We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good modern hotel with bit of style and warmth” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Marco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel San Marco
Ranked #8 of 55 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good modern hotel with bit of style and warmth”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Needed a base to explore Lucca with good convenient access to the town and free parking, this fitted the bill perfectly with small but stylish and well design room, great friendly and helpful service, and good breakfast out on the terrace , would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy9n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    164
    32
    4
    1
See reviews for
53
163
16
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The hotel is situated about 300 metres outside the city walls in a quiet location. The staff were very helpful, printing out train timetables for day trips and for our onward journey and giving advice on the city. The free wifi was very useful and the beds and room were very comfortable with a lovely view of the pool. The taps in the bathroom were quite awkward to use - at first we didn't think they were working. The breakfast was fine, if not a lot of variety, and could be taken on the patio outside when the weather is fine. A good choice for a quiet, relaxing stay in lovely Lucca!

Room Tip: A high floor with a pool view is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We only booked this hotel the night before and so were not sure how things would turn out. We needn't have worried. Everything was great. The room was pristine, the breakfast was above average and there were all the usual necessities which people expect nowadays like wi-fi. The weather was cold but the room was beautifully warm. The shower room was faultless. The fact that off street parking was included in the price was also a great plus. Like most visitors we were in Lucca to see the old town (which has a wonderful atmosphere) and to get to it involved a walk of about ten to fifteen minutes. No problem for us at all but I suppose some people might prefer a hotel actually in the old town though of course parking could then be problematic.
The reception staff were exceptionally pleasant and helpful. On the day we checked out we wanted to wander some more around the old town and were told that there would be no problem leaving our car parked as long as we wanted. It's touches like that which helped to make our stay at the hotel really delightful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aka_space
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The rooms were a small, but that encourages you to get out and experience the hotel and surrounding area. The staff was excellent! They were very welcoming and very personable. They made us feel like we were in their home. It is a short walk from the old city, and close to modern conveniences (ATM, Carefour, laundromat). Most of the staff also spoke English.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the Left side of the left side (pool side)of the hotel. The neighbor on the right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler100009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Hotel San Marco is a great hotel - exceptionally clean, breakfast had everything you could possibly want, lovely location - 5 min stroll to the town centre passing through the amazing city walls.

Staff are wonderful - pleasant, can't do enough for you and willingly offer helpful tips and advice for visiting beautiful Lucca.

Do hire the bikes to cyle around the city walls - just brilliant - you'll love it!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tickle4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The rooms are really small. We had two singles pushed together and a roll away bed and we could hardly walk around the room. As we hadn't come to Lucca for the hotel we were happy with the situation. It's a good story to tell how mom had to sleep under the desk area (no, we pulled the bed out at night). The bathroom was very modern and clean. We came to Lucca for a pizza on our way to the Cinque Terre region and decided to stay two nights and day travel over to Cinque Terre.

Room Tip: This hotel is within walking distance to the walled city, but is on a busy street and ambulances go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara_JMT_Hiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed two nights in this small boutique hotel in a great location with easy walking distance to Lucca Old town. Staff were very obliging and diligent in every way. Rooms are small so a longer stay would not be terribly comfortable but the public spaces such as the patio around the pool, and the comfy couches in the reception area, and the table seating for breakfast, add to the space. A very friendly and accomodating staff made our stay pleasant. The bed is a little hard but the room is practical and comfortable. Internet access is good. Definitely recommend the hotel to travellers of all types - families and couples, business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Our room was on the main floor at the end of the hallway, and while very convenient for us with lugg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CalgaryTraveller58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.9 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#9 of 55 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 787 reviews
3.3 mi away
Villa La Principessa
Villa La Principessa
#14 of 55 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 318 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#4 of 55 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
0.7 mi away
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
3.8 mi away
Albergo Villa Marta
Albergo Villa Marta
#7 of 55 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Marco

Property: Hotel San Marco
Address: Via San Marco 368, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Lucca
#13 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Marco 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel San Marco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Marco Hotel
San Marco Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing