We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“See Ilaria” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lucca's Duomo (Cattedrale di San Martino)

Lucca's Duomo (Cattedrale di San Martino)
Book In Advance
More Info
$130.56*
and up
Pisa and Lucca Wine Tour from Florence
Ranked #5 of 111 things to do in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“See Ilaria”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

It's worth paying in to visit the Tomb of Ilaria del Carretto which is a masterpiece of sculpture right down to the dog at the woman's feet. You'd swear both were alive.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank UncleQuentin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    751
    524
    117
    17
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pretty Lame”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

This duomo doesn't compare in scale, colour, beauty or grandeur to other duomos I have seen over the past few days (Siena and Pisa). In fact Lucca as a whole did nothing for me and I am quite annoyed at Lonely Planet for putting in Italy's top 10 destinations.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Suzbuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Panoramic Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Superb views of Lucca and surrounding areas. Visit during the week when there are fewer people climbing up the tower. It can become quite congested. Inexpensive, no negatives

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is a must on your visit or tour through Italy. It is a beautiful walk through the old part of town to get to it. But there is much to admire along the way.
If you drive from outside the city- DO be careful to NOT drive into the residence sections. There are many one way narrow roads and it is very easy to get turned around. We ended up in one of the residence only area completely by mistake. There were some very nice young men who gave us directions on how to get out, as it was a maze.
To add insult to our experience- I recieved a fine charged to my credit card 2 months after my visit - for this error- 45 Euro!!
We had a Garmin but it did not help with this. So do watch the road signs in the walled city. Better yet park outside of the walled area and walk.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank PortlandBebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
126 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Beautiful walled city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Lucca is a beautiful walled city. It can be very hot in the summer. Just a beautiful city to walk in.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank RadioCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucca's Duomo (Cattedrale di San Martino) also viewed

Lucca, Province of Lucca
Lucca, Province of Lucca
 
Lucca, Province of Lucca
Lucca, Province of Lucca
 

Been to Lucca's Duomo (Cattedrale di San Martino)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing