We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ai Cipressi Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ai Cipressi Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #19 of 53 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is just outside the city wall in a non touristy area but a very short walk to the Porta Elisa and the ancient and beautiful town of Lucca. Not a luxury hotel by any means but the rooms are spotlessly clean and spacious with large and well-appointed bathrooms. The area is quiet at night so peaceful sleep was assured. The owner Gabriel speaks good English and is very helpful. A great place to use as a base for exploring Lucca. Only fault is the breakfast which is high on carbs and devoid of much protein - no eggs - but there is an espresso machine available 23/7!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneLAcupuncture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    143
    22
    10
    2
See reviews for
70
154
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

We stayed here for one night in March 2012 and found the owners to be very helpful and friendly when we arrived. The rooms were tastefully decorated and clean,spacious and comfortable ....we rented bikes from here and rode along the top of th Lucca wall and aroun town, it is a short walk or ride to the walled gates of the city and we found Lucca to be very charming. Guilliano gave us a lift to the train station on our departure....

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Breezegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

As I said, we were very happy with the rooms as well as the breakfast. The owners were friendly and helpful when we arrived. The hotel was outside the city walls, but we rented bikes and had a great time exploring the area. I dont recommend trying to drive and park within the city walls anyway. We also rented a scooter and rode around the area, even to Pisa, which was a lot of fun.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ERveterinarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

We had a good time at the Ai Cipressi, the rooms are quite large and they are very clean. The city center is really at walking distance and you benefit from a free parking, which is not common in a city like Lucca. The breakfast is good and quite generous. Last but not least, the Tovani brothers were very nice and available. We had a special request and they took care of it! We recommend this B&B if you are looking for something simple but clean and easy going.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Frederic H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stayed at Ai Cipressi for just one night in October 2011. The rooms were a bit small but we loved the ownders - Guiliano (the owner`s father) was holding down the fort when we got there and really went the distance for us (he even gave us a lift to the train station the next morning). They had nice bikes to rent and although the breakfast was Italian-style (lots of sweets and bread) there were eggs and cheese and yogurt, which is rare in Italy. This family-run place is really trying to be attentive to their guests. The B&B is close to the walls of Lucca and we really had a dreamy time. Make sure you try the gelato from Gelateria Veneto in Lucca - it`s been there for almost 100 years!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bintan Island, Indonesia
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

We had three (3) nights at this B & B in September this year (2011). I would have to say the photos on the internet don't show how tired looking the rooms really are. They could do with a complete update, the bathrooms particularly were outdated and not very clean. There was a definite smell in the room which management tried to cover with 'deodorises', unfortunately this just added to the problem. Overall the area around the B & B was awash in garbage and graffiti making it the least appealing place we stayed.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roman146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gabriele, Direttore at Ai Cipressi Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 5, 2011
We answer with the preceding review :
...This b&b is located just outside the walls of the beautiful city of Lucca, and possess everything a good bed and breakfast should have. It was clean, comfortable, great hosts, and excellent breakfast. We stayed twice on our tour of Tuscany and this was definitely our BEST STAY!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2011

This b&b is located just outside the walls of the beautiful city of Lucca, and possess everything a good bed and breakfast should have. It was clean, comfortable, great hosts, and excellent breakfast.

We stayed twice on our tour of Tuscany and this was definitely our best stay! The brothers Gabriele and Daniele, the proprietors, were a mine of helpful information for the area.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raiderlove214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.8 mi away
Albergo San Martino
Albergo San Martino
#5 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Melecchi
Hotel Melecchi
#17 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#3 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#9 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#7 of 53 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
2.3 mi away
Al Podere di Rosa
Al Podere di Rosa
#10 of 53 in Lucca
5.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ai Cipressi Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ai Cipressi Bed & Breakfast

Property: Ai Cipressi Bed & Breakfast
Address: Via di Tiglio 126, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Lucca
#8 Family Hotel in Lucca
#17 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ai Cipressi Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our elegant Bed & Breakfast " Ai Cipressi" will offer you a pleasant and relaxing time that will give you a nice memory of staying in our town. We are located in a private courtyard far from the traffic noises ; 5 minutes far walking from the historical centre of Lucca, close to the railway station (1,3 km) , two minutes walk from St.Gemma's Galgani Sanctuary and a few km from the Versilia's beach and to the wonderful Garfagnana's Mountains. ROOMS Our rooms are well furnished with comfortable queen-size double beds : each one provided with a spacious private and internal bathroom (possibility of twin beds on request). A modern and elegant design is characteristic of our furnishing and it is intended for travellers fond of comfort and wellbeing. Every room has an independent entrance, private bathroom, independent air-conditioned/heating, hairdryer, satellite Tv, free parking and free Wi-Fi Internet connection We have a room with bathroom for disabled people(on demand). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Ai Cipressi Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ai Cipressi Hotel
Ai Cipressi Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing