We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet country hotel”
Review of Hotel Carignano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Carignano
Ranked #39 of 47 Hotels in Lucca
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed two nights and found the hotel to be very good. The rooms were large as was the bathroom and the bed was very comfortable. The balcony had a nice view of the back yard and the country side. The hotel has seen better days by the look of the furniture but was clean. The front desk staff was friendly but not overly service minded - when checked in late at night and were kept waiting at the desk while two phone calls were first answered. The attached restaurant was excellent. It is a short drive to Lucca town center so it was a quiet place to sleep. Breakfasts were plentiful - had to ask for cappuccino as the machine variety was not very good. Other than that the breakfast was fine. Would we stay there again? Perhaps.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaetano I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (230)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 230 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2012

Passed a night here en route back to France. Room was spacious and clean, but the decor is rather tired. Balcony overlooks a large closed off grass area ideal for exercising the dog (it is a dog friendly hotel, not easy to find in Italy). There is an above-ground pool which was out of order (maybe permanently), they need to build a proper pool. On arrival the chap told us it would cost 15 euro extra for the (large) dog, but in the event they forgot or didn't bother. The restaurant is excellent, busy, well used by locals, huge choice of dishes, good house wine, pleasant service. The maitre d' even let us have a bottle of white and 2 glasses for aperos in our room, before the restaurant opened, on trust to be paid for later.

Room Tip: Ground floor have patios, but below the level of the garden. First floor have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piquet47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Lovely hotel located in the middle of Tuscany country. It was high standard and not that expensive. The room was clean & the staff nice. The swimming pool is located away from the hotel, via a small path behind and was really quiet!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

We spent a long time looking for a quiet good value hotel and chose this one after a prolonged search. We were not dissappointed. The reception staff are very helpful and pleasent and spoke very good English. The room was perfect for we wanted and very clean and comfortable and also had a balcony.The hotel is only a five minute drive to Lucca and ten minutes to the autostrada. There is a small pool to cool off in and a river path that takes you to Lucca within a short walk. The pool could do with a net to remove the insects. There is a good restaurant attached which has good food. I would 100% stay there again and would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roomforasmallone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Friendly and helpfull frontstaff. Management had decided to put a social area litterally 2 meters from our room Windows ; consequently noize kept us awake until 3AM despite our complients to the staff. Breakfast was ok but of the best quality

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank JakobLLucca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Our family of 4 stayed here for 4 nights as part of a Tuscany cycling trip. The staff were amazing, so helpful in dealing with our stolen bike. When we checked in, they gave us a room for three even though we were four but rectified it right away. The pool was a bit green as well, but it was cleaned the next day. The best thing was the restaurant....locals come here to eat, the food is exceptional and the price is better than anything you could find in touristynLucca (a 10 minute bike ride away along a beautiful river path).

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moser123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

First off, you'll need a car to get here.
I really liked this hotel because of its location. It's about a 10 minute drive from the centre of Lucca. The verdant open areas in front of the hotel give it a quiet, rustic effect. A single road passes-by it and if you live in a city like me, there will be times in the night when you'll ask yourself "Where in the world are you?"

The rooms are clean, as are the washrooms. The staff are very helpful.
Wifi is only available in the lobby, not in the rooms. The lobby is clean and was quiet when we were there but it was nice to interact with the other lodgers there.

I will definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amj_Singh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
5.9 mi away
Hotel Da Carlos
Hotel Da Carlos
#1 of 1 in Santa Maria del Giudice
181 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Cheli
Hotel Villa Cheli
#16 of 47 in Lucca
376 reviews
3.4 mi away
Giada Palace
Giada Palace
#25 of 47 in Lucca
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Best Western Grand Hotel Guinigi
2.6 mi away
Eurostars Toscana
Eurostars Toscana
#18 of 47 in Lucca
664 reviews
4.8 mi away
Villa Casanova Lucca
Villa Casanova Lucca
#1 of 1 in Balbano
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carignano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carignano

Address: Via di Sant'Alessio n 3680 | Localita Carignano, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 47 Hotels in Lucca
Price Range: $73 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carignano 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable three star hotel Hotel with 38 spacious bedrooms, air conditionig,family rooms for up to 5 persons, garden with childrens pool, ample parking, italian cuisine cooking school, typical local restaurant, pizzeria. vacation packages, 4 km from the center of lucca, 5 km from railway or expressway ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Carignano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carignano Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing