We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Loved this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Villa Marta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Albergo Villa Marta
Ranked #8 of 55 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Loved this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Really nice hotel, fantastic rooms, delicious food we ate dinner one night - it was amazing. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. The only downside - a litte remote. Lovely restaurant down the road other than that nothing else in the area. That said I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BRIGID056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albergovillamarta, Direttore at Albergo Villa Marta, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
We're really pleased that you liked your short stay.
See you soon for a longer one.

Kind regards,
Andrea & Alessia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    129
    16
    6
    2
See reviews for
52
410
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mobile, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We were happy with our selection of Lucca as a base for day trips around Tuscany and up to Cinque Terre. The owner/manager and staff at the Albergo Villa Marta were helpful and friendly. The rooms were nice, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was perfect. The restaurant and bar were convenient. The grounds and scenery were beautiful. The price was great.

A few other notes on our stay:

- You will need a car. The hotel is a little outside of Lucca. No need to worry. Driving is fairly easy in Tuscany if you have a good GPS and you can manage to be an "offensive" driver. No need to be meek in Italy.
- We were there for about a week beginning in the middle of October. The weather and countryside was very similar to Northern California. Not too cold, Not too hot.
- Plan your day trips in advance. Many places have restricted hours on Sundays and Mondays.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gdhorytwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albergovillamarta, Direttore at Albergo Villa Marta, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Great photos of the double Deluxe room 104 and the hotel gdhorytwo, thank you!
We hope to welcome you again next time that you'll visit Tuscany!

Kind regards,
Andrea&Alessia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrigal, Australia
Level Contributor
455 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

We (4 of us) stayed two nights at the Albergo Villa Marta. Both rooms were well-appointed, neat, beautifully furnished and reasonably spacious.
All staff were friendly and helpful. Some of the nicest and most receptive people we met in Europe worked here.
The hotel is surrounded by lawn and garden areas. There are outdoor areas where you can enjoy a drink and the swimming pool is inviting, depending upon the weather.
The breakfasts were superb and the dinners were equally varied and satisfying. The staff during breakfast and dinner were attentive and patient with us non- speaking Italian guests.
The road into the hotel is narrow from the main road, but the locals are obviously well-prepared for foreign guests and their lack of experience of driving narrow country roads.
In the three months that we travelled Europe, this place was, without doubt, one of the best we had stayed in.
The fact that it is located only 10 minutes drive outside the beautiful and enchanting Lucca is a great advantage. The fact that we had a car was also a positive for staying at Albergo Villa Marta.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Phillip8789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Just 10 min from Lucca, situated in a peaceful wonderful garden with a swimming pool. Elegant, sophisticated room with a big bath room. Luxurious atmosphere. Great food! Genuine italian style with finesse.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NenneMor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albergovillamarta, Direttore at Albergo Villa Marta, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you NenneMor. We hope to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Andrea& Alessia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed at this albergo prior to my departure from Italy. Located just outside of the historic area of Lucca, it was a bit difficult to find. The facility is need of updating and it's layout is funky in that uniquely Italian sense. But it's clean, the staff is helpful and engaging and the price is right.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NCItaliaphiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albergovillamarta, Direttore at Albergo Villa Marta, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thank you for your comment NCItaliaphiles.
I'm sorry but I cannot understand why you bring into question our 4 stars and you wrote that the facility needs an updating but I hope to meet you again to speak about it.
Even if you didn't understand the mood of the hotel, you had a good stay and you liked my unique staff. That's really important to me.

Until next time.
Kind regards,
Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The Hotel Albergo Villa Marta was a great place to stay. Located between Lucca and Pisa, it's a good base for touring both towns and nearby areas. It's also a great place to spend time relaxing at a self-contained resort. There's a very good restaurant and bar, pleasant sitting areas, and large swimming pool on site. They even had a happy hour at the bar. Our rooms were large with excellent bathrooms and beautiful views. We met several interesting people during our 3-day stay.

Staff members were very pleasant and helpful. They made us feel comfortable and at home. Before we arrived, they sent us information about side trips we could take from the Villa. They also provided us with information re: parking and driving in Lucca and Pisa.

We did have trouble finding the Villa when we first arrived. We came in on the A11 autostrada from the west, and had trouble getting from there to the SS12, which goes toward the Villa. We wound up going south on the A11 to Pisa and working our way back north. Be sure to look for signs leading to "San Giuliano Terme" on your way in.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albergovillamarta, Direttore at Albergo Villa Marta, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear PennyRick,
I'm sorry about the trouble that you had to find the villa and I'd like to take the advantage of this opportunity to remember that the right exit of the motorway is LUCCA EST and not Lucca West.
Anyway I'm really pleased that you had a really great stay with us and my staff members made you feel comfortable and at home: that's our goal.

We hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind regards,
Andrea&Alessia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The property was very charming, surrounded by lemon trees and a lovely garden. The staff were wonderful, helpful, very friendly and the rooms clean and romantic. What really pushed this hotel up a big notch is the excellent food and service at the restaurant. We recommend the Florentine steak as well as some of the salads (olive oil!). A similar meal might have cost twice as much in central Florence and not tasted half as good! This is an excellent hotel and we will be back. Even if we cannot get a room, we will be back for the restaurant!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcc-cb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albergovillamarta, Direttore at Albergo Villa Marta, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thank you very much mcc-cb!
So we await you soon for a new stay!

Kind regards,
Andrea&Alessia&the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.7 mi away
Villa La Principessa
Villa La Principessa
#15 of 55 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 329 reviews
3.1 mi away
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
3.0 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#4 of 55 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 934 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Cheli
Hotel Villa Cheli
#16 of 55 in Lucca
4.0 of 5 stars 266 reviews
3.0 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#9 of 55 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Villa Marta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Villa Marta

Property: Albergo Villa Marta
Address: Via del ponte Guasperini 873 | San Lorenzo a Vaccoli, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
#7 Business Hotel in Lucca
#7 Family Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergo Villa Marta 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former hunting lodge, transformed into a fine and elegant 4-star country resort, deep in the Luccan countryside in the heart of Tuscany but located only 5 kms from the historical centre and only 20kms from PISA AIRPORT. All the rooms (15 in total)are provided by FREE WIFI access and a/c control, tv, telephone and frigobar. Albergo Villa Marta is also provided by a pool with terrace and a small gazebo, free parking area, a bar, a 24/24h multi-lingual reception and a Restaurant opened from May to October monday to saturday form 19 to 21.30 Pm. Reservations are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Albergo Villa Marta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Villa Marta Hotel Lucca
Albergo Hotel Marta
Albergo Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing