We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Rustic Tuscan Inn with fabulous dining” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda Vigna Ilaria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Locanda Vigna Ilaria to your Saves list
Locanda Vigna Ilaria
Via della Pieve Santo Stefano 967c, 55100, Lucca, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 56 Hotels in Lucca
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Rustic Tuscan Inn with fabulous dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

My husband and I spent the first night of our Tuscan roadtrip at this rustic, creeky inn. It is 10 minutes drive out of Lucca, in the hills and surrounded by mansions and vineyards. The family and their staff were truly welcoming and helpful. We arrived early but they allowed us to check in to our on straight away. We were in room two which was full of charm, spacious enough with a modern bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and we had a very peaceful nights sleep. Breakfast was enormous, the team kept arriving with small plates of fresh yoghurt, fruits, cheeses, ham, breads and cakes. If you didn't eat it all the the waitress encouraged you to take a doggy bag for later. The best thing about this inn is the restaurant. We ate outside surrounded by olive trees in a sheltered courtyard and the mainly fish menu was awesome.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CatGreenski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    39
    9
    1
    4
See reviews for
19
99
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
331 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

More of a restaurant with rooms than an hotel. Very pleasant staff, rustic rooms skirting that thin line between old world charm and scruffiness. We upgraded to a two room suite since we were staying five days. Good choice, we felt, and still reasonable. Tub, but only hand-held "telephone" shower head and no shower curtain (shower curtains are such a great invention, hard to understand why much of Europe can't be bothered) which was a daily aggravation, the choice being sitting in the tub to "shower" or standing and spraying water all over the bathroom, since our knees can't handle squatting to shower anymore. Typical of old places the lighting, and electricity in general, wasn't great for reading etc. There was something that looked like a thermostat, but no AC we could discern, and we were there during a heat wave. Cooled off well enough at night for sleeping. Pleasant rural view out some of the windows. Good wifi when we could get on, but not easy to access occasionally; probably would have been easy had I been willing to log on via Facebook.

Do not recommend driving here the first time without good directions, a GPS, or a large scale map. Typically arcane Italian country roads. Seems farther from town than it is, probably, and a car is a must. The address the way it was listed in our booking (and on their cards) leaves out the "di" before the Santo Stefano part of the street name, thus our GPS couldn't find this semi main road as a result. The address shown above on this listing, leaves out the "di" our GPS needed to recognize the road.

Our room rate did not include breakfast, and we were never quite smart enough to make better arrangements. The €10 p.p. breakfast was excellent but way over the top, served item by item, table by table by sweet Kristina. One doesn't need three kinds of jam (house made from locally grown fruit) some of which differed daily, or two kinds of cake to go with the three kinds of cheese, ham, and the best house made peasant rye bread anywhere plus juice and yoghurt and cereal. Took us several days before we constrained ourselves so we had enough appetite to enjoy a nice lunch when we were out and about. We agonized about sending all that lovely food back to the kitchen, but we never could convince Kristina to bring us less.

Room Tip: The smaller middle rooms would be a bit cramped for more than a short stay, but we were able to upgr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SkykomishBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed four nights at the Locanda Vigna IIlaria in Lucca. The hotel is located approximately 10 minutes drive from the walled historic city of Lucca. Cristina, who took care of all of our needs during our stay, was simply charming. Her philosophy..that by staying at the beautiful 150 year old B&B, we deserved to be treated as personal guests of the family...was demonstrated in everything she did. She prepared and served wonderful breakfasts of eggs, ham, cheeses, breads, homemade cakes, fresh fruit, cereals and coffee/cappuccinos. All this served in a beautiful garden setting that is used in the evenings as a restaurant as well. We ate on two different nights at the restaurant, and the food was delicious! Our room was large with windows overlooking the garden restaurant. The bathrooms were large and everything was very clean. Since we were staying there, we were given a discount not only at the hotel restaurant but also at the other restaurant which the family owns, within the walled city of Lucca. The only challenge was the inconsistent access to the internet on their wifi, which may be helpful for some people to know. For us, who came to experience this wonderful city, we had absolutely no complaints and would return in a heartbeat! Thank you Cristina!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We loved staying at Locanda Vigna Ilaria. Lovely old stone house. Rooms basic but fine. Could use more space to unpack. Main business is restaurant on ground floor which specializes in fish and does a brisk, local business for dinner. Focus is not on the B&B so you are more or less on your own. We didn't mind that but it may not be for everyone. Andrea the owner and Christina Maria who handles the daytime business are wonderful, friendly and helpful. Wifi not totally reliable. Need to have a car and also note checkin time of 5 pm. Plentiful breakfast with good variety. Nice local feel. Great value. We were sorry to leave.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabel607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Myself and my wife stayed for one night in Locanda Vigna Ilaria and enjoyed our stay.
The hotel is located around 10minutes drive from Lucca. Initially we arrived at around 2pm in the afternoon and found the place locked up. We then noticed on our booking confirmation that check in was indicated between 5pm and 8.30pm. We went back to Lucca for a few hours and returned at 5pm, but the hotel was still locked. We phoned the number on our booking form and the owner was apologetic and sent someone out to open up for us – which took about 25minutes. We were later brought a glass of prosecco each to apologise – which was nice. The hotel itself only has a few rooms on the first floor of the building, most of the ground floor contains the hotel.
The room itself had lovely high ceilings and was nice and bright. The bathroom was small but had a good shower. There is a tv, but there seemed to be only local tv channels.
We ate in the reataurant that evening and the food was very nice, though it is predominantly fish-based. The owner will help with translations as the menu was only in Italian.

In the morning the hotel seemed to be locked up again and we had a bit of confusion trying to find our way out – which we eventually did via a back door.
In general we were very happy with our stay in Locanda Vigna Ilaria, we paid €65 for the room which was quite good value. If you are staying here I would advise ringing in advance to ensure the hotel is open.

Room Tip: Room 1 is a corner room - with windows on two sides - it's probably brighter than the other room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OllieMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Very nice place with good owner Andrea and his assistant Kristina. They were very kind and attentive. Very interesting design - old style staff. Good restaurant. Gigant breakfast. We enjoyed!!! Cool view from window - Toscanian landscape. Close to Lucca!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niskayuna, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

There were so many positive comments i could make about certain aspects of the hotel, and just as many negative comments. The room was large and very clean. However there was no toilet seat for the first day (a problem for two women). The bed was very comfortable but the roon was too dark. Andres and his staff are very kind and enthusiastic. However Andres has too much on his plate and is not always available when needed. We had to wait about 10 minites to get into our room, and about 25 minutes to checkout. They advertise free wifi but it didnt work for the two and a half days while we were there. If you were on a tight budget i would stay here, but otherwise i would find something closer to the city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Middlegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
2.1 mi away
Il Ponte
Il Ponte
#34 of 56 in Lucca
4.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
0.2 mi away
Al Podere di Rosa
Al Podere di Rosa
#10 of 56 in Lucca
5.0 of 5 stars 160 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#6 of 56 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Ai Cipressi Bed & Breakfast
2.5 mi away
Hotel Melecchi
Hotel Melecchi
#17 of 56 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Carignano
Hotel Carignano
#35 of 56 in Lucca
4.0 of 5 stars 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Vigna Ilaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Vigna Ilaria

Property: Locanda Vigna Ilaria
Address: Via della Pieve Santo Stefano 967c, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 56 Hotels in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Locanda Vigna Ilaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing