We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great B and B close to the city wall” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lucca In Villa San Donato

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lucca In Villa San Donato
Ranked #74 of 166 Lucca B&B and Inns
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great B and B close to the city wall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed here for one night before moving to a vacation home outside the city. 

When arriving, we drove through some narrow streets to get to the hotel's parking lot. Good, free and secure parking is important in Italy, and this hotel does well on this criteria. 

There isn't really a reception, just a chair and a table under the stairs. We did get checked in without problems though. Our room, a double with extra bed, was spacious and nice. It seemed clean, and the high roof gave a real sense of living in a villa. There was no aircondition though, just a fan, which made it a bit hit at night.

Breakfast was included, and consisted of typical Italian breakfast ingredients. Nothing special, but good enough. However, the coffee came from a dispenser which seemed to break down constantly. And when it worked, it delivered poor coffee by Italian standards. 

The villa is nicely located for sightseeing in Lucca. You walk two minutes to get to one of the gate, and from there  distances are short to all attractions around the pretty small old town. 

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mariusmyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luccainvilla, Direttore at Lucca In Villa San Donato, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear MAriusmyk,
thank you for your great review, I will share with my staff and I would like to tell you that starting from the end of July we have new reception/hall with the cafeteria corner.WE will glad to have as our guest next time you will come to Lucca,
kind regards
Alessandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    94
    22
    8
    6
See reviews for
33
98
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
140 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay in Lucca - it's a beautiful town to explore and to walk around the walls surrounding the old town. The B & B is located just outside the gates of the walled town, and is about a 20 minute walk from the train station, so it is conveniently located. We had a nice large comfortable room at the front (although the lighting was poor). The hosts were very friendly and helpful with information. You do need to notify of your arrival time, however, or there may be nobody there. There is a continental breakfast buffet which you can have in the breakfast room, or on the small balcony area outside. Overall, we found it a pleasant place to stay. Be sure to check out the free opera singing every night in the church in town, even if you are not an opera fan (as we are not), as the atmosphere and soaring sound is amazing.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dandd35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luccainvilla, Direttore at Lucca In Villa San Donato, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear Dandd35,
thank you very much for your wonderfu review,We really be happy you enjoyed your stay and we hope to have as our guest in the future,
kind regards
Alessandra De Santis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Lucca In Villa in May 2012. It is a beautiful villa painted in pastel yellow with green shutters and is excellent value, located just a few minutes from the city walls, so easily walkable into the old town of Lucca. Breakfast was excellent: fresh pastries, good coffee, fruit, cereals and so on. The lady owner is very friendly and helpful and speaks a whole variety of languages which was very impressive. There is free parking in the back and free wifi. Lucca is a lovely town with well preserved battlements to walk along and some beautiful churches and other medieval buildings to see. It is also the birthplace of Puccini and there are nightly hour-long concerts given by professional singers in one of the churches of Puccini arias and pieces by other composers too. Well worth listening too. We would strongly recommend the Lucca In Villa as an excellent and friendly accommodation choice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LosIntrepidos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luccainvilla, Direttore at Lucca In Villa San Donato, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Dear Losintrepidos,
thank you for the great review and your recommendation, your experience here is important for future travellers,thank you for sharing with us.We are looking forward to welcome you next time you are in Lucca,
kind regards,
Alessandra De Santis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

Amazing service, GREAT rooms, sweet little place. very clean, convenient and close to the centre, i couldnt reccommend this place any more to anyone!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesBelgrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luccainvilla, Direttore generale at Lucca In Villa San Donato, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Dear JAmesbelgrave,
thank you very much for your review, and for the recommendation, we will glad to have as our guest in the future to make your stay as nice as now.
Kind regards
Alessandra De Santis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2011

This B&B was located about 400 hundred metres from the west gate of the walled city. We came by car and their carpark was secure. A little tricky to find but that is the norm in Italy we found. Our room downstairs at the front was very comfortable with a good bathroom. The breakfast was busy and good and gave us a chance to meet other travellers. Staff were only to happy to assist and displayed a friendly disposition. They also helped us print out Uffizi tickets. Very good value for what we spent.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sueanddean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luccainvilla, Proprietario at Lucca In Villa San Donato, responded to this review, November 25, 2011
Dear Sueanddean,
thank you very much for your nice review, we are glad that you find the b&b a good value, we await to welcome you soon again,
kind regards
Alessandra De Santis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

We had a couple of nights here. We had a lovely spacious room at the back of the b and b with our own balcony. It was onloy a 5 min walk to the walled part of the town. The staff were very friendly and helpful with advice. There was a problem the next morning with water to our room which was dealt with immediately and was rectified by the time we were back at the end of the day. Free parking was a bonus. We were able to sit outside on the balcony for breakfast both mornings. Perfect location for exploring Lucca. We got 2 excellent recommendations for places to eat.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the balcony....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Naples64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luccainvilla, Direttore at Lucca In Villa San Donato, responded to this review, October 22, 2011
Dear Naples64,
thank you for your opinion, we are happy to know you had very good stay with us, you liked the staff,our advices, free parking and our location.We hope to have with us again and to enjoy our breakfast in the garden too,
kind regards
Alessandra De Santis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
139 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

Lucca in Villa is a traditional two-story house with shutters and high ceilings. We had a spacious room on the ground floor. There is good WiFi and an excellent buffet breakfast which is served in the garden if the weather is fine. We even had tea and coffee making facilities in the room, a first for us in Italy. Staff are friendly and efficient.

Although it is outside the city walls, it is a short walk to one of the main gates and especially convenient to the bus station. I believe the train station is about twenty minutes walk.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rayyoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luccainvilla, Responsabile reception at Lucca In Villa San Donato, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Dear Rayyoong,
thank you very much for your review and your excellent description,we are hoping to have as our guest in the future,
kind regards
Alessandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
4.7 mi away
Hotel Da Carlos
Hotel Da Carlos
#1 of 1 in Santa Maria del Giudice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
1.4 mi away
Corte di Re Artu
Corte di Re Artu
#45 of 166 in Lucca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Terrazze
Le Terrazze
#29 of 166 in Lucca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Antica Corte
Antica Corte
#147 of 166 in Lucca
3.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lucca B&B La Colonna
Lucca B&B La Colonna
#68 of 166 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Mimosa
La Mimosa
#24 of 166 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lucca In Villa San Donato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucca In Villa San Donato

Property: Lucca In Villa San Donato
Address: Via delle Tagliate 49 | San Donato, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 166 B&Bs / Inns in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lucca in Villa San Donato is a splendid Liberty-style villa a few steps from the historic walls of Lucca, where the composer Giacomo Puccini was born. The villa has been carefully restored, but taking care of preserving its original features: the grit floors, the capitals of the antique windows in traditional Tuscan style, without forgetting the modern amenities: free wifi, LCD TV and independent heating.The rooms, all equipped with private bathroom and carved in their original size are furnished in a simple and functional way and will make you feel the historical atmosphere of the city. The bed and breakfast is decorated with a beautiful and well-kept garden, where in summer you can enjoy yor outdoor breakfast which can also be requested gluten-free or sugar-free, or simply sip a good wine produced in the hills of Lucca. The private parking and proximity to the city center, reachable on foot in five minutes, will give you the chance to finally forget the stress of traffic and just experience the city as the ''real'' Lucca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotel.de, Hotels.com and Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your Lucca In Villa San Donato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucca In Villa San Donato Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing