We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stellar Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Fabbrica di San Martino
Ranked #24 of 51 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Lucca, Italy
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Stellar Stay”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Our stay at this country estate was excellent and exceeded our expectations. The land is beautiful, vineyards and olive trees hundreds of years old. Giuseppe explained the wine making process in such a way that his passion became ours for the time we were there.
The rooms are well appointed and spacious. Giavanna was available for our every need. Breakfast on the terrace of their villa was delicious and the view magnificent.
Treat yourself!

Room Tip: No bad rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    7
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
11
67
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blaenau Ffestiniog, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We had a fabulous 3 night stay at Fabbrica di San Martino, a short drive from Lucca. What a fantastic place to stay. It is more or less a country estate with the main house and lovely garden and the old stable block set in large vine and olive growing fields with spectacular countryside views. Our hosts were lovely and charming and couldn't be more helpful. Giuseppe stayed up late to let us in after our plane was delayed and we got a little lost. The property is a little difficult to find at night so make sure you get directions from the owners rather than do as we did and get them from a map website. Our room was really an apartment on the ground floor of the old stables. There were two bedrooms, a bathroom and a fully enquipped kitchen/dining/living room with everything you need for self catering even though we were there for B&B. Breakfast was served on the cool terrace of the main house with stunning views. There was coffee, tea, hot water, milk and fruit juice in thermos flasks. On the table were yoghurts, a big bowl of fruit to help yourself from, cheeses, ham rolls, bread, butter, jams and a cake of the day. We were invited to view the inside of the mansion house to see the antique furniture and the interior and it is amazing. There are three restaurants within a short drive. We tried one of them and it was excellent. There are lots of places to eat in Lucca itself. Mustn't forget to mention that In the evenings we had the most spectacular display from the fireflies. This is a great place to stay and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annsullivan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
306 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed 4 nights in a very comfortale farmhouse apartment with a large bedroom and large dining/living room/ kitchen. I had obsessed about whether to stay within the Lucca walls or outside, and before we arrived, I was concerned that I had made the wrong decision. As it turns out, my decision was absolutely right. The countryside at the Fabbrica is beautiful and restful, Giovanna and Guiseppe are warm, super friendly and very helpful. If it is warm enough, Breakfast is served on the incredibly beautiful terrace of the main house. The walled city of Lucca is fine to walk around for a day, but I think staying outside the walls is a much better choice. From Fabbrica, you can take long walks or drive to various sites or simply rest. One place we loved was Barga, about a 30 or 40 minute drive from Fabbrica. Also, we ate dinner twice at an excellent restaurant up the hill from Fabbrica called Lombardo.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkNYTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

I feel guilty for not writing this review so much earlier!

My husband and I spent 4 nights here on our honeymoon in Oct 2013. I could have stayed a month. I have always wanted to stay in a "typical tuscan villa" in the countryside and this place was perfect. We had a HUGE room on the mail floor of the house. The house was like a musuem with beautiful furniture and artwork. Giovana makes you feel very welcome and the private breakfast every morning on the patio was amazing. Sitting there every day before heading out on an adventure was on the highlights of our honeymoon.

I would absolutely recommend this place to anyone looking for that true tuscan experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VancouverKimYVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rijswijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

We spend 2 fantastic days at F.DE SAN MARTINO were Giovana makes you feel welcome and at home from the first second.Being able to be on such a place and enjoy the beautifull surrundings maked us feel real good.Luca is very near by car and up hill nearby you also have 2 fantastic restaurants.
The relation price quality is exellent, would love to come back again
Thank you Giovanna!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank emifon2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2013

WOW.............Giovanna made us so welcome at her amazing home which has been in her family since the early 1700s- to walk into her vestibule was like sauntering into a museum, with wonderful architecture and art to match! We stayed on the top floor of this fantastic villa and had three enormous rooms to ourselves- the view from here was absolutely incredible- we used to sit on the large window recesses and look out over the whole of the Luccan valley below with olive groves and vineyards below. Breakfast on the terrace was beautifully presented with an array of tasty things to nibble at. There is little doubt we will be back to explore more of the incredible Tuscan countryside and to reacquaint ourselves with the Tronci hospitality!!

Neil and Carol Davison

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
190 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed here in the room with the yellow silk canopy and curtains,it was exactly like a National Trust property but you could sleep in the bed!!But it was not just historic we had a very useful little fridge in our room which was supplied with water and also wifi was available and we were able to sit in the reading room to use our laptop.The breakfast each morning in the pillared portico was beautiful, a range of the best quallity fresh goodies,little cakes,a variety of bread rolls,fresh juice,coffee tea yogurts etc,each set out on individual tables.
The swimming pool was lovely and surrounded by the vines which the owners use to produce their own wine. If you enjoy being away from the crowds and in interesting and quirky surroundings you will love this place.

Room Tip: All the rooms are highly individual, we stayed in the one with the yellow silk canopy over the bed a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglandBookworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
2.4 mi away
Relais La Cappella
Relais La Cappella
#11 of 51 in Lucca
279 reviews
3.8 mi away
Villa La Principessa
Villa La Principessa
#13 of 51 in Lucca
364 reviews
4.0 mi away
Resort Dei Limoni
Resort Dei Limoni
#40 of 51 in Lucca
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Albergo Villa Marta
Albergo Villa Marta
#4 of 51 in Lucca
627 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel San Marco
Hotel San Marco
#7 of 51 in Lucca
417 reviews
0.2 mi away
Al Podere di Rosa
Al Podere di Rosa
#9 of 51 in Lucca
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Fabbrica di San Martino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Fabbrica di San Martino

Property: Hotel Fabbrica di San Martino
Address: Via Pieve S. Stefano 2511 | Vignale, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 51 Hotels in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Fabbrica di San Martino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Fabbrica di San Martino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing