We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet surroundings, comfortable Hotel”
Review of Hotel San Marco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel San Marco
Ranked #8 of 47 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2014

The Hotel is app. 10minutes walk away from the Lucca city center in a quiet area close San Marco Cathedral. The staff in the reception was very attentive and friendly as well as also in the breakfast room. Our room was modern and spacious and especially the shower was delightful; enough water and the temperature stayed as you have it set. The Hotel has a small garden with a small pool, which is not so common in a city Hotel, so bring your swimsuit!
The Hotel has a garage underneath it and a few free parking places right in front of the Hotel.
If you have a convertabile or some kind of sports car it has to be left outside, because the driveway to the garage is so steep that the front of a low car well be damaged.

Room Tip: We had a room in the upper floor and it was very peaceful and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Immuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSanMarcoLu, Direttore generale at Hotel San Marco, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2014

Dear guest, your words are so exact! Particularly the description you made about bathroom and swimming pool! Hope to see you again in Lucca, thank for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (451)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 451 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2014

Thank you so much to all the staff at Hotel San Marco. Not only were you incredibly helpful in sorting out the problems I had with my car but the hotel was a brilliant place to stay. So close to the the town, lovely bar and pool area and super breakfast. I would recommend this hotel to all. Thanks again for your help - I have made it back to London safely.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSanMarcoLu, Direttore generale at Hotel San Marco, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2014

Dear Jane, it was a great pleasure for us to help you and let you have a nice stay in Lucca! Hope to see you soon again,maybe in winter time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We spent two nights here on a recent trip to Tuscany. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful, the hotel and rooms spotless. The buffet breakfast was great.

A 10-15 min walk to the walled town might not suit the elderly or those less able to walk long distances in the heat, but not a problem for us.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsH1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSanMarcoLu, Direttore generale at Hotel San Marco, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear Guest, we want to thank you for your review and kind words.
You're right, our hotel is 800mt far from the city wall and even if is a nice walk it might be a problem for less able people.
But we want to point out that our hotel has a bike rental service that can "support" the guest that don't want go by feet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

I think I was fooled by its name: San Marco. Made me think of Venice. It could be anywhere in the world and its blandness plunged me into a depression which only lifted after two hours in beautiful, lively Lucca. Don't stay in bland hotels on holiday save them for business - incidentally this one cost over €120 for one for a night(online booking) - would have expected a better position and less of a box of a room for that kind of money.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alasdair R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSanMarcoLu, Direttore generale at Hotel San Marco, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear Sir, we regrett that you didn't appreciate your staying at our hotel.
As you can read also on Tripadvisor or on our Facebook page, our foreign guest (or from Italy too) are always satisfied.
Dont't you think, maybe, that it's the bad weather -in this strange summer- that had plunged you in depression instead of our bedroom? Did you ask to staff how you could spend your day, maybe spending your spare time in our terrace facing the swimming pool area?
Moreover, Italy is a country full of Saints... you can find a "San Marco neighborhood" in almost every city... so, it's a bit "naive" to think that every SanMarco-something would remember Venice.
Hope to see you again in a sunny holiday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed here for one night while on a cycle tour of Tuscany.

The hotel was a great find.

The reception welcome was very friendly and nothing too much trouble.

Room small but a great bathroom with funky lighting.

The small outdoor pool and bar terrace area was a bonus.

Breakfast was buffet and very pleasant.

This hotel has a very cosy homely feel to it whilst being very clean and comfortable.

It is about a 15 min walk to the main walled town area of Lucca

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wattsy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSanMarcoLu, Direttore generale at Hotel San Marco, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear Sir, we want to thank you for your pleasant words. We hope to see you again in Lucca, maybe in winter time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

What a super little hotel! The most friendly staff, immaculately clean, huge beds, satisfying breakfast, a very clean private pool, cold beer on tap and chilled Prosecco and wines. A short walk to the city wall and bikes to hire which was the best fun I've had for ages! You will not regret booking this fab place and we will return again and again! I like a good quality establishment, and this is one! Thank you so much for looking after us so well!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSanMarcoLu, Direttore generale at Hotel San Marco, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

We have to tank you for your nice words. Take care of our guests is our mission! Hope to see you soon in Lucca!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

stayed there for two nights only, well located, outside the walls...in one of the best borgos or residential areas of lucca...friendly staff, small european size room but very clean and nice bathroom, Ina from the staff went out of her way to help us out, great location if you want to be away from the bustling crowds in lucca but still close by to safely walk back and forth.... reccomend it...wifi is good but a bit cumbersome in the fact that you have to sign in and out everytime you use it!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Ana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelSanMarcoLu, Direttore generale at Hotel San Marco, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear Guest, thank you for your kind review. We know that our wifi registration seems to be "boring" sometimes, but it depends on the law against pornography that we had in Italy. Now the law has changed and we're adapting our wifi system. You could discover our new internet registration next time you'll come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.9 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#7 of 47 in Lucca
949 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#3 of 47 in Lucca
1,112 reviews
3.3 mi away
Villa La Principessa
Villa La Principessa
#13 of 47 in Lucca
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
3.8 mi away
Albergo Villa Marta
Albergo Villa Marta
#4 of 47 in Lucca
653 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Grand Hotel Guinigi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Marco

Address: Via San Marco 368, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Lucca
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
Price Range: $107 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Marco 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel San Marco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Marco Hotel
San Marco Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing