We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 13, 2013

What a find this beautiful little hotel was. It is one floor of an old palazzo and has just 7 rooms but everything is beautifully decorated and styled. We even had a jacuzzi in our room which was bliss after the flight and travel. The hosts were so friendly. They arranged a taxi for us from the airport to the hotel. They advised us where to go for a quick bite on our first evening and what specialities we could ask for.
The breakfast was the best of our whole trip - and we stayed at 4 other hotels! It was beautifully fresh with two little extras every morning - caprese (mozzarella cheese and a slice of tomato), yoghurt with fresh strawberries mixed in, or homemade fresh chocolate crepes! They also offered eggs and coffee to order. We would certainly return to this hotel if visiting Lucca again. Well done for making everything so special.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 958GMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 242 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2013

My wife and I were there on our honeymoon. It was not too difficult to find the hotel if you have the GPS. The hotel keeps a low profile in the Main Street and the service is very great. The staffs are helpful. They gave us a lot of suggestions for traveling little towns near Lucca. Breakfast is excellent, especially the homemade pancake and the coffee. If you visited Lucca, this hotel is strongly recommended. maybe it will be a little bit noisy in the evening if there was a party in the bar near the hotel, but anyway, it did not bother us when we stayed there since we got the earplug :p

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 叶随风飘
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apalazzobusdraghi, Responsabile reception at A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your brilliant review from your recent stay with us. We truly appreciate that you chose our Residence for your honey moon and we met your expectations. Our team is very pleased to read your comments and we hope you will give us another opportunity to accommodate you for one of your anniversaries.


TO THE TRIPADVISOR MEMBERS WHO ARE READING THIS, we would not recommend to use a GPS systems once you are inside the wall as most of them go haywire and could bring to the wrong address. If you are traveling by car we would advise you to print directions from our website or email us at info@apalazzobusdraghi.com in order to receive detailed directions or any other information you may need.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We were so lucky to find ourselves at Palazzo Busdraghi on our recent trip to Italy. Andrea and Marta were such gracious hosts, full of warmth and great advice. They helped us find some excellent restaurant options - our best food in Italy over the 2 week time we were there - and offered great insight into Lucca and surrounds to make our visit more meaningful. Our room was amazing, very clean, well-appointed and quiet. Breakfast was always a treat, with some special offerings, in addition to standard fare like pastries and fruit, including crepes, and we were always offered eggs and coffee done any way we liked. A 15 minute walk from the train station, we'd highly recommend this boutique hotel as a hub for your next visit to Tuscany.

Room Tip: Our room faced the street; there was a little noise, but it quieted down after midnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelODB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The only thing better than our accommodations here were Andrea and Marta - so helpful and pleasant with any requests! They are wonderful,caring, and attentive hosts. Even received a nice anniversary card, flowers, and gluten free bon bons for my celiac wife in our room upon arrival. Breakfast even included eggs in addition to meats, cheeses, fruits, cereals, etc. Marta even provided a tray of gluten free options for my wife. Location was very good but I advise taking a taxi (10-15 Euro depending on # of bags). You could walk it but street pavement would make it tougher to roll luggage. 24 hour/day staff on duty here! Stocked mini frig in room - not free but at reasonable costs. Room was beautiful but only had a tub that had a handheld shower sprayer with no shower curtain/door. Other rooms did have a normal enclosed shower so ask if this is important to you.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yoido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We had two couples in our party in Luca, Italy and stayed at hotel Palazzo Busdraghi. The Hotel is very conveniently located near Piazza Anfiteatro and shops. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They have parking available near by that is for the guests. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We only stayed here for one night before flying back to UK. The rooms are clean and our room had a jacuzzi bath, others have showers. Beds are comfortable. Breakfast was continental, there was plenty of it and the coffee was good. We went from Lucca to Pisa for the afternoon by train. Very easy journey to see the Tower. The hotel was a bit of a challenge to find, especially as we went in by car. Parking was a couple of streets away. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HuizeCathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for only one night in this B&B. I have to say we were a little disappointed. It was the most expensive place we stayed in on our little tour of France & Italy and didn't really live up to expectation.

The place was pretty hard to find & quite a walk from the train station. We also did not realise the entrance was up very steep steps- not easy with heavy backpacks! The young lady at reception was not overly welcoming.

The room was luxuriously decorated but actually some pieces did appear to be below par- the mirror in the room was so scuffed it was difficult to see in it! As for the beautiful view... We could only see a side street from our window-quite pleasant but nothing to note. To be honest my husband & I were disappointed with the bath/shower- not into baths, especially not on hols so I would definitely have appreciated a proper shower & to be honest expected it!

Breakfast was basic but met requirements.
Overall the place was ok but not good value & would not recommend. I think the price does not reflect the standard.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fosmassey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apalazzobusdraghi, Manager at A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

We were very surprised and disappointed to read your review, especially since no complaints were expressed to us during your stay. We are really sorry that your experience was not up to your expectations, but maybe the reason is that you were expecting to stay in a B&B, and we are not: Palazzo Busdraghi is a Residenza d’Epoca which means a Period Residence, located in a building of particular historic-architectural value, equipped with antique furniture. The pieces, mentioned by you as scuffed, are pieces of a great value that we are proud of. The mirror in your room was part of a vintage décor, while a regular one you could find inside the wardrobe
The difficulties in finding us, you could easily avoid just taking a few minutes to visit our website. A very detailed description of our location including a map can be found there as well as descriptions of the bathrooms, equipped with a Hydro-massage and Sauna shower OR with a Jacuzzi bath tub. If you had only expressed you preferences for a shower cabin while booking, or even upon arrival, we would have changed your room with pleasure! Keeping silence you did not give us any chance to help you.
Regarding the breakfast, we do understand that different travellers have different tastes but we believe that we have a great variety of different products (both sweet and savoury, including homemade cakes and creps) to satisfy the most demanding taste and with so many compliments from our past reviewers, we believe that we are heading in the right direction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#4 of 47 in Lucca
1,132 reviews
0.5 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#8 of 47 in Lucca
960 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
2.8 mi away
Villa La Principessa
Villa La Principessa
#13 of 47 in Lucca
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca

Address: Via Fillungo 170 | Centro Storico, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 47 Hotels in Lucca
Price Range: $110 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marta, and all the staff of Palazzo Busdraghi, with the new owner, will welcome their guests in a charming, silent and pleasant atmosphere, attending the guests stay, giving good advices and suggestions of visit, organizing tours to the nearby most interesting sites. June 2012..: Our Residenza is getting renewed! New owner, new management, accessories, perfumes and atmosphere, tasty breakfast! AIC certification for gluten free breakfast, and vegan breakfast on demand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing