We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel choice if you come by train” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rex

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Rex
Ranked #6 of 56 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Level Contributor
118 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Good hotel choice if you come by train”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Unfortunately, the Italian train employees staged a wildcat strile that Monday and all trains from Viareggio to Lucca were cancelled. So we caught a bus in the rain and dragged our luggage through the town. Two days later it was very convenient for our train to Siena via Florence. The room was good, clean and quiet, the breakfast was acceptable and the front desk staff were very friendly.
It was very convenient for our exploration of Lucca and access to wine bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BabyboomerCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    159
    31
    8
    3
See reviews for
78
190
17
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Perfect location! Just outside the old walls. Staff are helpful enough, if a touch grumpy :) room was large with a high ceiling, brand new bathroom. Breakfast was good enough. Free parking.

Seeing as you can't drive into the old city without a permit, this is basically the best you'll do if you have a car.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank desultir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

After getting lost in Florence, finding Hotel Rex in Lucca was a breeze! Our GPS put us in front of the railway station across from Hotel Rex. Parking for our rental car was provided right in front of the hotel. The desk people welcomed us warmly. Directly across the busy street is the ancient city wall that encompasses the old town. We rode bikes atop the wall then came down and walked around the old town. Absolutely charming!. Had a great lunch in Piazza Napoleone.
Valentina (at the desk) recommended a tiny restaurant just around the corner for dinner. Bar Cupido was a delightful find with good service and GREAT food. ad no other tourists, but lots of locals. Valentina told us that the next night was Luminaria di Santa Croce, a big procession through the old town. The next day we drove to La Spezia where we took the train to the Cinque Terre for the day. Upon our return, we went back to Bar Cupido for dinner then over to experience the Luminaria di Santa Croce procession. There were 4,000 marchers from all over Italy in the procession.Many were in traditional costumes or Medieval costumes. We did not stay for all of it but did hear and see the fireworks from our room at midnight! Our room was typically small but comfortable. Very clean. The breakfast was pleasant. The staff and location really make Hotel Rex a great find. Would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend it to friends planning a couple of days in Lucca.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pielady_x3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for a week and couldn't be happier with the location, facilities and service. The location is ideal as it is very close to the railway station and to the City Walls, making it easy to get out and about. Despite the closeness to the station it was very quiet and tranquil. The room we stayed in was very clean and comfortable. Shower cubicle could have been slightly bigger but that didn't matter too much, more importantly the water pressure was excellent. Breakfast buffet was very good with an extensive selection. What really made the stay so pleasurable was the wonderful, friendly service from the owners and staff. You were really made to feel welcome and part of a family. Would definitely recommend this hotel and hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The hotel location is perfect most if you came by train. Just one block or less and here you are!
Easy to park, because the station is there. and close to a gate to go inside the old city that you can go walking.
The attention is careful, rooms are clean, spacious,bright, good internet connection. Normal Breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ttottemm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Great location, clean, very friendly service, very personal service, good value. Old chap is a gem and does much to welcome you. We had a rental and were also able to park right outside the hotel. Would definitely recommend for a quick visit to Lucca.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We drove in and found it easily. Their reccomendation for dinner was perfect. Breakfast was bountiful and we even borrowed the bicycles to ride the wall in the morning. Couldn't ask for a better place, except for the football celebration that went on half the night. But I'm sure that disturbed all the hotels.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BAM73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.4 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#9 of 56 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 767 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albergo San Martino
Albergo San Martino
#5 of 56 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 425 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#4 of 56 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
0.5 mi away
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
0.6 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rex

Property: Hotel Rex
Address: Piazzale Bettino Ricasoli 19, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy family-run hotel located 100 meters far from the historic center and 80 meters far from the main railway station, convenient location for easy exploration of the countryside and the coast of Tuscany. Hotel Rex offers a range of services to its customers, such as free Wi-Fi in the entire building and in all rooms, a rich buffet breakfast with sweet and savory dishes, comfort for children and free parking places in front of the hotel. The friendly staff at Hotel Rex is always happy to answer all your questions and give you tips on how to make your stay special in Lucca and at Hotel Rex. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing