We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stellar Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Fabbrica di San Martino
Ranked #22 of 47 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Our stay at this country estate was excellent and exceeded our expectations. The land is beautiful, vineyards and olive trees hundreds of years old. Giuseppe explained the wine making process in such a way that his passion became ours for the time we were there.
The rooms are well appointed and spacious. Giavanna was available for our every need. Breakfast on the terrace of their villa was delicious and the view magnificent.
Treat yourself!

Room Tip: No bad rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 94 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2014

We had a fabulous 3 night stay at Fabbrica di San Martino, a short drive from Lucca. What a fantastic place to stay. It is more or less a country estate with the main house and lovely garden and the old stable block set in large vine and olive growing fields with spectacular countryside views. Our hosts were lovely and charming and couldn't be more helpful. Giuseppe stayed up late to let us in after our plane was delayed and we got a little lost. The property is a little difficult to find at night so make sure you get directions from the owners rather than do as we did and get them from a map website. Our room was really an apartment on the ground floor of the old stables. There were two bedrooms, a bathroom and a fully enquipped kitchen/dining/living room with everything you need for self catering even though we were there for B&B. Breakfast was served on the cool terrace of the main house with stunning views. There was coffee, tea, hot water, milk and fruit juice in thermos flasks. On the table were yoghurts, a big bowl of fruit to help yourself from, cheeses, ham rolls, bread, butter, jams and a cake of the day. We were invited to view the inside of the mansion house to see the antique furniture and the interior and it is amazing. There are three restaurants within a short drive. We tried one of them and it was excellent. There are lots of places to eat in Lucca itself. Mustn't forget to mention that In the evenings we had the most spectacular display from the fireflies. This is a great place to stay and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank annsullivan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed 4 nights in a very comfortale farmhouse apartment with a large bedroom and large dining/living room/ kitchen. I had obsessed about whether to stay within the Lucca walls or outside, and before we arrived, I was concerned that I had made the wrong decision. As it turns out, my decision was absolutely right. The countryside at the Fabbrica is beautiful and restful, Giovanna and Guiseppe are warm, super friendly and very helpful. If it is warm enough, Breakfast is served on the incredibly beautiful terrace of the main house. The walled city of Lucca is fine to walk around for a day, but I think staying outside the walls is a much better choice. From Fabbrica, you can take long walks or drive to various sites or simply rest. One place we loved was Barga, about a 30 or 40 minute drive from Fabbrica. Also, we ate dinner twice at an excellent restaurant up the hill from Fabbrica called Lombardo.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewYorkNYTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I feel guilty for not writing this review so much earlier!

My husband and I spent 4 nights here on our honeymoon in Oct 2013. I could have stayed a month. I have always wanted to stay in a "typical tuscan villa" in the countryside and this place was perfect. We had a HUGE room on the mail floor of the house. The house was like a musuem with beautiful furniture and artwork. Giovana makes you feel very welcome and the private breakfast every morning on the patio was amazing. Sitting there every day before heading out on an adventure was on the highlights of our honeymoon.

I would absolutely recommend this place to anyone looking for that true tuscan experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VancouverKimYVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

We spend 2 fantastic days at F.DE SAN MARTINO were Giovana makes you feel welcome and at home from the first second.Being able to be on such a place and enjoy the beautifull surrundings maked us feel real good.Luca is very near by car and up hill nearby you also have 2 fantastic restaurants.
The relation price quality is exellent, would love to come back again
Thank you Giovanna!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank emifon2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

WOW.............Giovanna made us so welcome at her amazing home which has been in her family since the early 1700s- to walk into her vestibule was like sauntering into a museum, with wonderful architecture and art to match! We stayed on the top floor of this fantastic villa and had three enormous rooms to ourselves- the view from here was absolutely incredible- we used to sit on the large window recesses and look out over the whole of the Luccan valley below with olive groves and vineyards below. Breakfast on the terrace was beautifully presented with an array of tasty things to nibble at. There is little doubt we will be back to explore more of the incredible Tuscan countryside and to reacquaint ourselves with the Tronci hospitality!!

Neil and Carol Davison

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed here in the room with the yellow silk canopy and curtains,it was exactly like a National Trust property but you could sleep in the bed!!But it was not just historic we had a very useful little fridge in our room which was supplied with water and also wifi was available and we were able to sit in the reading room to use our laptop.The breakfast each morning in the pillared portico was beautiful, a range of the best quallity fresh goodies,little cakes,a variety of bread rolls,fresh juice,coffee tea yogurts etc,each set out on individual tables.
The swimming pool was lovely and surrounded by the vines which the owners use to produce their own wine. If you enjoy being away from the crowds and in interesting and quirky surroundings you will love this place.

Room Tip: All the rooms are highly individual, we stayed in the one with the yellow silk canopy over the bed a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnglandBookworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
3.8 mi away
Villa La Principessa
Villa La Principessa
#13 of 47 in Lucca
391 reviews
5.9 mi away
Villa Casanova Lucca
Villa Casanova Lucca
#1 of 1 in Balbano
104 reviews
4.0 mi away
Resort Dei Limoni
Resort Dei Limoni
#33 of 47 in Lucca
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Palazzo Dipinto
Palazzo Dipinto
#23 of 47 in Lucca
20 reviews
4.4 mi away
Albergo Villa Marta
Albergo Villa Marta
#3 of 47 in Lucca
655 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Cheli
Hotel Villa Cheli
#16 of 47 in Lucca
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fabbrica di San Martino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fabbrica di San Martino

Address: Via Pieve S. Stefano 2511 | Vignale, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 47 Hotels in Lucca
Price Range: $145 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Fabbrica di San Martino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Fabbrica di San Martino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing