We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good hotel great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albergo Celide

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Albergo Celide
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good hotel great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

Welcoming staff, great location and free bike hire all excellent.
Our room was a small double and it was very small but comfortable.
Breakfast was good everything we'll stocked. Very close to the walls and easy access to the airport and in particular the station ( just five minutes walk) from which you can visit all of the region easily.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCelide, Manager at Albergo Celide, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear guest,
I am really happy to learn that you have enjoyed your stay!
Thank you very very much for your review!
We look forward to welcome you again!
With my best regards
Luca Giovanelli
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    366
    67
    15
    12
See reviews for
111
450
36
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed here for two nights and had a great time. The bed was the most comfortable we had during a four week trip through Italy. The free bikes were a great way to explore Lucca, allowing us to ride along the city walls and through the city to explore. Breakfast was great and the service was fantastic. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmaandjessgoeuro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCelide, Manager at Albergo Celide, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear guest,
I am really happy to learn that you have enjoyed your stay!
Thank you very very much for your review!
We look forward to welcome you again!
With my best regards
Luca Giovanelli
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night on way back up from Florence to Chiavari. Staff brilliant, spa wonderful, room perfect, restaurant amazing, breakfast lovely, and free bike loan fantastic. Would very highly recommend this hotel to anyone who values exceptional service and high quality accomodation. Nothing else to add - 10/10 !!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCelide, Manager at Albergo Celide, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

I thank you very very much for your review.

We really hope to welcoming you again!

With my best regards

Luca Giovanelli
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

One of the best things about this hotel was how friendly and helpful each member of the staff was. They gave great recommendations for local attractions and were always welcoming. The hotel itself is close to everything. The train station was a 4 block walk from the hotel. The walled city was just 5 minutes away. The hotel offers bikes at no additional charge to explore the city. The hotel room was pristinely clean. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom shower was a little small but it didn't bother me. Breakfast was a basic continental style. The price of the hotel was very reasonable. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SantaM0nicaTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCelide, Manager at Albergo Celide, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear guest,
I am really happy to learn that you have enjoyed your stay!
Thank you very very much for your review!
We look forward to welcome you again!
With my best regards
Luca Giovanelli
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel and the staff - particular the manager, Luca - are magnificent. I can't say enough for how kind and compassionate the manager and the staff were - we are so grateful to them.
My mother and I stayed here for 3 days and, really, it wasn't long enough - we should have booked 5 days.
The hotel is a 5 minute (flat-level) stroll to the walled city which, as small as it is, has much to offer. I was happy it was so close as we saw a review of Puccini each night and were out quite late. Absolutely do not miss the Puccini reviews (performances) at St. Giovanni and the Guingi tower.
The hotel offers comfy beds, fabulous breakfast (meats, cheeses, hardboiled eggs, pastries, cereals...) and a convenient location (with an elevator). I really liked the bed-linens they were quite luxurious.
There are bikes to borrow (quite a few actually) and it's nice to ride around, although for the most part we just walked and browsed the city.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryFCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCelide, Manager at Albergo Celide, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Mary,

I thank you!!!
I am trying to find the right words to thank you, but I am at a loss...

Thank you very much for your words and, please, send my greetings to your mother!!
We hope to welcome you again!!

With my warmest regards

Luca Giovanelli
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Great location just across from the main gates of Lucca. Hotel parking at no additional cost was a bonus. Small rooms but well appointed. Staff very friendly and accommodating. Very nice breakfast spread. Would definitely stay here again while in Lucca.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaqui-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCelide, Manager at Albergo Celide, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear guest,
I am really happy to learn that you have enjoyed your stay!
Thank you very very much for your review!
We look forward to welcome you again!
With my best regards
Luca Giovanelli
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for ten days. The location is great and I think that's why they stay busy. You're a short walk from the train station as well as two entrances into the wall. We met the manager and he was very friendly and at the end of our stay he gave us his card with his email so we could contact him to book again. Very friendly guy. Spoke both English and Italian. The most frustrating things for me was the AC and the shower. They turn your AC off when you gone and you have to call down to have it turned back on. We have stayed in Europe before and have heard of this, however when you request it stay in generally they leave it alone and this hotel doesn't. So after I was biking every day and walking everywhere I went I was ready to come in to a cool room, not a hot muggy room. The shower was so small I put my hands on my head to wash my hair and my elbows hit both sides. I am 5'0" I do not have long arms. My husband joked if he dropped something he had to turn the shower off and open the door to bend over.

The breakfast was cereal, fruit and meat slices. Not what you would expect from a 4 star restaurant.

The rooms are entirely way too small. I won't stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCelide, Manager at Albergo Celide, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear guest,
I apologize but I onestly do not understand why you didn't inform us about your disappointments.
You have shared 10 days with us and we would have been happy to offer you a room change.
As you know we have different room type but as you know the small double is smaller then the other.
Concerning the breakfast,you know that on our buffet there are:
different bread and cereals, different fresh fruits, cakes, pastries, boiled eggs, ham, cheese, biscuits, yogurt, milk, 3 different fruit juices, gluten free products etc etc. We are always open in trying to satisfy our guests request! Sometimes it is easier to ask!
About the AC, we usually turn it off when the housekeepers are in the room for cleaning it!. This is in order to protect them from any deseases and to save energy too! Why the AC should be on when the windows are open?
For me it is not a big deal to welcome a disappointed guest but t is a problem to know now about your troubles because it is too late to find out o solution.!
My frustration is to know about my clients disappointments when they have left the hotel!

Who help this? I think no one!

I send you all my best

Luca Giovanelli
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#4 of 54 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
0.9 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
0.6 mi away
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Albergo San Martino
Albergo San Martino
#5 of 54 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel San Marco
Hotel San Marco
#7 of 54 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Grand Hotel Guinigi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Celide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Celide

Property: Albergo Celide
Address: Viale Giuseppe Giusti 25, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
#8 Business Hotel in Lucca
#10 Family Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergo Celide 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albergo Celide occupies a very convenient location on the main Street in front of the ancient walls of Lucca, at the border of the pedestrian area. It's easy to reach by car from all access roads to the town and 500mt from the railway station.Convenient, comfortable, central, the Celide hotel is suitable for leisure and business travelers. Completely renovated inside with warmly elegant public rooms, a beautiful terrace overlooking the Walls of Lucca and design bedrooms. Two private parking, bicycles available for our guests. Reception quality personally run by the family owners thanks to over four generations' experience. Explore the city on foot or in comfort and style using the free bicycles provided by the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Albergo Celide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Celide Lucca
Albergo Celide Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing