We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a great place, but...”
Review of Villa Romantica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Romantica
Ranked #33 of 173 Lucca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2013

we slept in possibly the squeakiest bed I have ever encountered, not exactly ideal when on your honeymoon, as we were! The family, cat & breakfast buffet were all very lovely though. Be aware that the hotel is virtually next door to the town football stadium and they played/trained all 3 nights we were there until pretty late.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Dominy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (240)
There are newer reviews for Villa Romantica
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 240 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

We had a 4 night stay at villa Romantica and it was a great experience. This was a lovely place to stay, with very friendly and welcoming owners. The room was clean, the breakfast great, the location excellent and the surrounds tranquil. There was a pool too, but it was a bit cool for a swim.
This villa was outside the walled old city of Lucca, but it was only a short walk into the city, where the shopping was great ,the food unbelievable and the experience wonderful.
There was a laundromat down the road, also great pizzerias and Icecream shops.
You could use the bikes from villa romantica to cycle around, which made the sore feet happy and got to see more. The owners were very friendly and would try to accommodate any request, they even organized a driver for us to go to a winery for a great experience of wine & food in Tuscany
If you want somewhere to stay that is clean, friendly, positioned well and quiet( except for the occasional ambulance siren) then this is the place for you.
Thank you for a memorable time in Lucca
The Australian girls, Kris & Bron

Room Tip: Our room was a twin room at the very top of the stairs, so if your elderly you need to ask for a roo...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

we are just back home after a weeks hoklidays in Tuscany. We finished our trip with three days in lucca and stayed in the Villa Romantica. What a lovely experience we had!! Beautiful house just outside the walls of the historical town a five minutes walk to all the tourist attractions.Bycicles are available free of charge and we availed of them for a day and cycled the walls it was great fun! Each day we had a very good breakfast and the family could not do eneough to help.They even had a small relaxation room with a sauna. We took their advice on restaurants and all were excellent. We would certainly stay here again and would recommend the villa to anyone. Well done to all the family.

Room Tip: All rooms were quiet and very clean with lovely bathroom.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeirdreSkerries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in September. Arrived on the evening of the Volto Santo procession, the helpful host gave us pointers on where and when to best see this annual event. The b&b is a lovely tranquil spot, with quiet gardens, sitting areas by the pool where the house cat would spend time with us, and a beautiful charming interior. The breakfasts were very nice in the morning, we enjoyed the stained glass windows as we had our coffees. One morning we did the biking around the walls, and another we went to Barga, very nice in the mountains. We would love to stay here again, thank you for the hospitality

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freddyVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Our party of 4 stayed in Villa Romantica the end of August in our way to Pisa. We stayed 3 days but I which we would have stayed longer. Just at a short walk from the old city Villa Romantica is a B&B with a perfect location The rooms are nice, big and spotless and the owners are friendly and made us feel very welcome. The owner recommended several restaurants in the old city which we tried Giglio and was excellent.
The hotel has a pool and has nice surroundings perfect for relaxing or reading a book.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vira f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We went to the Villa Romantica for the second time on our way to Siena and were again delighted. The rooms are very nice and the position of this elegant house is perfect! The owner recommended very good restaurants and also helped us for our visit to Florence. Lucca is definitely worth a stop!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pascal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Recently stayed at the villa romantica lucca. An excellent B&B .a very convenient location and a short walk to the the famous wall , a limited but good breakfast , a very small cold swimming pool. Italy is, i find a very noisy country ,however this hotel location at a cross roads ,opposite a football stadium and near a busy hospital (ambulance sirens v often) add to this. Room 6 is best with a seperate sitting room and a large balcony . very good friendly service.

Room Tip: room 6 which is called a suite is the best ,with large balcony
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 50thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
3.2 mi away
Villa La Principessa
Villa La Principessa
#13 of 47 in Lucca
383 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel San Marco
Hotel San Marco
#7 of 47 in Lucca
438 reviews
0.5 mi away
Giada Palace
Giada Palace
#25 of 47 in Lucca
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#8 of 47 in Lucca
467 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Agnese B&B
Villa Agnese B&B
#17 of 173 in Lucca
176 reviews
1.7 mi away
Lucca in Azzurro
Lucca in Azzurro
#10 of 173 in Lucca
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Romantica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Romantica

Address: Via Nicola Barbantini 246 | Via I. Campioni, 19, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Lucca
Price Range: $110 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Villa Romantica 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Romantica is located in an Art Nouveau building near the ancient walls in Lucca. All rooms have free Wi-Fi access, an LCD TV, and DVD player. The medieval centre is a 5-minute walk away from Villa Romantica. Surrounded by beautiful gardens, this family-run establishment has a friendly and welcoming atmosphere. Take one of the free bicycles to explore the town’s ancient architecture. Relax in the garden or swimming pool. The Romantica Villa features a small, luxury wellness centre complete with Turkish bath, aromatherapy and massage treatments. The quiet library has an extensive selection of books. Each of the guest rooms is bright and vibrant and most have a beautiful view of the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Villa Romantica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantica Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing