We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“10 Days in Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Relais La Cappella

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Relais La Cappella
Via dei Tognetti fraz. La Cappella | Ponte del Giglio, 55060, Lucca, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 56 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“10 Days in Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Our stay in Relais La Cappella was truly delightful in every way. Our host Emiliano was the perfect host and a fabulous cook. Each room was gorgeous and the landscaping around the villa was beautiful. If a movie were made at Relais, it would be titled "Rooms with a View" because most of the rooms overlooked the beautiful mountains and valleys of Tuscany. I heartily recommend this lovely 400+ year old former monastery and hope that some day I will have the opportunity to return.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    16
    3
    2
    9
See reviews for
59
116
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The rooms and vistas were like something from a postcard or movie. The rooms were very comfortable and Emiliano was the perfect host. The drive up was challenging but we were able to negotiate the road just fine in 9 passenger vans.

The location was convenient for day trips to explore Tuscany. Lucca was an easy 15 minute drive and from there it was simple to access the Autostrada or catch trains to Florence and Milan.

Emiliano was everything you could ask for in a manager/owner. Each evening he greeted us with a wonderful meal prepared with ingredients fresh from his gardens and the local market. He was always available for questions and good advice but never imposed on our family time.

The local wines were a delight. If you go be sure to arrange a wine tasting at Valle del Sole which is just down the hill.

I highly recommend Relais La Cappella and hope to visit again!

Room Tip: The rooms in back had wonderful views and the evening breeze was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

One of the most amazing experiences I have ever had -quintessentially Tuscany- loved it-take me back! Emiliano is a wonderful host-gourmet food, beautiful views and house-send me back! Bedrooms with private bath and daily maid service-beautiful pool and gardens-definitely 5 star experience but also relaxed-wonderful fireplace and many books and games in the living room plus flat screen and wifi-ultimate Tuscany experience!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hanne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed at Relais for 9 nights during July 2014. We were a mix of 14 family and friends ranging in age from 10 up to 81, and Emiliano made our 9 nights __wonderful__.

Day trips to different parts of Tuscany, wandering Lucca, and looking forward each night to a homemade meal created from Emiliano's garden - or from the gardens/grounds from his neighbors. It was a fantastic time!

The road up to Relais is small, but we made it with 9-passenger vans each day - with the drive into Lucca or to the train station taking about 15 minutes.

I would highly recommend Relais La Cappella and I do look forward to returning!

Room Tip: There are single rooms, a 1 bedroom apartment, and 2 2-bedroom apartments. All are quiet, nice, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank micriley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Emiliano, the young owner, deserves huge congratulations in creating such a beautiful tranquil place to stay in the hills north of lovely Lucca. We stayed 8 nights and were sad to leave. Our appartment was perfect with each room having terrific views over the Italian landscape. The house has been simply but classily renovated. Emiliano is a great cook, breakfast on the terrace each morning was very good, and on some nights he will prepare a Tuscan feast which is definitely worth booking. We had two delicious dinners during our stay. Note that he doesn't cook every night. It's a great location for visiting Northern Tuscany, and we were easily in reach of a day out exploring the Cinque Terre, Viareggio for some top beach action, and Florence for dinner, Days in between were lazy spent round the pool soaking up the sun and then a short drive into Lucca, a fabulously untouristy city with great atmosphere, restaurants and shopping. A really fabulous holiday and Relais La Cappella is to be highly recommended if you want peace and relaxation in comfortable and stylish surroundings, fabulous views, great food and gentle hospitality.

Room Tip: The appartment for two people has windows in every room that overlook the valley and surrounding hil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laxfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

After leaving the walls of Lucca in our rear view mirror we navigated the switchback road leading to Relais la Capella. Breathtaking view after view greeted us on our 3 km sojourn. We were met by Emiliano our host who took my wife and I on a guided tour of his establishment. After bringing up our luggage we quickly changed into bathing suits and headed to the pool. Emiliano was right behind us with a bottle of Tuscna wine. After our swim we headed for the local supermarket for bread, cheese, pasta and pesto as we had a full kitchen. Falling asleep was easy with the cool night air caressing our tired bodies. In the morning we were greeted with a sumptuous breakfast of local and organic produce that held us late into the afternoon. As my wife and I have spent a month each of the last 5 years traveling through Europe and staying at over 30 heels booked through TA's advices, we can unequivocally say that Relais la Cappella is our heaven on earth and are planning to return.

Room Tip: Go for apartment 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tenpro1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell, Montana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Be prepared for a beautiful and unique experience a few minutes from Lucca up a winding road through vineyards and rolling hills. Obviously you will need a car. This property was a monastery but is now a fun and relaxing accommodation with Emiliano as your host. We arrived late and Emiliano met us and showed us to our rooms. The next morning our family of six met outside on the patio for breakfast (included in the price) which was far beyond our expectations. Emiliano kept offering more food and cappuccinos. Emiliano offered to prepare dinner for us (not included in the price) if we notified him by 3 PM. We took him up on dinner and were extremely happy we did. He is a great chef and the meal was outstanding and well worth the price. He uses many items out of his garden both fresh and organic. The dinner included the best gnocchi any of us had ever eaten!. Emiliano is a very hard working guy and really wants to please and enjoys seeing his guests happy. The swimming pool was fun with a beautiful view even though it was a bit chilly. What a wonderful experience! We hope to stay here again soon!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MontanaBelievers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
6.2 mi away
Villa La Principessa
Villa La Principessa
#14 of 56 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 309 reviews
6.8 mi away
Albergo Villa Marta
Albergo Villa Marta
#8 of 56 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 554 reviews
4.4 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#7 of 56 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Cheli
Hotel Villa Cheli
#18 of 56 in Lucca
4.0 of 5 stars 242 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#4 of 56 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 903 reviews
3.9 mi away
Alla Corte Degli Angeli
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais La Cappella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais La Cappella

Property: Relais La Cappella
Address: Via dei Tognetti fraz. La Cappella | Ponte del Giglio, 55060, Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 56 Hotels in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Relais La Cappella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing