We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for a wet day in Lucca” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Museo Nazionale di Palazzo Mansi

Museo Nazionale di Palazzo Mansi
Ranked #17 of 111 things to do in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London
Level Contributor
254 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Perfect for a wet day in Lucca”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Perfect intrroduction to a city palace of the 16th/17th centuries. Elegant rooms , a somewhat overwhelming collection of art but some really 'ooh/aah' sights.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wabamik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    62
    18
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundas, Ontario
Level Contributor
165 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“Lovely Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Visiting mansions of the wealthy in Tuscany might require travel into the countryside to their villas, but right inside Lucca resides the Palazzo Mansi, filled with beautiful paintings, furniture, tapestries and decorations. A short walk from the busy streets and shops, you will find this historic site that helps place Lucca and it's wealthy citizens in a historic context. The cost is only 4 euro, the same as a trip to the top of Torre Guigini and worth it. There is also a display of some looms used in making fabric that made Lucca famous.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank phototripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Well hidden gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

We happened upon this on a fee entry day. Weren't even sure what we were looking at till we got inside. Beautiful mansion. Took lots of pictures so we could look up history later. Wish we had more time for the tour! Paintings inside could take a day to look at.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank JPete273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking Surrey UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful Musuem - definitely visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We decided to visit Museo Nazional de Palazzo Mansi as the weather was wet and we were so glad that we did. This is the most delightful mansion turned museum. The architecture is beautiful and a wonderful setting for some magnificent art. Some of the rooms are simply breathtaking and we were lucky enough to see some of the craftsmen restoring a room. I would definitely recommend visiting this museum.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank gibson1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill, South Carolina
Level Contributor
128 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Mansi is my favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

This is the most delightful mansion turned museum. The art is lovely, the architecture is wonderful, and the price is free if you are a senior. It was never crowded and we had all the time we needed to absorb it. We take friends every time someone visits who has not seen it. It is an easy walk from any place in Lucca, IT.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dropback10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo Nazionale di Palazzo Mansi also viewed

Lucca, Province of Lucca
Lucca, Province of Lucca
 
Lucca, Province of Lucca
 

Been to Museo Nazionale di Palazzo Mansi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing