We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Rex in Lucca, Spain”
Review of Hotel Rex

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Rex
Ranked #9 of 47 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We had a very pleasant stay at Hotel Rex. The room was spacious and clean. The staff was very helpful. They lent us bikes to ride around the city. The hotel is across the street from the train station so if you're traveling by train it's extremely convenient. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAGirlUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (476)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

150 - 156 of 476 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2013

My family and I are from San Francisco and we visited Lucca over the summer. We have a nice size double room, and a good breakfast everyday. The hotel is located right outside the walls which I think actually added to the charm of entering and exiting the walled city (especially when the walls are beautifully lit up at night). Also, since we were traveling by train, the fact that it was literally steps from the train station was a huge plus. However, the best thing of all were the owners and people who worked there. We spent a month in Italy, but have to say the people at Hotel Rex were the friendliest people we met (and that is saying a lot considering how nice people generally are in Italy). We truly felt welcomed. Plus, they had a bunch of toys and dolls for our two young girls to play it which made the place truly wonderful for us.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Rex in early October. We knew the hotel was near the train station but were pleasantly surprised by how close. The location is great if you are traveling by train as we saw many people carrying their luggage into the walled city to hotels located there. The location is great even if you have a car as there is parking right outside the hotel. Since we didn't have a car, I don't know if there was a charge for parking. The hotel is located within an easy walk to the old town and there are a few restaurants within walking distance. The staff was very friendly including the grandfather who was always in the lobby. Our room was spacious and included a mini fridge and an electric tea kettle for making tea or instant coffee. The room included a TV and a strong WIFI signal (something we didn't always find in other hotel rooms in Italy). The breakfast was plentiful with a variety of cereal, yogurt, pastries and good coffee. The staff was very friendly and allowed us to store our luggage while we went to pick up our rental car. You can tell the family takes pride in their hotel as it was very clean. I would highly recommend this family run hotel in the charming town of Lucca whether you are traveling by rail or by car.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first level on the back side and was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a memorable stay in Lucca. Based on other reviews here we booked the Hotel Rex for our week long stay and we were not disappointed. We decided to travel by rail this time and the proximity of the hotel to the central railway station was a real bonus. We arrrived at the station and on exiting we immediately saw the hotel on the right. (no need for maps or taxi etc.) Check in was friendly and efficient. Our good sized room was in the front on the building overlooking the piazza. It was spotlessly clean with an accompanying shower room. Despite being very close to the railway station the room was quiet and very comfortable. A bottle of wine and some Bacci de Perugia chocolates greeted our arrival.The linen was regularly replaced and the room was "made up" with care and attention. The continental breakfast was very good with a great selection of items which were regularly replenished. The hotel was busy but everything was executed with efficiency and without fuss.
Although this is a family run hotel they are by no means intrusive but at the same time very friendly. The owners were very helpful providing recommendations and general information.
There is no restaurant but the staff are helpful with advice on local establishments.
There are no language issues as they are very proficient in English and even give forebearance to guest attempts at Italian.
We used the hotel as base for daytrips by rail to nearby cities and towns.This worked very well for us. We had a rough itenary but we got to see more beyond it. Although the hotel is outside the city walls, the centre of Lucca is a leisurely stroll away, even for a mature couple. There is a great selection of cafés, pizzerias and ristorantes to be found there. It is a typical old Italian city with lots of narrow streets, churches and monuments. It has an air of vibrancy about it while at the same time relaxation. There are lovely walks /cycle tracks along the walls which circle the city providing a bird's eye view of bulidings and streets below. I would have no hesitation in recommending a visit to Lucca and in particular Hotel Rex for your stay there.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 92Dante92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Perfectly located just out of building of station.
Wecomed cheerfull (as always) by Valentina...a young charming owners daughter.
Great to see 97 yr old grandpa in reception..
Good breakfast (cold).
Room decorated in old style need bit renovation.
Free bikes to ride..

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chirag d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

It is a family type hotel and I would say more for private than for business purposes. There are regular and studio type rooms – clean and rather in vintage style. There is a small breakfast place – continental type food available and a small bar. The hotel location allows you to go to restaurants nearby. Communication in English & Italian. Note: the main entrance is closed for the night. You need to ring the bell to enter in after 10.00 p.m. In general – the price reflects the quality of the service.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a four night stay at the Rex which we thoroughly enjoyed. This really is a family run establishment . Three generations are still actively involved in the hotel. The patriarch of the family, who I understand is well into his nineties, welcomes all the guests in the evening in the reception area. It really is quite charming. The reception is run during the day by Valentina to whom I must give a special mention. She was delightful and more than willing to help with travel arrangements etc or indeed any problem you had. Her English was excellent. The Hotel itself is almost perfectly situated within a stone's throw of the railway station and just outside the city walls. There is a bus stop within 30 yards of the front door.( By the way we travelled by public transport throughout our stay and found it cheap and reliable). The décor in the hotel is somewhat dated but has its charm and the facilities are all there including Wi-Fi in all the rooms. The breakfasts are adequate without being overly generous. The only criticism which could be made is about the hardness of the beds. They are firm but thankfully did not cause any sleepless nights All in all this hotel could be safely recommended and is excellent value for money

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.4 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#7 of 47 in Lucca
946 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#4 of 47 in Lucca
1,110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo San Martino
Albergo San Martino
#6 of 47 in Lucca
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
1.4 mi away
Best Western Grand Hotel Guinigi
1.1 mi away
Hotel San Marco
Hotel San Marco
#8 of 47 in Lucca
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex

Address: Piazzale Bettino Ricasoli 19, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Lucca
Price Range: $95 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rex 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy family-run hotel located 100 meters far from the historic center and 80 meters far from the main railway station, convenient location for easy exploration of the countryside and the coast of Tuscany. Hotel Rex offers a range of services to its customers, such as free Wi-Fi in the entire building and in all rooms, a rich buffet breakfast with sweet and savory dishes, comfort for children and free parking places in front of the hotel. The friendly staff at Hotel Rex is always happy to answer all your questions and give you tips on how to make your stay special in Lucca and at Hotel Rex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing