We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming hotel in Lucca” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albergo Celide

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Albergo Celide
Ranked #9 of 53 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Ilkeston, England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Charming hotel in Lucca”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

A short distance from the railway station, this lovely hotel has comfortable and stylish rooms and really helpful staff. Adjacent to the walls of this beautiful medieval city, it offers access also to Pisa and Viareggio (for the seaside) via a frequent and cheap railway service. There is a trendy bar next door if you feel the need for a late prosecco or caffee.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trepida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

854 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    374
    69
    16
    12
See reviews for
113
462
36
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We did not arrange an accomodation in Lucca before our arrival, unfortunately we came at the time of a conference of paper prints, so although we were planning to stay at a small, old, atmospheric, inexpensive hotel inside the city walls, we ended up staying in a 4star hotel, outside the wall. But we did not regret it! 160 EUR per night was over our budget for Lucca, and I think its a bit expensive for that level of hotel, but the room was very nice and clean, everything was functioning smoothly, the reception staff was smiley and very helpful, the breakfast was nice (my only problem was that they dont serve vegetables, even 1 tomato was impossible to get).
A great detail that the hotel is offering is free, nice bycicles that enable you to paddle around the city, which is a great way to discover all the hidden corners.
Alltogether we had a great visit to Lucca, except for a terrible, inconvenient occasion with the cheating icecream place (Santini) at Puccini square.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tallev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We were very pleased with our experience at Celide. Our room, #34, was plenty large, particularly with many drawers, closets, etc. All the furnishings, & the bathroom, looked new. Our king-size bed was very comfy, with pristine white linens. The staff was very accommodating, & there was plenty of variety at breakfast. We borrowed their bicycles one day to ride atop the walls, what a great experience. We would definitely stay here again!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mariacaterina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

The rooms are so small you can't turn around! Don't go to the spa. The Jacuzzi is only 30 degrees Celsius and has coloured lights flashing and music with a strong beat, not conducive to relaxation. I had a small laundry done and they charged me 52 euros!

Room Tip: I have no idea. The single was tiny and the double was very small and tiny for two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobertGrieve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCelide, Manager at Albergo Celide, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear Mr. Grieve,

I have to tell you the truth! I am very sad and embarrassed!
Your review is the confirmation that we have not done our best to make your stay memorable and for this reason I publicly ask you to accept my apologies!

Nonetheless, I would like to explain you that (unless you had a thermometer with you) the temperature of our jacuzzi was not 30 degress but between 33 - 35.
About the music, I sorry you didn't like but was chosen from music created just for the spa.
Concerning the coloured lights, I am sorry again but is Chromotherapy.( you could turn it off)
For this reason you didn't pay the access to the spa
The laundry. You have sent many things to dry and unfortunately the prices are standard!

You have booked a single room but you should have asked for a double use single!

I remember the evething before your departure you were in our lobby and you asked for my help to open the bottle of wine, why you did not tell me about your disappointments? I could explain you everything face to face and maybe shake your hand drinking an aperitif!

I always hope to welcome you again

with my best regards

Luca Giovanelli
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

My husband has stayed at this hotel before on a business trip and knew it would be perfect for our 1 night stay in Lucca as part of our Tuscan adventure. The hotel is absolutely beautiful, so elegant with a boutique feel. The hotel is perfectly located opposite the city wall and just a few minutes walk to a wall entrance.
Our room was on a low floor at the front of the hotel but we couldn't hear the traffic.
Free car park to the rear of the hotel. Very good air conditioning and a superb shower in a large bathroom. Spotlessly clean! The bed and pillows were very comfortable. The hotel bar and the roof terrace were stylish and inviting. The reception staff were friendly, welcoming and helpful.
We used the free bicycles and cycled the city wall which was wonderful.
The only issue we encountered was that we could not be seated at breakfast in the dining room as there were no spare tables. A waitress offered to seat us in the garden but we chose to wait 5 minutes until there was a spare table inside, mainly because it was nearer to the buffet. I suspect that it was just bad timing on our part having breakfast at a busy time. I know the hotel was full the night of our stay.
The breakfast was a good quality typical Italian hotel breakfast of tasty pastries, meats, cheese, yoghurts, cereals, juices replenished regularly.
I would not hesitate in staying at this lovely hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCelide, Manager at Albergo Celide, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Mrs Sandra,

I thank you very much for your review and happy to learn that you "would definitely stay again"!!

You give us the strength to do our best!!!
I thank you again and hope to see you again!

With our warmest regards

Luca Giovanelli
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
139 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

The hotel is close to the train station but seems a long way of you are pulling a suitcase in the heat! However upon arrival staff were very helpful and showed us up to our room instantly. The first thing that strikes you is that the hotel is spotless. The rooms are of a good size and also the bathrooms (which is not always the case in Europe) are large. I can not tcomment on the hotels other services such as the spa, but we did use the free Bike hire to cycle the walls of Lucca and this turned into a day we will never forget, just breathtaking. We found the hotel to be a lovely base for exploring the town and is close enough for a gentle walk back after dinner.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tommybanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Loved everything about this hotel. Very conveniently placed for the centre and old part of Lucca (just a short walk), and near enough to the station without being able to hear the trains. The interior design of the hotel was a masterpiece - they manage to create a wonderful sense of intimacy - a boutique feel without being pretentious. Room size was generous, bathroom was fabulous - marble throughout and everything was spotless. Loved the terrace too. Great breakfast with plenty of choice, and all staff were very helpful. We arrived very late, but they still fed us even though it was well past 10.00 pm. Good free parking and loved the idea of providing bicycles for guests' use - also free of charge. OK, so there wasn't tea/coffee making in rooms, but hey - this is Italy, so don't expect it! Our visit couldn't have got off to a better start. Faultless!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#3 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
0.9 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
0.6 mi away
A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca
0.5 mi away
Albergo San Martino
Albergo San Martino
#5 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Celide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Celide

Property: Albergo Celide
Address: Viale Giuseppe Giusti 25, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
#7 Business Hotel in Lucca
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
#10 Family Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergo Celide 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albergo Celide occupies a very convenient location on the main Street in front of the ancient walls of Lucca, at the border of the pedestrian area. It's easy to reach by car from all access roads to the town and 500mt from the railway station.Convenient, comfortable, central, the Celide hotel is suitable for leisure and business travelers. Completely renovated inside with warmly elegant public rooms, a beautiful terrace overlooking the Walls of Lucca and design bedrooms. Two private parking, bicycles available for our guests. Reception quality personally run by the family owners thanks to over four generations' experience. Explore the city on foot or in comfort and style using the free bicycles provided by the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Albergo Celide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Celide Lucca
Albergo Celide Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing