We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place.”
Review of Hotel Villa Volpi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Villa Volpi
Ranked #30 of 47 Hotels in Lucca
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

This was our third visit to villa volpi in two years,so says it all really. The only difference this year is that the restaurant is being run by new people which is a huge improvement,both the food and staff are fantastic.
The hotel is in a beautiful setting with friendly staff.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank figgyfleur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 222 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We had a fantastic time here! The villa is beautiful, the views and landscaping are fantastic. We stayed here for three days. Afterwards we stayed in other villas near Sienna that were more expensive with views that did not compare. The restaurant, under separate management was fantastic as well - excellent service and gourmet food. The weather was nearly perfect; warm during the day and slightly cool at night (beginning of July).

You need a car to enjoy this place. It's 10km from the Lucca wall and about 55 min drive to Pisa. Apple maps had no problems finding this place so I'm not sure why others got lost with different GPS products (actually, google maps could not pin point the location either).

Regarding some of the complaints I see here: it's not that the service is unfriendly - not everyone of the staff speaks English well and the manager and one receptionist that was very nice are not there every minute. We had no problems at all with the service - we were treated very nicely. Some people have special needs and I'd suggest that if you're expecting someone to cater to your every little need, perhaps this is not the place for you. Or, unwind a bit before coming and take off the edge of the western life style stress where everything needs to happen right now. The villa was priced extremely reasonably on Expedia for what it offered us - unforgettable three days in Tuscany. I recommend the place without reservations.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mkotarak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We recently stayed in the Villa Volpi hotel that is situated really lovely with a breathtaking view. The service at the hotel is really chaotic. What's wrong with the people that have such a lovely property and then mismanage it completely.
Already at check-in it went really strange. Arriving around 7 pm, there was no one at reception. Around the corner in the lounge there where four people having dinner. After ringing the bell twice it turned out that it actually was the staff having dinner in the lounge, responding very slow to our check in attempt. First thing that was mentioned is that the restaurant was fully booked and that they could only seat us after 10 pm!
Of course we decided to have dinner elsewhere, which was a good decision. Inquiring some tips from the manager where to go for dinner was extremely unhelpful. Thanks god for tripadvisor which led us to some nice restaurant at 10 minutes drive.
After spending a lovely day in Lucca, on return to the hotel we asked to arrange for the check out since we needed an early start the next day. The only staff member we could find was to able to do this, so she got hold of someone else, who picked up the phone to call someone else. The guy explained that he was only the gardner!!! And that we would have to wait for just five minutes. After 15 minutes of waiting we had enough and went for dinner in another restaurant at 5 km drive.
On return in the hotel, nothing seemed to be arranged for our check out.

I find it sad that a place with so much potential is managed in a way that will certainly get more bad reviews. Although the location is truly stunning, I would avoid staying here again. There most certainly will be places where one feels welcome and where a staff is able to take care of simple things like checking in and out.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Michiel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I chose this villa, for its location and surrounding beauty, which didnt let me down :) the weather however did :( we couldn't enjoy the swimming pool and the beautiful sun terrace around it. we didnt eat in the villa as went to Lucca. breakfast was nice though. free coffee not so much :) not sure what but it lack something in atmosphere though... maybe we were just tired maybe the weather, not sure, but the it lacked italian touch in service. but all in all was nice, and would go back again. the views were splendid :)

Room Tip: we got a room with parking lot view, so ask for something else :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loving_the_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights in May. Initial impressions of the property are excellent, it is set in some truly stunning scenery and surrounded by vineyards and olive groves. We'd come up from a few days in Florence and were looking for a place to relax. While the initial impression of the property was excellent unfortunately the same can't be said for the service. In line with some of the other reviews, we arrived to find nobody and when someone did arrive they gave only a very sparse introduction before leaving us to our own devices. I went to enquire about a couple of things soon after and once again had to spend 10 or so minutes hunting round for someone to assist.

The room itself was fine although the air con, TV etc didn't work (didn't bother us much as the weather wasn't warm and hadn't come to watch TV). It also had the classic 2 twins pushed together in lieu of a double. It did however have excellent views and was relatively quiet.

The restaurant (run by different management) was excellent although the menu is relatively limited (not a single choice for vegetarians for example). The breakfast every morning was also good. The hotel bar unfortunately suffered the same problem as the reception, nobody was ever there and to get a drink would require a hunt of the whole property to find someone. The prices also seemed out of touch (4 euro for a can of coke, 15 for a gin and tonic).

Overall, while this is a beautiful place to come and relax, the service unfortunately lets it down (with the exception of the manager and one of the members of staff) and the feeling was predominantly that they were there to entertain themselves. Also without a car it can be very challenging (or expensive) to get around, a taxi to Lucca (about 8km) was invariably 25 euro although definitely worth it as the food and ambience of the city is superb (and much less overrun than somewhere like Florence of San Gimignano).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ThisFlightTonight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

My partner and I stayed here for three nights and had a really great time! It was a bit confusing at first, because it is not the easiest place to find. It's also about 5 km north of Lucca amongst farms, grapevines and olive groves, which we loved. But other may not find that attractive. There are road signs coming from Lucca, but the hotel shut down the larger monastery property for the season on the day we arrived. We discovered that there are actually three different hotel properties on the one large estate. Shortly after we arrived at the old monastery, a person came over to greet us and escort us back to a smaller hotel that used to be a castle on top of a hill beneath an old church. It is pretty special. We were given a top floor room and could not have been more pleased. The views from our room were spectacular! The breakfast included was very nice. The property itself is breathtaking. It was too cool to use the small pool, but it would be nice in warmer weather. The staff also recommended and made a dinner reservation for us at Antica Locanda di Sesto the evening we arrived. It was an EXCELLENT recommendation (see that review).

We would have given Villa Volpi five stars but for couple of small problems.

First, because the building we stayed in is fairly small (maybe 6-8 hotel rooms), it feels more like a B&B. We heard other people right outside of our room on occasion and smelled smoke coming from another room one night. The driveway is also VERY steep and parking sort of confusing. We found a smaller parking lot below the main one that worked better for us. Just something to be aware of.

Second, while the staff/management was professional and generally earnest, one morning we asked that a dinner reservation be made at a local Michelin star restaurant. We were assured that the person we asked would have made the reservation, though he was out when we returned to the hotel before dinner. When we arrived at the restaurant however, they had no reservation. Very disappointing. They were booked and unable to seat us.

Overall, the property is gorgeous, views spectacular, staff/management generally responsive and earnest, and the room rate very attractive. We liked the location a lot. We would certainly return there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dukey88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We loved our stay here. The view was excellent and the room was very comfortable. We actually stayed in one of the rooms of one of the other properties the hotel owned and it was nice and secluded. I think there were only two other rooms there. We had dinner in their restaurant and the pasta was delicious.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank JessSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
6.8 mi away
Resort Dei Limoni
Resort Dei Limoni
#31 of 47 in Lucca
25 reviews
6.6 mi away
Villa La Principessa
Villa La Principessa
#13 of 47 in Lucca
388 reviews
4.3 mi away
Antica Residenza dell'Angelo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Cheli
Hotel Villa Cheli
#18 of 47 in Lucca
368 reviews
4.2 mi away
Palazzo Dipinto
Palazzo Dipinto
#25 of 47 in Lucca
16 reviews
4.4 mi away
Giada Palace
Giada Palace
#23 of 47 in Lucca
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Volpi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Volpi

Address: Via di Giuliano 47 | Mastiano, 55029, Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
Price Range: $298 - $502 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Volpi 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Volpi Hotel benefits of a splendid vista the villa was erected in the countryside nearby Lucca, however it is not far away from the walls of the Tuscan city so rich in Art and History. It is surrounded by an estate of 20 hectares of olive trees and vineyards where organically certified products are produced by Villa Volpi farmhouse. Its elegant architectural design and green surroundings are perfectly combined with the high quality services and hospitality offered and, together with the high quality services provided, contribute in making it the grand hotel it is. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Villa Volpi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volpi Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing