We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous find in beautiful Lucca”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca
Ranked #15 of 49 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
“Fabulous find in beautiful Lucca”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We were so lucky to find ourselves at Palazzo Busdraghi on our recent trip to Italy. Andrea and Marta were such gracious hosts, full of warmth and great advice. They helped us find some excellent restaurant options - our best food in Italy over the 2 week time we were there - and offered great insight into Lucca and surrounds to make our visit more meaningful. Our room was amazing, very clean, well-appointed and quiet. Breakfast was always a treat, with some special offerings, in addition to standard fare like pastries and fruit, including crepes, and we were always offered eggs and coffee done any way we liked. A 15 minute walk from the train station, we'd highly recommend this boutique hotel as a hub for your next visit to Tuscany.

Room Tip: Our room faced the street; there was a little noise, but it quieted down after midnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelODB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    45
    9
    3
    2
See reviews for
41
132
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The only thing better than our accommodations here were Andrea and Marta - so helpful and pleasant with any requests! They are wonderful,caring, and attentive hosts. Even received a nice anniversary card, flowers, and gluten free bon bons for my celiac wife in our room upon arrival. Breakfast even included eggs in addition to meats, cheeses, fruits, cereals, etc. Marta even provided a tray of gluten free options for my wife. Location was very good but I advise taking a taxi (10-15 Euro depending on # of bags). You could walk it but street pavement would make it tougher to roll luggage. 24 hour/day staff on duty here! Stocked mini frig in room - not free but at reasonable costs. Room was beautiful but only had a tub that had a handheld shower sprayer with no shower curtain/door. Other rooms did have a normal enclosed shower so ask if this is important to you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yoido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilsonville, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We had two couples in our party in Luca, Italy and stayed at hotel Palazzo Busdraghi. The Hotel is very conveniently located near Piazza Anfiteatro and shops. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They have parking available near by that is for the guests. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We only stayed here for one night before flying back to UK. The rooms are clean and our room had a jacuzzi bath, others have showers. Beds are comfortable. Breakfast was continental, there was plenty of it and the coffee was good. We went from Lucca to Pisa for the afternoon by train. Very easy journey to see the Tower. The hotel was a bit of a challenge to find, especially as we went in by car. Parking was a couple of streets away. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HuizeCathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for only one night in this B&B. I have to say we were a little disappointed. It was the most expensive place we stayed in on our little tour of France & Italy and didn't really live up to expectation.

The place was pretty hard to find & quite a walk from the train station. We also did not realise the entrance was up very steep steps- not easy with heavy backpacks! The young lady at reception was not overly welcoming.

The room was luxuriously decorated but actually some pieces did appear to be below par- the mirror in the room was so scuffed it was difficult to see in it! As for the beautiful view... We could only see a side street from our window-quite pleasant but nothing to note. To be honest my husband & I were disappointed with the bath/shower- not into baths, especially not on hols so I would definitely have appreciated a proper shower & to be honest expected it!

Breakfast was basic but met requirements.
Overall the place was ok but not good value & would not recommend. I think the price does not reflect the standard.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fosmassey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apalazzobusdraghi, Manager at A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
We were very surprised and disappointed to read your review, especially since no complaints were expressed to us during your stay. We are really sorry that your experience was not up to your expectations, but maybe the reason is that you were expecting to stay in a B&B, and we are not: Palazzo Busdraghi is a Residenza d’Epoca which means a Period Residence, located in a building of particular historic-architectural value, equipped with antique furniture. The pieces, mentioned by you as scuffed, are pieces of a great value that we are proud of. The mirror in your room was part of a vintage décor, while a regular one you could find inside the wardrobe
The difficulties in finding us, you could easily avoid just taking a few minutes to visit our website. A very detailed description of our location including a map can be found there as well as descriptions of the bathrooms, equipped with a Hydro-massage and Sauna shower OR with a Jacuzzi bath tub. If you had only expressed you preferences for a shower cabin while booking, or even upon arrival, we would have changed your room with pleasure! Keeping silence you did not give us any chance to help you.
Regarding the breakfast, we do understand that different travellers have different tastes but we believe that we have a great variety of different products (both sweet and savoury, including homemade cakes and creps) to satisfy the most demanding taste and with so many compliments from our past reviewers, we believe that we are heading in the right direction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

A 3-start hotel in the bustling center of the walled city of Lucca. A bit noisy, but that is what you would expect at this location. It is right in the middle of everythng. Very good continental breakfast. Nice rooms and if hotel staff can make a good hotel great, then such is the case as they were incredibly friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D0wnhillSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights at this charming hotel. The location is perfect, the service excellent, and the breakfast among the best we have come across in similar hotels (the proper coffee was a highlight). The room was clean, the beds comfortable, and the bathroom (with 'jacuzzi' bath - other rooms have showers) modern. Do not expect a 5 star metropolitan hotel with bars and public areas - this is a lovely period residence, but with all modern conveniences. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmam34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#4 of 49 in Lucca
1,070 reviews
0.5 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
0.2 mi away
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#10 of 49 in Lucca
899 reviews
2.8 mi away
Villa La Principessa
Villa La Principessa
#13 of 49 in Lucca
366 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca

Property: A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca
Address: Via Fillungo 170 | Centro Storico, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 49 Hotels in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marta, and all the staff of Palazzo Busdraghi, with the new owner, will welcome their guests in a charming, silent and pleasant atmosphere, attending the guests stay, giving good advices and suggestions of visit, organizing tours to the nearby most interesting sites. June 2012..: Our Residenza is getting renewed! New owner, new management, accessories, perfumes and atmosphere, tasty breakfast! AIC certification for gluten free breakfast, and vegan breakfast on demand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HostelWorld so you can book your A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing