We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (580)
Filter reviews
580 results
Traveler rating
302
227
42
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
302
227
42
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews minute walk modern hotel walled city old city hotel staff comfy bed a lovely place to stay excellent breakfast visit lucca pool walls bikes francesco cheese meats
Sort and selected filters
Sort Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 580 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2016

We have just returned from a wonderful few days at this lovely little hotel. It is situated just 10 minutes’ walk from the old town wall.

The staff are wonderful, they go out of their way to make you welcome and are always ready to give you help and advice, for example about trains and recommendations for restaurants nearby.

The hotel is spotlessly clean and comfortable and the breakfast is varied and delicious. They do not do an evening meal but will order pizzas and other take away meals which they then serve in their dining room, this is very useful if you have been out all day and don’t feel up to going out for the evening.

Many thanks to all the staff at Hotel San Marco from the Davies’ and Singleton’s, hope to see again sometime

Date of stay: October 2016
Thank NisaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSanMarcoLu, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel San Marco, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2016

Dear Guests,
it has been a pleasure for us to meet you and to read such a great review!
We hope you could come back soon,
best,
Margherita
Division Marketing and Communication

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2016

I was really happy with this hotel in Lucca. It is outside the city walls but a very easy walk to get into the old town. Plus it is a fascinating walk through the tunnels of the walls, especially at night with the wonderful lighting. The hotel itself is very basic but extremely clean and comfortable.
The breakfast is plentiful, varied and fresh. The staff at the front desk etc. couldn't have been more helpful. This is a great place to stay.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hazel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSanMarcoLu, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel San Marco, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2016

Dear Guest, thank you!
Thank you for that kind words, thank you for appreciating our breakfast, thank you for finding helpful and friendly our staff!
We invite you to come back, maybe in summertime, when you could enjoy our swimming pool and terrace.
Best,
Margherita
Division Marketing and Communication

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2016

Just returned from a five day break in Lucca. The Hotel San Marco arranged for our pick up at Pisa airport, Bruno was there to meet us and 35 mins later we arrived at our hotel.
San Marco is a bright and airy hotel lovely reception very welcoming. Our rooms were extremely comfortable, beds especially, we all slept well, showers were excellent and basins were massive, needed to be a little careful of the small step near to the door. Breakfasts were good with lots of choice (croissants were delicious) and we enjoyed sitting outside, after we had eaten,by the pool. The hotel arranged our day out to Sienna and San Gemaniano again Bruno picked us up by minibus,with 6 in our party this was so much more convenient. Would like to thank staff at San Marco especially Ina for their friendliness and care, always there wth advice on places to eat and places to visit. Looking forward to our next visit.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank sylvia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSanMarcoLu, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel San Marco, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2016

Dear Guest, it is really great to hear that you have passed a lovely time in Lucca with us and that you wanted to share your experience here, with other guests.
We are looking forward to your next visit too!
All the best,
Margherita
Division Marketing and Comunications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2016

The hotel has been recently renovated and offers sleek, modern rooms ideal for a short stay. There is a bright, modern breakfast room / lunch restaurant as well as external seating adjacent to the small ;pool. The breakfast itself is very extensive and high quality and the pizza menu was the longest I have ever seen. There is also a range of craft beers which I am told was good.

A dud light bulb was replaced rapidly and everywhere was spotlessly clean.Staff were all very friendly, professional,and efficient.There is plenty of material such as maps and excursions and the reception recommended excellent restaurants.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue149
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSanMarcoLu, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel San Marco, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2016

Dear Guest, thank you for using such a kind words. We hope you could visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2016

We had 3 nights stay atthis hotel as part of a wine trip to Tuscany with a group of friends. Had breakfast on the terrace, and an occational swim in the pool. Helpful and friendly staff. Short distance to walk to the old city wall and into the old town with all its restaurants and tourist atractions. I would recomend it to anybody.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank solveigbj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSanMarcoLu, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel San Marco, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2016

Dear Guest, we thank thou for sharing your positive feedback and we hope to see you again at Hotel San Marco.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews