We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“INCREDIBLY DIRTY PLACE AND RUDE OWNER”
Review of Leone di Sant'Anna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Leone di Sant'Anna
Ranked #56 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Lucca
Reviewed July 24, 2012

I had to clean the room before entering: inches of dust and dirt everywhere, expecially under the bed and behind the wardrobe. I had to pay 120 Euros just for one day.
Spoke to the owner on the phone (he was busy on the seaside (???) instead of properly running his place !!!). The answer given by the hotel-pro was the worst I've ever heard: "You speak silly ... you stupid tourist" (??????)

Francesco

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank francesco c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 115 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed there as we were passing through Tuscany. Our group of 4 was placed at the top (3rd floor). The rooms were cute but the 3rd floor is very low with the roof inclined to make walking a little difficult. The hotel staff was very friendly and the reception area is very charming. The spa is actually an above ground jacuzzi which was empty when we stayed there. The air conditioning which are room sized wall units was not nearly enough to cool our room and the other couple we were traveling with had to wake up early and go straight to the nearby laundromat due to an infestation of bed bugs. When we told the staff in the morning, they offered no compensation (not that we were looking for any). They did however give us a plastic trash bag to help us contain the infestation to our immediate articles of clothing. It seems that many people have had pleasant experiences here which is why we booked in the first place but if I had to stay here, I'd avoid the 3rd floor.

Room Tip: Stay off the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andrew g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Me and my girlfriend stayed there for two nights: we had made reservations for a room, but since the "hotel" was overbooked we were placed in a fold out couch in the basement of the building, with 4 other guests. It seems as though the receptionist lived in the basement as well, his room separated from the guests' only by a divider (the second night we were there he was shouting on the phone until 3 am). Apparently the guests are also supposed to share the TINY bathroom with him (which was never cleaned during our entire stay - very dirty floors and all sorts of products all over the place).

On their website they advertised as having a jacuzzi and free rental bikes, but when we asked the receptionist about he told us the jacuzzi was out of order and the bikes were all broken.

However, the location is pretty good, being only a 5 min. walk to the Lucca walls.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mr_NNN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

The B&B arranged a shuttle service from Pisa airport which was very good for us middle aged ladies. The room was spacious, spotlessly clean with a full size fridge and lovely bathroom with a heated towel rail. The shower unit was smaller than the UK standard but that is usual in Italy (don't drop the soap!) At reception (always manned) we were given recommendations for restaurants which were reasonably priced and good value. Nothing was too much trouble. We did not take up the offer of breakfast as there were plenty of small cafes nearby. Ideally located to explore Lucca or catch a bus from the bus station just inside the Sant'Anna gate.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skara82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Just 100 meteras from the walls. No free parking and wew took a pass on the expensive breakfast. We were there for the location and would return.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bruce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

We stayed here a week and never regretted choosing this B&B just outside the Lucca walls - 5 min walk to the walls.

Our room was huge with two large beds and a reasonable sized bathroom (with a miniscule shower), a small fridge and a small TV - no cupboard in the room, but there was a rack and hangers, which sufficed well enough. The linen and towels were spotless and the room was cleaned everyday.

The reception is not manned all day and you will have to call a number on the outdoor wall to get in touch with the reception staff. This was a bit disturbing at first - but after a few days we got used to it. The staff is very friendly and and speak english - some better than others though. Please note there is no cloak room where you can stove your luggage if arriving early before check-in time or leaving Lucca in the afternoon, well after having checked out.

The breakfast is not included in the price and rates at EUR 5 per person per day. The B&B asks you to order and pay for breakfast the evening before at the latest. We neglected this fact immensely and still got breakfast though. The breakfast is in italian standards above level. Surprisingly good coffee, a few slices of white bread, preserves of the unpretentious kind, yoghurt and croissants. The breakfast is served in the garden and each guest/party is served individually.

Important note! If you go to Lucca to ride your bike around the stunning landscape, this B&B will not allow you to keep your bike in the room. There is no locked storage room where you can keep it, and you'll then have to leave it in the garden (which is closed from the street by a large locked gate).

Room Tip: Ask for a room above ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sinkadusen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2010

We arrived having to look for the reception and the receptionist up and down stairs. We finally found a man who obviously worked there and who showed us to our "room" (We did not get the impression that he had our names or our booking anywhere, he just "placed us somewhere"). To have said it; it did not look like the hostel we found and booked on the internet.

There were two or three people staying there already, two in bunkbeds behind a curtain in the hallway and one or two in a doublebed in something which looked like a bedroom. I was placed on a bed in the kitchen! Just by the kitchentable.. One of my friends were sent to the bedroom-looking room, and my other friend was placed in another bunkbed near the other bunkbed behind a curtain outside the kitchen.. Really? Yes, really. It was all very weird, and we did not exactly know what to think.

By the way, the kitchen was not for use - just for looking at? I don't know.

The location was quiet good though, but the rest was not all that good. Poor service and really weird placing of beds (not at all what was described or pictured on the internet!)

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maggimaggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
2.3 mi away
No photo provided
L'Orto delle Palme
#134 of 176 in Lucca
7 reviews
19.8 mi away
Villa la Dogana
Villa la Dogana
#20 of 79 in Lucca
14 reviews
5.7 mi away
Villa Casanova Lucca
Villa Casanova Lucca
#1 of 1 in Balbano
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Affittacamere La Camelia
Affittacamere La Camelia
#59 of 176 in Lucca
56 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Da Carlos
Hotel Da Carlos
#1 of 1 in Santa Maria del Giudice
181 reviews
0.5 mi away
Relais Inn Lucca
Relais Inn Lucca
#22 of 176 in Lucca
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leone di Sant'Anna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leone di Sant'Anna

Address: Via Buonamici 221, 05510, Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Lucca
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Leone di Sant'Anna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing