We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Holiday happiness” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Borgo di Alfeo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lucca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Il Borgo di Alfeo
Save
You added Il Borgo di Alfeo to your Saves list
Ranked #14 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Lucca
Bergen, Norway
1 review
“Holiday happiness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We are a family with three teenage girls. We spent 1 week at this wonderful place. We rented the "La Grande di Alfeo" a practical and beautiful apartment with 2 bedrooms. The apartment had all the necessary amenities and tastefully decorated in Tuscan style. The house was located in scenic surroundings, a very well maintained property built. The surroundings of olive groves, flowers, orchard and old houses encouraged to rest and enjoyment. The pool area was very well kept and clean, equipped with sun loungers. Although the place was secluded from the hectic life, it was close to the most part, the local baker, butcher just a few minutes away. Supermarket 5-10 minutes by car and about 10 minutes by car to the nearest town, Lucca.
Under the pergola we spent the amount of time, from early morning hour, and evening fine moments.

The hosts showed incredible hospitality. Wonderful people who do not know what good they could do for guests. Alberta, Alfeo, Simone and Martina would like to come back :-)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Livsnyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
norway
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Me and my family spent ten days at the Il Borgo di Alfeo, and we all had a fabulous time. The place is beautiful and quiet, and suitable for children. But what we liked the most about the place was the kind hosts. Alfeo, Alberta, Simona and little miss Martina gave us a memorable vacation we won't forget.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ialmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We came to Il Borgo di Alfeo for a family gathering - some of us from Australia and some from Africa - and we were welcomed and fed and féted like honoured members of the family of our wonderful hosts, Simona, Martina, Alberta and Alfeo. The accommodation is beautifully appointed, and the view across the valley is sublime. It was my first visit to Tuscany, but it won't be my last. And it's very probable that I shall return to Il Borgo di Alfeo. Why would I want to go anywhere else?

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

The owners of this property Alfeo and Alberta were wonderful hosts during out stay. Initially they helpfully sent a guide to bring us to Domazzano when we missed a turn after driving from Rome. Our daughter travelled from Africa and we came from Australia to catch up with our grandchildren. In total eleven of us took advantage of the warm weather and beautiful surroundings. We found the Penny Market (supermercato) in Borga A Mozzano had all our needs and we were able to drive down to the main village to explore the local area. We became expert at using the train service to visit Lucca (try a coffee at the Lucca station) and Florence for sightseeing thereby avoiding parking worries. A train trip North into the mountains is also a worthwhile exercise. Buy your tickets at the cafe near the station. In Borgo A Mozzano the coffee was excellent (and cheap) and there are plenty of restaurants nearby if eating out is required. The accommodation provided for all out needs so much so that we oldies preferred to prepare our own meals and take advantage of what the property has to offer. In the evenings you could do no worse than sit outside in the quiet that decends on the valleys, enjoy a refreshing ale/vino, watch the locals out for a stroll at the end of the day and take in the views over the mountains as the sun disappears. Alfeo and Alberta are generous hosts, preparing fabulous pizzas in the woodfired oven and delivering fresh fruit and vegetables from the garden. The children and grownups spent most of each day playing in the beautiful maintained swimming pool. We had to drag ourselves away at the end of our stay and despite the language dificulties felt like leaving good friends rather than a place to holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcusC647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed in the detached Villa Martina, the welcome from the Meconi Family was fantastic, they go out of their way to make your holiday a special memory. The Pizza dinner they offer you is not to be missed the best pizza in Italy not to mention Alfeo's wine and fruit. Cooling off in the swimming pool after a hard days sight seeing is a pleasure the scenery breathtaking with the sun going down on an evening. We really enjoyed ouselves and will be returning hopfully next year for another taste of Italy Meconi Style.
The villa is new but built in the traditional style tastfully decorated, the appartments are in the Main House and are a mixture of the tradional building with beams the size of trees for main timbers sympathetically decorated and complete with the latest design in kitchen and bathrooms everything you need for a holiday appartment.
We want to say a very big "Thank You" to Alberta, Alfeo, Simone, David and little Martina for making our stay with you special.
From Malcolm & Anita (UK)

Room Tip: Everywhere is quiet in this location, its an interesting old building so there are stairs to each ap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnitaLJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We (Heleen en Hessel from Holland, near Groningen) stayed 2 lovely weeks in the sweet little (but big enough) house Martina, just around the corner of the swimming pool.
We met the very enthousiastic and friendly familie of Don Alfeo, and we ate their fruits, pizza, and dolce. Heleen ads that the wine was delicious! The home made grappa was also delicious. It was for us, although we are Tuscany lovers, a new welcome to this great part of Italy and its people. The family gives the word "Hospitality" a new meaning.
The house is very pleasant, with nice bedroom with a good bed, and very tidy rooms.
Around the garden there is a fence, so our Labrador pup of almost 1 year old could walk freely. Everybody loved dog Molly!
The very big pride of il Borgo is the swimming pool. It is very beautyful positioned, with a marvellous view over the hills. Lucca is nearby, and a very fine city to visit. The sea (Lido de Camaoire) is a 45 min drive.

Greetings, Heleen and Hessel

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schuth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
6.1 mi away
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
9.2 mi away
Albergo Villa Marta
Albergo Villa Marta
#7 of 56 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 555 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Cheli
Hotel Villa Cheli
#17 of 56 in Lucca
4.0 of 5 stars 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Relais La Cappella
Relais La Cappella
#13 of 56 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 236 reviews
10.1 mi away
Villa Michaela
Villa Michaela
#2 of 68 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 112 reviews
5.7 mi away
Lucca in Villa San Marco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Borgo di Alfeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Borgo di Alfeo

Property: Il Borgo di Alfeo
Address: Via Comunale, 25, 55023, Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 68 Specialty Lodging in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing