We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for a medium-length stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ai Cipressi Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #20 of 51 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good for a medium-length stay”
Reviewed April 14, 2008

I recently stayed at Ai Cipressi for two weeks while in Lucca on business. Given the state of the U.S. dollar everything in Europe is expensive but this was less expensive than a hotel within the walls of Lucca and very convenient. The room was kept perfectly clean and was very comfortable, airy, and quiet. The breakfast was just right for me, and Daniele and Gabriele were happy to open up the breakfast room in the late afternoon so I could make some coffee or tea on the afternoons when I had to work in the room. I rented one of the bicycles that they offer to their clients; that worked very well and Gabriele very quickly fixed a light that I inadvertently damaged. They were happy to discuss restaurants and excursions. I was also happy that they were willing to speak Italian with me so that I could practice my poor Italian! All in all, a very successful stay, and I plan to go back to the hotel when I'm next in Lucca.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Visitor23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    148
    23
    10
    2
See reviews for
74
157
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CANADA
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2008

Very helpfull staff. Great ideas on local touring,dinning etc. Exceptionally clean surroundings (room and common area). Breakfast good variety and plentifull. Bike rental a bonus. convenient and reasonablly priced.
K Canada

  • Liked — Quality, price and cleanness
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Canadakan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfor
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2008

We really enjoyed our stay and have recommended the hotel to others. The courtesy and help of the staff were excellent. Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GillesOx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2008

The young brothers who own this place really make it special: they are very nice, helpful and willing to provide advice about Lucca. Our room was very clean and quiet. We enjoyed the breakfast (good for Italy). It's a quick walk to go within the walls of Lucca. However, it's a converted motel - nicely done, but new and lacking character; rather a contrast to how gorgeous the buildings are within the city walls of Lucca. Still, I'm glad we stayed at Il Parco as I was surprised to find found that the "car-less" Lucca actually had lots of traffic and suspect that a place within the city walls may have been a bit noisy.

  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GinaZ41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2008

This is similar to any poor standrad motel. Views of concrete blocks, air conditioning did not work, hotel owners organised a taxi for us that never turned up, reception open only select times and breakfast was cheap and nasty. No idea how it gets such good reviews.

  • Liked — clean
  • Disliked — no air con, no views
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank name12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gabriele, Direttore at Ai Cipressi Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Dear Guest,
we like to inform you that in january 2008 the air conditioned not work becuase in january in Italy is very cold and we use the heating. In the historical centre the view can' t be the same view an in the country. We called the taxi but if didn't come this is not our fault, we called the taxi again.. . .Our Breakfast (2011) include: yogurt, butter, cheese, fruits juices, milk, eggs hard-boiled, different kinds of biscuits, fruit, orzo, cacao, fresh bread, toasted bread, Buccellato a typical Lucca’s cake, tea, american coffee, espresso coffee, honey… .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2008

Spent one night at the Ai Cipressi which is a bed and breakfast run by two brothers.

The location is near the city walls and it ideal if you have a car as their plenty of car parks. If you come to Lucca by train then its best that you take a taxi to the hotel (about 10 mins by taxi).

The hotel rents out bicycles at a very cheap rate which was signifcantly cheaper then any of the places within the city walls.

The hotel is about 15 minutes walk from the centre of Lucca and its perfect for those who dont mind not being in the centre of the city or who have a car.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank emb73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2007

We loved visiting Lucca. It's a beautiful walled city with fewer tourists than other places. It had a wonderful local feel to it. Ai Cipressi was very conveniently located just outside the wall. We had a car and were very grateful to have an easy place to park. There were several nearby grocers, bakeries and other shops without always having to go inside the wall where things were more expensive.

We were a little disappointed with the B&B, the room was drab and the breakfast was only average. It had a motel-feel but was satisfactory. The brothers were helpful but seldom seen.

Lucca was a great location for day trips. We went to Pisa, Cinque Terre and various places in Tuscany. Though not unique to this hotel, it was unusually cold and they don't turn on the heat until later in the Fall. Fortunately there were plenty of blankets.

We highly recommend a visit to Lucca. Ai Cipressi was in a great location and very convenient but othewise only average.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank redboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Melecchi
Hotel Melecchi
#16 of 51 in Lucca
212 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Grand Hotel Guinigi
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#3 of 51 in Lucca
1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#8 of 51 in Lucca
448 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#10 of 51 in Lucca
888 reviews
3.0 mi away
Villa La Principessa
Villa La Principessa
#13 of 51 in Lucca
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ai Cipressi Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ai Cipressi Bed & Breakfast

Property: Ai Cipressi Bed & Breakfast
Address: Via di Tiglio 126, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Lucca
#8 Family Hotel in Lucca
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ai Cipressi Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our elegant Bed & Breakfast " Ai Cipressi" will offer you a pleasant and relaxing time that will give you a nice memory of staying in our town. We are located in a private courtyard far from the traffic noises ; 5 minutes far walking from the historical centre of Lucca, close to the railway station (1,3 km) , two minutes walk from St.Gemma's Galgani Sanctuary and a few km from the Versilia's beach and to the wonderful Garfagnana's Mountains. ROOMS Our rooms are well furnished with comfortable queen-size double beds : each one provided with a spacious private and internal bathroom (possibility of twin beds on request). A modern and elegant design is characteristic of our furnishing and it is intended for travellers fond of comfort and wellbeing. Every room has an independent entrance, private bathroom, independent air-conditioned/heating, hairdryer, satellite Tv, free parking and free Wi-Fi Internet connection We have a room with bathroom for disabled people(on demand). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Ai Cipressi Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ai Cipressi Hotel
Ai Cipressi Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing