We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slap bang in the middle of Lucca.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca
Ranked #13 of 56 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Slap bang in the middle of Lucca.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We only stayed here for one night before flying back to UK. The rooms are clean and our room had a jacuzzi bath, others have showers. Beds are comfortable. Breakfast was continental, there was plenty of it and the coffee was good. We went from Lucca to Pisa for the afternoon by train. Very easy journey to see the Tower. The hotel was a bit of a challenge to find, especially as we went in by car. Parking was a couple of streets away. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HuizeCathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    35
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
36
105
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for only one night in this B&B. I have to say we were a little disappointed. It was the most expensive place we stayed in on our little tour of France & Italy and didn't really live up to expectation.

The place was pretty hard to find & quite a walk from the train station. We also did not realise the entrance was up very steep steps- not easy with heavy backpacks! The young lady at reception was not overly welcoming.

The room was luxuriously decorated but actually some pieces did appear to be below par- the mirror in the room was so scuffed it was difficult to see in it! As for the beautiful view... We could only see a side street from our window-quite pleasant but nothing to note. To be honest my husband & I were disappointed with the bath/shower- not into baths, especially not on hols so I would definitely have appreciated a proper shower & to be honest expected it!

Breakfast was basic but met requirements.
Overall the place was ok but not good value & would not recommend. I think the price does not reflect the standard.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fosmassey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apalazzobusdraghi, Manager at A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
We were very surprised and disappointed to read your review, especially since no complaints were expressed to us during your stay. We are really sorry that your experience was not up to your expectations, but maybe the reason is that you were expecting to stay in a B&B, and we are not: Palazzo Busdraghi is a Residenza d’Epoca which means a Period Residence, located in a building of particular historic-architectural value, equipped with antique furniture. The pieces, mentioned by you as scuffed, are pieces of a great value that we are proud of. The mirror in your room was part of a vintage décor, while a regular one you could find inside the wardrobe
The difficulties in finding us, you could easily avoid just taking a few minutes to visit our website. A very detailed description of our location including a map can be found there as well as descriptions of the bathrooms, equipped with a Hydro-massage and Sauna shower OR with a Jacuzzi bath tub. If you had only expressed you preferences for a shower cabin while booking, or even upon arrival, we would have changed your room with pleasure! Keeping silence you did not give us any chance to help you.
Regarding the breakfast, we do understand that different travellers have different tastes but we believe that we have a great variety of different products (both sweet and savoury, including homemade cakes and creps) to satisfy the most demanding taste and with so many compliments from our past reviewers, we believe that we are heading in the right direction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

A 3-start hotel in the bustling center of the walled city of Lucca. A bit noisy, but that is what you would expect at this location. It is right in the middle of everythng. Very good continental breakfast. Nice rooms and if hotel staff can make a good hotel great, then such is the case as they were incredibly friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D0wnhillSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights at this charming hotel. The location is perfect, the service excellent, and the breakfast among the best we have come across in similar hotels (the proper coffee was a highlight). The room was clean, the beds comfortable, and the bathroom (with 'jacuzzi' bath - other rooms have showers) modern. Do not expect a 5 star metropolitan hotel with bars and public areas - this is a lovely period residence, but with all modern conveniences. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pmam34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We planed to stay in this Hotel for 3 nights starting March 31 2013 as a base for visit in the vicinity area. Eventually we only stayed there one night and they charged us for 2 nights. We started bad. it was very complicated to arrive and once we arrived we saw no sign of the Hotel. When we finally got there it was surprising to confront a narrow steep stair room that could have been cleaner and repaired. The room was nice but the window was not isolated from the street noise and we found ourselves trying to catch a sleep with all the noise of the street directly with us - in our room. Breakfast did not meet our expectations from an Hotel rated that high. I was surprised to be so disappointed in an Hotel rated that high by Tripadvisor.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yacroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apalazzobusdraghi, gestore at A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
So sorry about this: I can only observe that you were surely expecting a different Hotel with a different atmosphere,
but Palazzo Busdraghi is a Residenza d'Epoca, period residence, into a medieval building, with old stone stairs!! And, we have a cancellation policy, of course.
Concerning our breakfast and the difficulty in finding us..
..we cannot be appreciated by all our guests!
But we accept your criticism and will use it to grow and improve our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

what a fine place to stay...Marta and Andrea, our hosts were terrific, couldn't be more helpful....our room (the red room number 5) was beautiful, comfortable and quiet...the steps up to the lobby are a bit foreboding, but Andrea was right there and he had our bags brought upstairs for us. Price, atmosphere and staff were terrific....do not hesitate to stay here if you have the opportunity...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TommyBars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apalazzobusdraghi, Direttore at A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful words!
and thanks to all our guests who appreciate our hospitality
and our passion in welcoming people!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This hotel was great. Andrea and Marta could not have been more welcoming, but not in an over the top way! Our room (number 4) was clean and modern on 2 levels with a big jacuzzi bath. The hotel is ideally located just round the corner from the amphitheatre hiddden away in a courtyard. Breakfast was very nice served by Marta and on Sunday you can have breakfast up to 11 o'clock! We would definately go back.

Room Tip: Jacuzzi baths are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyofFourItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#4 of 56 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 900 reviews
0.5 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
0.2 mi away
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Villa La Principessa
Villa La Principessa
#14 of 56 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
0.6 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#7 of 56 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 762 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca

Property: A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca
Address: Via Fillungo 170 | Centro Storico, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 56 Hotels in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marta, and all the staff of Palazzo Busdraghi, with the new owner, will welcome their guests in a charming, silent and pleasant atmosphere, attending the guests stay, giving good advices and suggestions of visit, organizing tours to the nearby most interesting sites. June 2012..: Our Residenza is getting renewed! New owner, new management, accessories, perfumes and atmosphere, tasty breakfast! AIC certification for gluten free breakfast, and vegan breakfast on demand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing