We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely family owned B & B”
Review of Villa Romantica

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Romantica
Ranked #30 of 176 Lucca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

A small, quiet, clean, family owned B & B outside the Walls of Lucca. Friendly staff, clean air conditioned rooms with TV and mini-bar, fresh bedding and towels every day, pool and hot-tub, rentable bicycles (would recommend cycling round the city Walls). Wide variety of hot and cold food for breakfast. Highly recommended for a couple or family with an older child.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 242 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2012

Set in its own gardens,complete with pool and hot tub, Villa Romantica is only 200m from the Lucca city walls. It is a really tranquil setting yet close enough to amble into the old town, eat, shop and drink.
It's rooms are well decorated, clean, spacious and have excellent air con.
Free wi-fi and an excellent breakfast top it off. It is a well run family establishment who could not have been more helpful in giving us advice during our stay. They even have free loan bikes so you can take round the city walls for a cool evening jaunt.
July is HOT, but if you need somewhere tranquil to write your next book or just escape...this is the place

Room Tip: We had a rear ground floor which is not an obvious choice, but as it was totally protected from dire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonBunston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

The thought of visiting Tuscany for the third time was overwhelming. We were watching a concert in one of the main squares, and we needed accommodation in Lucca. Having already been there a decade ago, we knew that getting into the old (fortified) part of the town was going to be difficult - especially since we were staying for 4 days. We also knew that we could have stayed somewhere in the countryside - the area abunds with these types of accommodation - but this time round we wanted to be as close as possible to the centre, and since we were visiting in July, we were looking for a pool too. Villa Romantica proved to be the perfect spot for this. Situated next to the Lucca stadium (not sure if it will be noisier when the football season starts) it is literally a 10 minute walk to inside the walls of the old town. This villa - very much in the style of a B+B you would find in the UK - has its own private parking. It has a very private outdoor garden, and the inside is very sweet. The cleanliness is impeccable, and the owners (family run, born and bred Lucchesi) are extremely friendly without being imposing. We had the suite above the entrance (which included a bedroom, a shower room and an additional living room), and the only thing which was not that great was the view. But who cares... we were only using it as a base, and we were certainly not planning to spend the entire days there - who would when you are in the middle of Tuscany? Breakfast is very good - nothing special - but honest and fresh, and more importantly always served with a smile. We made use of the pool, and we also enjoyed the hot tub. Honestly, this is a treasure and I will definitely be recommending it to all those who are planning to spend some time in this area.

Room Tip: The suite was extremely comfortable... and probable excellent for families with kids. However, I am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rambumica1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Stayed here for three nights and was blown away by the quality of the place. Rooms, breakfast, location, service all top class-faultless throughout. Family friendly.
Swimming pool, jacuzzi, lovely garden to sit out.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawrence W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I stayed at Villa Romantica with my parents last week for 6 nights and it is a lovely hotel, small and private. The owner (alfonso) and his family looked after us really well and nothing was too much trouble. On our first night after arriving late due to flight delay, the owner waited up for us to arrive and then told us where we could get something to eat near the hotel, it was so nice to have an ice cool beer!
Our room was nice and having our own bathroom was also great. We had planned and pre- booked two days of travelling, one day to see the Vatican and another day to go to Venice. As our train for both days was before breakfast time of 8am, the staff made us up a lovely breakfast tray and supplied a travel kettle too so that was really very nice to have in our room.
The pool was lovely, small but good enough to have swims and the hot tub was gorgeous.
The only thing we could think of to improve the hotel would be to have a kettle and tea / coffee in the room. there is a fridge / bar in each room but we were always wishing for a cup of tea on our return after our long day trips out.
The breakfast was a buffet and boiled eggs were cooked on your arrival if you wanted them, otherwise fresh bread, croissants, cereal and ham, cheese was prepared.
The town centre for shopping etc is about 20 minutes walk from the hotel and the hotel to the city walls is about 10 minutes. The train station is about 20 - 25 minutes walk too and trains go all over italy but some trains require you to change at florence or pisa if you are heading to Rome / venice like we did. We also use the free bikes to ride into town but was little scary going through streets with tourist / locals walking too.
I would recommend this hotel to friends and family, i don't think we would have been so well looked after in a larger hotel.
Thank you to all at Villa romantica for a lovely holiday!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki091980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

I stayed in Villa Romantica last month with my friend. We had the suite with the balcony. Our room was gorgeous, cleaned everyday and fresh towels! The family running the hotel could not have been any nicer and were very helpful. The hotel give you free use of the bikes which are great for travelling in and around Lucca. The hotels location makes it easy to get into the centre and is also close to the bus & train station making it a great base for seeing more of Tuscany. 

The pool was clean and very quiet which made it a great place to recharge and chill on the days we had nothing planned.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of staying in Lucca.

 

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nickiedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Villa Romantica is a wonderfull little hotel/ b&b. We stayed for a few nights and were really charmed. It's a family driven business and the owners are truly sweet, service minded and professional. For us, it was the perfect spot to stay in Lucca. A few minutes walk from the wall, quiet and very central. Fast and free wifi, clean and spatious rooms, nice bathroom and lovely breakfeast included. Free use of bicyckles was a plus as well ( a very convenient form of transport in Lucca!)
Villa Romantica is highly recommended.

M&M - Oslo

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.6 mi away
A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca
3.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Cheli
Hotel Villa Cheli
#16 of 47 in Lucca
377 reviews
0.6 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#7 of 47 in Lucca
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa Agnese B&B
Villa Agnese B&B
#19 of 176 in Lucca
180 reviews
0.8 mi away
B&B L'Antica Bifore
B&B L'Antica Bifore
#5 of 176 in Lucca
347 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Alexandra
Villa Alexandra
#2 of 176 in Lucca
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Romantica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Romantica

Address: Via Nicola Barbantini 246 | Via I. Campioni, 19, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Lucca
Price Range: $87 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Villa Romantica 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Romantica is located in an Art Nouveau building near the ancient walls in Lucca. All rooms have free Wi-Fi access, an LCD TV, and DVD player. The medieval centre is a 5-minute walk away from Villa Romantica. Surrounded by beautiful gardens, this family-run establishment has a friendly and welcoming atmosphere. Take one of the free bicycles to explore the town’s ancient architecture. The Romantica Villa features a small, luxury wellness centre complete with Turkish bath, aromatherapy and massage treatments. The quiet library has an extensive selection of books. Each of the guest rooms is bright and vibrant and most have a beautiful view of the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Villa Romantica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantica Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing