service from Pisa airport which was very good for us middle aged ladies. The room was spacious, spotlessly clean with a full size fridge and lovely bathroom with a heated towel rail. The shower unit was smaller than the UK standard but that is usual in Italy (don't drop the soap!) At reception (always manned) we were given recommendations for restaurants which were reasonably priced and good value. Nothing was too much trouble. We did not take up the offer of breakfast as there were plenty of small cafes nearby. Ideally located to explore Lucca or catch a bus from the bus station just inside the Sant'Anna gate.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skara82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snowmass Village, Colorado
Level Contributor
144 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Just 100 meteras from the walls. No free parking and wew took a pass on the expensive breakfast. We were there for the location and would return.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bruce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

We stayed here a week and never regretted choosing this B&B just outside the Lucca walls - 5 min walk to the walls.

Our room was huge with two large beds and a reasonable sized bathroom (with a miniscule shower), a small fridge and a small TV - no cupboard in the room, but there was a rack and hangers, which sufficed well enough. The linen and towels were spotless and the room was cleaned everyday.

The reception is not manned all day and you will have to call a number on the outdoor wall to get in touch with the reception staff. This was a bit disturbing at first - but after a few days we got used to it. The staff is very friendly and and speak english - some better than others though. Please note there is no cloak room where you can stove your luggage if arriving early before check-in time or leaving Lucca in the afternoon, well after having checked out.

The breakfast is not included in the price and rates at EUR 5 per person per day. The B&B asks you to order and pay for breakfast the evening before at the latest. We neglected this fact immensely and still got breakfast though. The breakfast is in italian standards above level. Surprisingly good coffee, a few slices of white bread, preserves of the unpretentious kind, yoghurt and croissants. The breakfast is served in the garden and each guest/party is served individually.

Important note! If you go to Lucca to ride your bike around the stunning landscape, this B&B will not allow you to keep your bike in the room. There is no locked storage room where you can keep it, and you'll then have to leave it in the garden (which is closed from the street by a large locked gate).

Room Tip: Ask for a room above ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sinkadusen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#4 of 55 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 923 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Le Ville
Hotel Le Ville
#26 of 55 in Lucca
4.0 of 5 stars 134 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Casa del Pittore
La Casa del Pittore
#141 of 160 in Lucca
3.0 of 5 stars 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Arancio Guest House
Arancio Guest House
#135 of 160 in Lucca
3.5 of 5 stars 25 reviews
0.0 mi away
Residence Buonamici
Residence Buonamici
#48 of 68 in Lucca
3.0 of 5 stars 22 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Phoenix - Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leone di Sant'Anna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leone di Sant'Anna

Property: Leone di Sant'Anna
Address: Via Buonamici 221, 05510, Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Lucca
Hotel Class:3 star — Leone di Sant'Anna 3*
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing