We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Rex all-stars”
Review of Hotel Rex

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Rex
Ranked #8 of 51 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Hotel Rex all-stars”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

My wife and I are in our 50's and stayed at this hotel for four days in May 2014; the staff were friendly and efficient. Thanks to Peter for his assistance and cheerful disposition.

We found Hotel Rex to be clean and spacious enough, and the room had a kettle and instant coffee, plus a mini bar with wine, sodas and other delights (mini bar items for a small charge). A small bottle of prosseco sparkling wine plus chocolates, a scented candle and other items were provided as a welcome gift to us.

An ample breakfast was provided each day, including tea, coffee, juices, cold meats, fruit, cereals and muesli, hard boiled eggs, toast, pastries, stewed fruit, etc. This is an extended European + American breakfast, and should please any nationality. Remember - when traveling outside your home country you should not expect the same foods you get at home. We enjoyed the variety of foods offered and got to try some new items.

There were tea pots and biscuits in the hallways for those desiring a mid-afternoon (or other time) snack and treat.

The hotel provided bicycles for the guests free of charge. Free WI-WI is available, plus a computer in the lobby for those who need one. There is a bar in the lobby, discretely placed to the side so as not to be visible from the street. Suites are available via the use of an elevator or the stairs. A gelateria is located next to the front door and the hotel provides a coupon for two free scoops of heaven on earth!

The railway station is a short walk away, and even though we always sleep with the windows open we didn't hear the trains at all. The location is excellent and convenient. There is a Farmacia around the corner, and a tobacconist/bar at the station.

The walled city of Lucca is across the street and is easily accessible. At night the walls are lit by flood lights, creating a pretty scene.

I highly recommend this hotel to travelers. Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trav42CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    190
    36
    8
    3
See reviews for
95
226
22
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

This hotel is in the train station Plaza just outside the city walls. Very convenient entry into the city. Breakfast was disappointing as it was lacking anything hot. If you are traveling by train through Italy and planning a stay in Lucca this would be OK. Make sure the A/C is working. WIFI was ok.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We greatly enjoyed our time in Lucca, and at Hotel Rex. We took the train from Firenze to Lucca, about a 90 minute ride. The train station is literally steps away from the entrance to Hotel Rex. The hotel staff were super nice, and always greeted us warmly. The rooms were good, large. Ours was a 2 bedroom suite with a balcony that opened up over the front entrance of the hotel. It gave a perfect view of the old city walls. The breakfast was more than we expected, several tables of pastries, antipasti, yogurt & cereals. They also had a full bar and lounge, though we never saw anyone belly up.

The hotel also has bikes available for guests! No need to rent bikes from across the street to take through Lucca; right around the corner is a storage door where they had several. Plus there is a fantastic brewery as well as an irish pub right around the corner, good spots for catching football games if the weather isn't agreeing.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OrangeCoLumberTruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
272 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Our first experience with Hotel Rex was four years ago on our first visit to Lucca. We just left Lucca and again stayed at Hotel Rex. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was better than expected. If you are travelling by train, Hotel Rex is ideal, as it is a few hundred feet from the train station. Even so, it is quiet and restful. It's only a five minute walk to the entry into the old city of Lucca, so it's a great tradeoff. We highly recommend Hotel Rex. Also, good Wi-Fi service.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdfromTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Hotel Rex offers a great location and many personal touches. It is just a few steps from an entrance to Lucca’s city wall. We arrived late, after a day of driving and the manger came out and found us parking right in front. As we checked in, the manger asked if we had plans for dinner. We didn’t and he suggested a near-by place, which was ideal, all locals with tasty, inexpensive food. Our hotel rooms had welcome notes and chocolates. Their breakfast offered eggs, yogurts, cereals, and breads with friendly service. Later, when we returned, the clerk greeted us by name and had our room keys ready.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sienahouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We chose this hotel for our one night stay in Lucca as we would be leaving by train the next day, so the location was excellent. The reception staff were all very friendly and welcoming. The room was perhaps a little old-fashioned, but clean and comfortable. The room had tea and coffee making facilities - particularly welcome as, in my experience, this is not common in Italy. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty, with some particularly good salami, and fresh pastries.

A tip for anyone arriving on the bus from Pisa airport, as we did - the bus doesn't stop by the station as you might expect. To get to the hotel from the stop, leave the town by the nearest gate in the walls and walk anticlockwise - you won't miss it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

I stayed here as a solo traveler in March 2014 for 2 nights. It is a well located hotel next to the train station and across the street from the city walls The room was clean and of a standard size for European hotel rooms. Breakfast was very nice a good array of breads and meat and as many cappuccinos as one could want. Upon checking out they gave me a little bag with local olive oil products, I thought it was very sweet.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simoneyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#3 of 51 in Lucca
1,060 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#10 of 51 in Lucca
887 reviews
0.6 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Albergo San Martino
Albergo San Martino
#6 of 51 in Lucca
500 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Grand Hotel Guinigi
1.1 mi away
Hotel San Marco
Hotel San Marco
#7 of 51 in Lucca
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex

Property: Hotel Rex
Address: Piazzale Bettino Ricasoli 19, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rex 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy family-run hotel located 100 meters far from the historic center and 80 meters far from the main railway station, convenient location for easy exploration of the countryside and the coast of Tuscany. Hotel Rex offers a range of services to its customers, such as free Wi-Fi in the entire building and in all rooms, a rich buffet breakfast with sweet and savory dishes, comfort for children and free parking places in front of the hotel. The friendly staff at Hotel Rex is always happy to answer all your questions and give you tips on how to make your stay special in Lucca and at Hotel Rex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing