We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“a touch of Napoleon” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Locanda l'Elisa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Locanda l'Elisa
Ranked #33 of 54 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Louveciennes, France
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“a touch of Napoleon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

We spent three nights there and loved it. The camelias were in full bloom, the meadows near by had orchids, poppies andbluebells galore, which show they are kept natural. The hotel is a bit close to the main road for absolute quiet but really there is enough vegetation to stifle the sound of morning traffic. Lucca is close by but you definitely need a car, public transport is not very frequent.
We loved the food, it was elegant yet simple and frankly not what has come to pass for Italian food these days; In Lucca the ordinary is exceptional, Tuscan cuisine is imaginative.As a matter of fact the restaurant was awarded for its cuisine in the Michelin guide this year.
Our junior suite had a 4 poster bed, a mahogany table set for 2 with a bowl of fruit and sweets.and a bathtub as well as a shower and bidet; it was kept spotless by an invisible but frequent maid, our bed freshly remade after a nap for example.
Tje staff was very useful as we often got lost and needed both maps, plans and explanations
Bteakfast was a buffet with home made croissants, pound cake, buns, ham and local cheese, yogurt both plain and flavored, fresh fruit , 2 kinds of juice and of course coffee or tea.I frankly don't understand the remark of DavidDomix.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    48
    11
    18
    4
See reviews for
19
86
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We were ther 14-18th June 2013. Having 3 days in Pisa before we came to Lucca. We had booked their special package in ajuior suite with Tuscan discovery dinner on first night with a bottle of champage and breakfast in our room, plus a bouquet of roses which I changed for a fruit plate..
Arrived mid afternoon, and shown to our suite, large sitting room with equally large bed, the bathroom had a bath with shower head, also a walk in shower, marble top sink and slippers and bathrobes. I had a fall in Pisa in the bath there (no bath mat) and I was very badly bruised on my arm and hurt my back. thankfully there was a bath mat in the bathroom.

The rooms were splotless and maids would come in TWICE a day to clean and tidy up.
Set back from the main road, with tables and lounges chairs around their swiming pool it was a lovely setting in the countryside. Staff were very attentive, do go on the visit to the local vineyard, a small vineyard, but the food was great as was their wine. Tasted just as good when we opened a bottle at home as it did in Italy. Only ten minutes away by car from Lucca a walled city..

Staff spoke excellent English and no doubt other languages, nothing was too much trouble.
I did not want to leave and was tearful and would go back, close enough from England if you wanted to do a long weekend.. Hope to go back soon.

Loved it

Sally & David Wallis.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sallykins344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Being aware that it is a 5 stars locanda and not a 5* Luxury Hotel we had a very nice time there.
We appreciate a lot the position and the peace near by.
The personnel was really kind.
Good place to stay in!
We bought the locanda with a Let's Bonus offer. The full prices look quite expensive:-)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Raffaella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Five stars is only an ambitious dream for this Locanda. Maybe 3 and a half ?
No specific facilities for children. Too much room freshener (to cover other odors?).
Poor breakfast . WiFi not working very well in the room.
45€ per day for a child bed is fully out of the market (robbery?).
Positive remark: clean bed sheets !

Room Tip: Junior suite are confortable but they do not worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank DavidDomix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

A snowstorm on our first day in Italy prevented us reaching our original hotel. We found this gem by chance, and from the moment we arrived, the staff made us very welcome. Breakfast was served in our room, we were upgraded to a huge deluxe room, and recommendations for local dinner restaurants proved outstanding. Set in the countryside just outside Lucca, this beautiful old villa has a cosy bar, and pretty secluded garden. Very peaceful and so glad we discovered it!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Highlandfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
locandalelisa, Direttore at Hotel Locanda l'Elisa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Google Translation
Gentili Signori,

Siamo lieti di avervi ospitato durante il vostro breve soggiorno a Lucca, ringraziamo per la vostra gentilezza ed educazione dimostrata verso il nostro staff.

Cordialmente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adi
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

just go to Villa La Principessa on scale 1-10 locanda is 2 villa la principessa is 9+.
i do not know who rate it as 5 star. anyway price is 3 star and breakfast is 1 star. nice guy at front desk is good but that is about it,nothing more. very basic food - just bad breakfast,even the motel near by the airport has served better one.

Room Tip: no spa at all, no fittness center. ery old rooms. verry very small tv that did not work at all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank asher8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
locandalelisa, Direttore at Hotel Locanda l'Elisa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Google Translation
Gentili Signori,
Siamo spiacenti che il vostro soggiorno non sia stato piacevole come era da vostra aspettativa, tuttavia teniamo a precisare le condizioni di emergenza che erano presenti in Lucca durante il vostro soggiorno: una imprevista tempesta di neve ha bloccato i collegamenti stradali e quindi i nostri fornitori e dipendenti, non permettendo loro di raggiungere il posto di lavoro, ragione per cui non abbiamo potuto garantire un servizio ottimale. Abbiamo altresì provveduto a concedervi un upgrade gratuito alla vostra categoria di camera Deluxe, e siamo sempre stati a disposizione per qualsiasi tipo assistenza nei limiti delle condizioni imposte dalla emergenza climatica.
I clienti dell'hotel, durante questi 2 giorni di tempesta sono rimasti bloccati all'interno della struttura a causa della impraticabilità dei collegamenti stradali. Abbiamo cercato di fare del nostro meglio in una situazione di emergenza e abbiamo ricevuto notevoli ringraziamenti da parte di altri clienti per lo sforzo effettuato, siamo spiacenti non abbiate apprezzato tale sforzo.
Il nostro hotel non segnala e non pubblicizza in alcun modo la presenza di una Spa o di un centro Fitness all'interno della Struttura, questo è un servizio che al momento non offriamo e quindi non capiamo il disappunto per la mancanza di tale servizio.
Le nostre stanze sono in stile fine 800 , definirle vecchie non è corretto, disponiamo di pezzi di arredamento originali di notevole valore, la tappezzeria di ornamento è di notevole pregio manifatturiero, essendo prodotta dalla famosa casa parigina Pierre Frey.
Il disagio accorso per il mancato funzionamento della TV nella vostra camera è stato purtroppo causato dalla temporanea tempesta di neve che ha danneggiato il segnale satellitare, di cui non è stato possibile risolvere il problema in tempi rapidi.

Cordialmente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is the second time I have stayed at Locanda, and I do like the hotel because it is quiet and out of the central city. Way, way out....and really hard to find. They need a good map on their website. The hotel is an old grand dame, and is showing her age. The furnishings in the public rooms are meant to be evocative of the time when Josephine's sister lived there, but somehow they seem more old than antique. The bathrooms are very modern, however, and the rooms are comfortable and spacious. The best rooms are those that look out over the entrance. The dining room is pretty and light, and the food is quite good. The staff is very friendly, attentive, and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for the room on the second floor with the balcony overlooking the entrance, or the one next to i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy15601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.2 mi away
Villa La Principessa
Villa La Principessa
#13 of 54 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
4.5 mi away
Albergo Villa Casanova
Albergo Villa Casanova
#26 of 54 in Lucca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Noblesse
Hotel Noblesse
#38 of 54 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#4 of 54 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
2.8 mi away
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
1.7 mi away
Eurostars Toscana
Eurostars Toscana
#18 of 54 in Lucca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Locanda l'Elisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Locanda l'Elisa

Property: Hotel Locanda l'Elisa
Address: Via Nuova Per Pisa 1952, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Locanda l'Elisa 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Locanda l'Elisa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda l`Elisa Hotel Lucca
Locanda l Elisa Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing