We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Lucca
Post
Inbox
Search

“Strange”
Review of Ale's Bar

Ale's Bar
Ranked #555 of 709 Restaurants in Lucca
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We chose Ale’s Bar for lunch due to its beautiful setting and location off the Piazza Napoleone. We were seated immediately. We attempted to order a bottle of white wine but were told all they had in white was a Chardonnay house wine. Strange since the menu offered several wonderful salads which we ordered; Greek salad and a mixed green salad. Both were good. We also ordered a ravioli bolognes that had a nice flavor but no marinara sauce. Different. During our visit a man we presumed the manager/owner kept speaking to our waiter in a rough and intimidating manner. It was odd since our service was excellent. We made a point to share our satisfaction with the server in a manner that could be heard by the manager/owner. Many choices in Lucca. You could avoid this establishment and not miss anything.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank WineDog3561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 138 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2019 via mobile

Attention! Terrible Food.we ordered pasta quatro formagio but got bad quality pasta with some sause!not cheese at all.

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank Nina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2019

I would definitely not recommend this restaurant, the service is very rude and and the portions are too small for the price! And just for sitting outside they paid us 2€! Don’t do the same mistake, look for a better place.

Date of visit: July 2019
1  Thank Frederic H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2019

Ale’s Bar is in a great spot for people watching and usually get a good breeze. If you want a quick pick me up meal and a birra alla spina it’s ok. Stick to the basics - spaghetti pomodoro and the caprese salad are good, especially the caprese. Delicious mozzarella and good tomatoes. The insalata mista is not the best of its kind, but it’s ok. The Milanese is odd - veal cutlet I think- but the French fries that come with it are yummy. The pasta with smoked salmon was just so-so. Caprese and spaghetti pomodoro have the best chance of success. It is not fine dining!

Date of visit: July 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ann m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2019 via mobile

Not sure TA allow me enough words to describe the appalling quality of the food served up to me and my friends this evening. All washed down with possibly the worst red House wine I have ever tasted. Lazy, unimaginative cooking. The chicken Milanese was in effect a big flat Turkey Twizzler, disgusting. The pasta dishes were appallingly presented and tasteless. We booked it because it is near the concert venue and stupidly didn’t check TA before we did. I noted it was 474 out of 510 restaurants in Lucca. That surely has to be a very generous ranking. Do yourselves a favour and give it a very wide berth.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank ftcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ale's Bar also viewed

 
Lucca, Province of Lucca
Lucca, Province of Lucca
 
Lucca, Province of Lucca
Santa Maria del Giudice, Lucca
 

Been to Ale's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing