We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as shown in photos...but Great Breakfast!”
Review of Al Tuscany B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Al Tuscany B&B
Ranked #46 of 177 Lucca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We were put in the upstairs room facing the rooftops. The room was a good size, but the bathroom was very cramped & toilet didn't flush well. TV didn't work at all. Breakfast was quite substantial & very delicious!

Room Tip: Ask to see the bathroom first - the downstairs rooms are better, I believe
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmariec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 232 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2012

We only stayed at this hotel for 1 night. The owner was friendly and showed us our room which was neat, clean and beautifully decorated. The quality of the breakfast was quite good as well. Will recommend this BB!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Plabusch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An EasyToBook.com traveler
1
Reviewed June 8, 2012

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank An EasyToBook.com traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

I needed to find a place to stay at short notice in Lucca and Claudio at Al Tuscany proved to the perfect place for me. This is a real home away from home experience, I stayed for seven nights - broken up into two with two nights in Venice in between - Claudio graciously stored my excess baggage for me whilst I was away. This was just one example of how Claudio went out of his way to help me.

Upon return I was soooo tired, he made me a sandwich meaning I didn't need to go out for dinner. This wasn't the first time he made me a sandwich, or coffee, etc, in the small kitchen which guests are welcome to use if you keep it tidy, etc.

My room was the small attic room up the little ladder-ish stairs. The room reminded me of being on a boat - with a low ceiling and a little hatch window in the ceiling. It wouldn't be to everyone's taste but for the price was one of the nicer rooms I stayed in in Italy and frankly I wasn't in the room much, the bathroom was lovely, and Claudio's hospitality more than made up for the lack of a wonderful view.

As I was also looking for a place for my parents to stay, Claudio also showed me a lovely room which is obviously his most upmarket room - it was lovely, spacious, with nice views, etc. So I would recommend this to people on a budget wanting a cheap place and also to those with a bit more money to spend wanting an authentic Italian experience vs a generic hotel.

Breakfast was included and was a good start to the day. Because there was a shared breakfast dining table this was a good opportunity to meet other travelers (I was travelling solo).

Al Tuscany is on the top level of a building in Via Cenami which is right smack bang in the middle of everything in Lucca, it is really an excellent location. I stayed in Lucca for two weeks and found the location be absolutely superb. Whilst its on the top floor, there is a modern lift to help with your luggage and Claudio hauled my bag up the additional stairs to my room for me.

One important note is that Claudio doesn't live on site, so you would pay to contact him before you arrive to ensure that he is there when you plan to check in. I did hear of a pair of travelers whilst I was there who were stuck out on the street because Claudio was not in when they arrived. There is no reception to wait in, so make sure Claudio knows that you are due to arrive.

So, in short, a great little find in Lucca.

Room Tip: If stairs are a problem for you, make sure that you are not in a room in the attic space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RowsyLizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

First of all I would like to thank Claudio, the owner, for his warm welcome. He was extremely accommodating. We woke up late, after the breakfast hour, but he still sat us down and prepared lovely fresh orange juice and home made cappuccino for us as well as a very nice breakfast.

The location of the B&B is perfect for a week-end break in the lovely city of Lucca. The room we had was quiet and nice, with a very good shower.

The B&B is clean, charming and lively. I strongly recommend it!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paparazzix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

is the perfect place to stay while exploring Lucca, and indeed, Pisa, and the Tuscan hills to the north. Al Tuscany is located in an historical building dating to the 1200's, but the accommodations are comfortable with ensuite bathrooms. Claudio, the owner, is there from morning to night, preparing breakfast (fresh-squeezed OJ, bruschetta, crostada, to name a few of the offerings) overseeing the cleaning and prepping of rooms, and greeting guests upon arrival. The suites are the largest rooms, and those of the mansarda offer a view of the famous Guinigi Tower. There is an elevator to get your bags up to the 3rd floor. Jerry, Claudio's old, but very welcoming black and white dog, will probably be the first to greet you when you alight from the acensore. Al Tuscany is a good place for couples or families as well as singles. Guests from all of Europe and the US stay at Al Tuscany over and over again.

Room Tip: Suites are bigger and located away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Best hotel experience in Italy.
Felt like home. Owner was very nice and helpfull. We would like to come back and highly recommend to others. This hotel was one of our warmest memories of Italy.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vitaliy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.2 mi away
Il Seminario Bed & Breakfast
0.9 mi away
Corte di Re Artu
Corte di Re Artu
#44 of 177 in Lucca
236 reviews
0.3 mi away
Relais Inn Lucca
Relais Inn Lucca
#19 of 177 in Lucca
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Camera con Vista B&B Lucca
Camera con Vista B&B Lucca
#104 of 177 in Lucca
54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Antica Residenza del Gallo
0.1 mi away
B&B L'Antica Bifore
B&B L'Antica Bifore
#5 of 177 in Lucca
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Tuscany B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Tuscany B&B

Address: Via Cenami 17, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Lucca
Price Range: $48 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This will be your residence in the heart of Lucca, jewel of Tuscany. The charm of the ancient town that relives a renewed splendour, united to the most modern comforts offers you a really relaxing stay. The rooms have private bathroom, TV, telephone line, mini-bar, individual electronic heating and electronic safe. It is possible to use the kitchen on demand. From the spacious suite you can enjoy the view of the San Martino Cathedral. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Al Tuscany B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing