We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A Very Pleasant Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Napoleon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Napoleon
Ranked #48 of 54 Hotels in Lucca
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Very Pleasant Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

We spent three days here during our visit to Lucca. Our triple room was spacious and very comfortable -- including a large bath with tub and shower. The daily continental breakfast featured a good variety of pastries along with milk, hot tea,coffee, and a very attentive staff. A great value with easy access to the Old City, and even a McDonald's nearby!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the southeast corner of the facility as the loud band from a nearby nightclub may kee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    108
    105
    38
    28
See reviews for
42
122
13
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

I went there for a job trip, the staff was really kind, available and helpful.
They kindly kept some boxes I had to receive from abroad for work and they were able to help me much with information about parkings (in Lucca there are also big free parking close to the doors to enter the center through the ancient walls)
The hall is nice, clean and warm, it's not very luxury, but it's fine. There is a useful parking and you can reach the center of the city also walking for about 10 minutes.
The room I had was recently renovated, very clean, with nice flat tv, nice bathroom, unfortunately the water wasn't ever really hot in the shower… but I'm used to have very hot shower… Room is a bit small, but very well organized and the bed is very comfortable. Price was quite good… and Lucca is simply wonderful and it seems very safe!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmCu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Napoléon L, Direttore at Hotel Napoleon, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind and helpful review. Our staff hopes to see you again soon in our House and in our wonderful town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We chose this hotel because it had parking and we had trouble finding an inner city hotel on the dates we wanted. Also it claimed to be 4 star and we expected a certain level of facilities and service. It is a very dated hotel which has had a quick fix in a few places. The first bedroom we were shown was 2 star level but we were offered a better room afterwards. No one to help with bags. Reception staff not unpleasant but the overall impression was of Fawlty Towers. The free Wifi had a complicated process of logging on and only worked in reception unlike the good reception we had had throughout Italy. Apart from breakfast there was no where to eat, not even bar snacks.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 35Julia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lucca hotels

Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for one, it is in a good position being about a 10 minute walk into the old town of Lucca.
Staff spoke excellent English and couldn't have been more helpful. Room comfortable but noisy from passing traffic. We were in a room overlooking the main road. Problem was from poor fitting windows.
Car park at rear. Breakfast pretty good.
It's about a 20 minute drive to Pisa, and my tip is that if you want to visit Pisa go early in the morning. We got there for about 9am and no problem parking and not crowded.

Room Tip: Get a room at the rear if you want to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
269 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Great location if travelling with a car with free parking in a fairly secure area. 10-15 min flat walk to town walls. We stayed in room 204 which was a Comfort Double and it was very modern and spotlessly clean. Some wings / floors of the hotel may have older style rooms. The hotel is on a busy road but the sound proofing and air cond made for a restfull sleep. Pleasant English speaking staff. Good breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly refurbished rooms eg 201/2/3/4 etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KeenPhotographer-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
125 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

In no way a four-star hotel. 2-star max. Booked last minute via hotwire at a reasonable rate for peak season. It is close to Lucca city wall - about 1000 feet, so pretty convenient. And there is free internet and breakfast included.

The hotel looks like it has not been updated since construction in the early 1960's. Rooms are bare, and tiny, with original mattresses also from 1950, judging from comfort. Tolerable for one night, but not for repeat visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on backside, away from road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JALL_517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Do yourself a huge favor, book any other hotel in Lucca! This was a terrible experience, dirty and unmodern rooms. Very noisy with a poor breakfast, we had booked 2 nights but choosed to leave after one night since we could not sleep at all. So... Look for another hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bamseklubben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.3 mi away
Eurostars Toscana
Eurostars Toscana
#18 of 54 in Lucca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Bernardino
Hotel Bernardino
#44 of 54 in Lucca
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
1.8 mi away
Giada Palace
Giada Palace
#24 of 54 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Melecchi
Hotel Melecchi
#16 of 54 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
1.1 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#10 of 54 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Guinigi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Napoleon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Napoleon

Property: Hotel Napoleon
Address: Viale Europa 536, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Napoleon 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Napoleon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napoleon Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing