We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Fabntastic Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Albergo Villa Marta
Ranked #6 of 53 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
St Agnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Fabntastic Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is the most delightful hotel we have ever visited. It is quiet and friendly and perfect for a peaceful getaway. Tucked away in the countryside just outside Lucca it is convenient for sightseeing in Lucca, Pisa and Florence with Sienna within striking distance. The Hotel delights in providing quite excellent service. The rooms are wonderfully rustic but smart and comfortable (after all it began life as a hunting lodge). The restaurant offers the best of Tuscan cuisine (we initially felt that the menu was a little restrictive but the appearance of 'specials' resolved this). Our overriding memories are of the delights of the swimming pool with poolside service and quite exceptionally friendly, helpful and efficient service across the board. A real Tuscan jewel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hu L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albergovillamarta, Proprietario at Albergo Villa Marta, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Mr Hu L,
we are very glad you appreciated the peaceful atmosphere at our Villa and it's garden as well as the "authenticity" of our rooms.
Come again to visit us!
Regards,

Andrea Martinelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    453
    132
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
55
430
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Have just returned from 3 nights here and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Selected in part due to proximity to Pisa airport for homeward flight we were not disappointed with our choice. The friendly and personal welcome on arrival was maintained throughout by all staff who were always willing to offer advice and suggestions, be it on food, sightseeing or travel directions. The restaurant was excellent so we were quite content to wine and dine here each evening rather than drive to Lucca even if only 10 minutes or so away. Poolside area perfect for relaxation. Our bedroom which overlooked the garden and hills to the rear was spacious and comfortable. Altogether a very tranquil place close to Lucca and the major road network and one to which we would readily return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albergovillamarta, Proprietario at Albergo Villa Marta, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind and nice review Mr Allan!
We are very glad you liked your room with the beautiful view as well as our restaurant.

Regards,

Andrea MArtinelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed here late August/early September 2013. It is a lovely place to stay; the staff and family were so helpful. Grazie Alessia per la vostra perseveranza e parlare con me in italiano. The grounds, pool and food were all lovely. We did not hire a car this time and the only drawback was the walk to bus stop along a busy road without a pavement - still it made an interesting walk! We would not hesitate to return. Thank you for making our holiday a relaxing and enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: Our room was just off the reception (on the 1st floor), to the rear overlooking the gardens - excell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryce305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albergovillamarta, Proprietario at Albergo Villa Marta, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Maryce305,

thank you for your review. We wait for you for you next visit!

Regards,

Andrea Martinelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford Surrey
Level Contributor
129 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We chose this hotel for the last two days of our holiday solely on the basis of its location to Pisa airport.

There was only one room left, the smallest and cheapest one, but it was a very nice room with views over the front of the hotel and the swimming pool. I was concerned that it would be noisy as it was next to reception but noise was not a problem. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom had a very generously proportioned shower. We had to pay for wifi which I do object to, but at least here you can pay a 10 euro flat fee for the whole of your stay.

Everyone is very friendly and helpful. The staff were available to make recommendations of things to do and places to see. We did not eat at the hotel in the evening preferring to go to Lucca, but we did have breakfast which is served on the terrace at the rear of the hotel and is ok but not outstanding. The swimming pool and grounds are very nice.

Check out is 10am which is a little on the early side, but when I asked for a later check out they instantly said we could stay until 11am.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank four-boo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albergovillamarta, Proprietario at Albergo Villa Marta, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Four-boo,

thank you very much for your review! Come back to visit us!

Regards,

Andrea Martinelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Riols, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We have travelled extensively all round the world and stayed in many hotels, 3, 4 and 5 star, and there is nowhere we enjoy visiting more. After our Fourth stay at the Villa Marta and another one booked for next year, we always receive a wonderful welcome. The rooms have always been delighful - spacious, comfortable and well-furnished. Every member of staff, including the manager Andrea and his wife Alessia, demonstrate what quality hospitality should be in their friendliness, competence and helpfulness. The meals we had at the Villa Marta are always top quality, very enjoyable and we dine there every evening. The location is perfect - so close to Lucca, the autoroute and yet the environment is so tranquil.

Room Tip: All the rooms are delighful, comfortable and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albergovillamarta, Proprietario at Albergo Villa Marta, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Louise,
thank you very much for coming once again to visit us! When our guests come back to our Villa this is the most satisfying thing we can aspire to!
It would be a pleasure to welcome you again next year.

Regards,

Andrea Martinelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Spent 5 nights at Albergo Villa Marta and enjoyed our stay there very much. It was a little difficult for us to find at first but once we picked up one of their maps at the hotel, we saw how easy it actually was. We stayed in a superior room which had a kingsized bed and which was on the second floor of the annex overlooking the pool and front grounds. The air conditioning was efficient and quiet, the toiletries were generous, the bed was very comfortable and the washroom was big. Everything was clean and well cared for. There was a mini fridge with a few drink options but it had plenty of empty space to chill your own water bottles, there was a hair dryer in the washroom and a safe in the closet. The staff were very friendly and the owner, Andrea, and his wife, Alicia, particularly so. We ate four of our five dinners at their on site restaurant, Botton d'Oro and the food was very good. Wine was very reasonably priced as well. The breakfast buffet was plentiful and there was a nice selection of options.

From there we had easy access to Pisa (definitely worth a visit ), Lucca, Florence and the Cinque Terre. Siena isn't far away but we didn't visit it this trip.

We spent a little time each day by the outdoor pool where there was bar service. We did not visit their in house bar which also served light meals.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking to vacation in the northern part of Tuscany.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are the ones with views, the ones at the back of the property have the better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DesignatedPlanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albergovillamarta, Proprietario at Albergo Villa Marta, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review!
We are happy you enjoyed your rooms with the beautiful view as well as the restaurant.

Come again to visit us!

Regards,

Andrea Martinelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our two nights in Villa Marta. Andrea and Daniela are the perfect hosts, helpful, knowledgable and charming. The rooms were pretty and comfortable and the location is beautiful, and perfect for touring Lucca and Pisa. Dinner outside was so good that we ended eating at Villa Marta both nights of our stay, and the chef was very accommodating to our vegetarian needs.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerFr0mPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albergovillamarta, Proprietario at Albergo Villa Marta, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
We are so happy you really enjoyed our rooms and the restaurnat. We do our best to satisfy all guest's requests as in your case vegetarian menu.

We hope to see you again!

Best regards,

Andrea Martinelli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
3.0 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
3.1 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#3 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa La Principessa
Villa La Principessa
#16 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Cheli
Hotel Villa Cheli
#13 of 53 in Lucca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
3.0 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#11 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Villa Marta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Villa Marta

Property: Albergo Villa Marta
Address: Via del ponte Guasperini 873 | San Lorenzo a Vaccoli, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
#6 Business Hotel in Lucca
#7 Family Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergo Villa Marta 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former hunting lodge, transformed into a fine and elegant 4-star country resort, deep in the Luccan countryside in the heart of Tuscany but located only 5 kms from the historical centre and only 20kms from PISA AIRPORT. All the rooms (15 in total)are provided by FREE WIFI access and a/c control, tv, telephone and frigobar. Albergo Villa Marta is also provided by a pool with terrace and a small gazebo, free parking area, a bar, a 24/24h multi-lingual reception and a Restaurant opened from May to October monday to saturday form 19 to 21.30 Pm. Reservations are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albergo Villa Marta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Villa Marta Hotel Lucca
Albergo Hotel Marta
Albergo Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing