We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”
Review of Hotel Napoleon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Napoleon
Ranked #44 of 47 Hotels in Lucca
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for one, it is in a good position being about a 10 minute walk into the old town of Lucca.
Staff spoke excellent English and couldn't have been more helpful. Room comfortable but noisy from passing traffic. We were in a room overlooking the main road. Problem was from poor fitting windows.
Car park at rear. Breakfast pretty good.
It's about a 20 minute drive to Pisa, and my tip is that if you want to visit Pisa go early in the morning. We got there for about 9am and no problem parking and not crowded.

Room Tip: Get a room at the rear if you want to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (368)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 368 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013

Great location if travelling with a car with free parking in a fairly secure area. 10-15 min flat walk to town walls. We stayed in room 204 which was a Comfort Double and it was very modern and spotlessly clean. Some wings / floors of the hotel may have older style rooms. The hotel is on a busy road but the sound proofing and air cond made for a restfull sleep. Pleasant English speaking staff. Good breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly refurbished rooms eg 201/2/3/4 etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeenPhotographer-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

In no way a four-star hotel. 2-star max. Booked last minute via hotwire at a reasonable rate for peak season. It is close to Lucca city wall - about 1000 feet, so pretty convenient. And there is free internet and breakfast included.

The hotel looks like it has not been updated since construction in the early 1960's. Rooms are bare, and tiny, with original mattresses also from 1950, judging from comfort. Tolerable for one night, but not for repeat visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on backside, away from road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JALL_517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Do yourself a huge favor, book any other hotel in Lucca! This was a terrible experience, dirty and unmodern rooms. Very noisy with a poor breakfast, we had booked 2 nights but choosed to leave after one night since we could not sleep at all. So... Look for another hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bamseklubben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed 3 days on a Bed and Breakfast basis. The room and bathroom was large with a lovely Balcony outside.The breakfast was continental style but a good variety and very enjoyable. The staff are very helpful and friendly.The hotel is on a busy road and can be a bit noisy but the higher rooms are less effected by the noise The rooms to the back are not so noisy but I do not think they have a balcony

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roisin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I can only remember that night at this hotel, as a dreadful night (worst in 15 days around Italy).. The staff assigned us room 404, which is facing the road (a very busy and a central road in Lucca) and did not give us any warning of how bad we would spend the night (specially from early 5 or 5:30 am in the morning), due to a constant and normal traffic flow and, vehicles and lorries stopping at the light (one block away).
Many hotels are in locations similar or even worse, (but their rooms, windows, etc, are prepared and designed in a way you won't even notice). We really never experienced that level of noise in a room produced by a normal traffic flow.
This situation caused a short night's sleep (after a busy day touring the beautiful Lucca) without getting any apology from hotel or its employees.
Anyhow, the hotel is not sufficiently maintained nor on the outside, nor the room.
The breakfast was OK, but the rest of the facility is not a 4 star level (we stayed in several 4 star hotels in Italy).
In a few words, a very disappointing stay in a beautiful city that deserves a visit.
I hope to return to Lucca, but definitely not going back to this hotel.

Room Tip: MAYBE rooms on the inner side or in the kitchen will be easier to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Genesis4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Very convenient hotel for a 3 person family, travelling by car. Room was large and very clean. Bathroom nice. Pleasant, shortish walk to the town. Very nice reception staff. Breakfast was pretty good. Only criticism - the Viale Europa really is an amazingly noisy road!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie_Maidenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.3 mi away
Eurostars Toscana
Eurostars Toscana
#16 of 47 in Lucca
659 reviews
1.1 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#7 of 47 in Lucca
949 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Grand Hotel Guinigi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Bernardino
Hotel Bernardino
#37 of 47 in Lucca
158 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Da Carlos
Hotel Da Carlos
#1 of 1 in Santa Maria del Giudice
180 reviews
0.5 mi away
Albergo Moderno
Albergo Moderno
#33 of 47 in Lucca
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Napoleon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Napoleon

Address: Viale Europa 536, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
Price Range: $87 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Napoleon 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Napoleon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Napoleon Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing