We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Friendly and convenient” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Rex

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Rex
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, D. C.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Friendly and convenient”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Rex three nights this past May. It is right next to the Lucca train station and so very convenient for non-car travellers. But it is also only a two block walk to the walls and inner city of Lucca. Our room was very comfortable and the breakfasts were generous. The staff of this family-run hotel were very helpful and friendly. If you are a light sleeper, you might want to ask for a room not on the front of the hotel; ours faced the square and since it was very hot and we left the windows open, we heard voices and noise late into the evening. But it was kind of interesting to hear the non-tourist side of city life. All in all, a great value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank egerstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    180
    34
    8
    3
See reviews for
89
212
20
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fortville, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at Hotel Rex, Lucca. It was perfect location for us. We arrived by train, very easy and close walk to hotel. Staff was very friendly and welcoming. We arrived in the morning but they were able to get our rooms ready right away. The continental style breakfast was extensive and the staff worked very hard to keep it stocked. Really liked the family run style of the Hotel. They were eager to help in any way possible, and gave excellent restaurant suggestions. Our only complaint was the beds were quite hard and we wanted to sleep with our window open but found the street noise too loud. Overall, I would stay again, especially with the easy access to the train station and easy access to walk to the town inside the walls.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan37115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We really liked this hotel. It is conveniently located to the train station and a short walk to get inside the walls of the old city. The rooms were modern (adequate plugins), quiet, and clean. The breakfast was good and the staff were friendly and fun. We loved Lucca and hope we can return someday.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seahag59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

If you're looking for an easy-to-find, moderate budget hotel, this is the place for you.

The hotel is steps from the train station and about 200m from the main city gate. The room was a moderate size with a larger bathroom than the ones we had in Venice. The room was clean overall, but the grout in the bathroom could have been cleaned better. The bath towels in Italy are super thin, but sufficiently dry oneself.

The bed was quite firm and we were presented with (yet again) flat pillows. I guess Italians have no idea what comfortable pillows are like. Of the four beds I've slept in thus far, it was not really much different than the rest. Luxury hotels beds seem to be stiff too, albeit it slightly more comfortable. There was a tiny TV in the room with CNN/BBC (other channels in foreign language). Even though you're by the station, you do not hear the trains. The room also has a small view, but not much to see.

The free breakfast was good and there were a variety of pastries, cereal, and juices. The free WiFi worked well for us both in the lobby and the room (41). You have to ask for a 24-hr pass to the WiFi when you check-in.

There's nothing exciting about the hotel, but it did the job quite nicely. They let you hold luggage for a bit if required as do most hotels. It doesn't have any historical charm, though so don't expect that. If you want to keep yourself around €90-100/night in April, this is a decent place.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fernando M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aups, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Very nice stay and we had great fun on the bikes and the weather was hot the staff were friendly not forgeting Grandad!! in reception,Thanks .Will definately come again to Lucca it should be called the secret city,so gorgeous.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank antonia w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Hotel Rex in Lucca is near the city wall, train station and lots of amenities.
After a short drive from Pisa airport we had a smooth check in and a reserved car parking. Breakfast was good. Room was big, very clean with high ceiling however it needs a bit of updating but it is full of character.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MRDARCYLONDONUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed at Hotel Rex as a complete accident. My friends were camping near Lucca, and so we were driving around trying to find me a hotel room nearby (I DO NOT camp - bad experience). We drove up and there is Hotel Rex literally two minutes walk from the train station. The patriarch (a very energetic young octegenarian) was outside making sure it was very tide. He was so charming! The room was clean and cozy. The staff was friendly and kind. I would recommend Hotel Rex to everyone. I know that's where I'm staying if I ever go back to Lucca.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#4 of 54 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo San Martino
Albergo San Martino
#5 of 54 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#10 of 54 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
0.5 mi away
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
1.1 mi away
Hotel San Marco
Hotel San Marco
#7 of 54 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex

Property: Hotel Rex
Address: Piazzale Bettino Ricasoli 19, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy family-run hotel located 100 meters far from the historic center and 80 meters far from the main railway station, convenient location for easy exploration of the countryside and the coast of Tuscany. Hotel Rex offers a range of services to its customers, such as free Wi-Fi in the entire building and in all rooms, a rich buffet breakfast with sweet and savory dishes, comfort for children and free parking places in front of the hotel. The friendly staff at Hotel Rex is always happy to answer all your questions and give you tips on how to make your stay special in Lucca and at Hotel Rex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing