We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay in Lucca”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bed & Breakfast La Romea
Ranked #12 of 177 Lucca B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We absolutely loved staying with Giulio and Gaia, and meeting their adorable, soccer-playing son. Their villa is from the 14th century, and has enormous ceilings and real character. You enter it off a quiet street. I always felt like a secret, insider local every time I put the key into the big lock! It is around the corner from a restaurant. The breakfast La Romea puts out is fabulous, the best we had on our whole Italian trip. They had chilled egg frittata, muffins, cheeses, milk, juice, yogurt, breads, and they would cook you whatever eggs you wanted. Gaia's mom cooks and serves, and she is delightful. Our family of 5 had two rooms. Off the main room used for sitting and breakfast, there are two hallways. We were down one small hallway (only 3 rooms total on this hallway) and had two of the large rooms. The smooth, old wood of the doors is a memory that lingers with me! It was a privilege to stay in such a historical place. Giulio works very hard and sometimes seems a little frazzled, but he is very warm and extremely helpful in whatever you need to do or find. We took a cab from the train station and I would recommend this, as it would have been hard to find, I think. Also don't miss the antiques market that lines the streets of Lucca on certain days!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClareN515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 314 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

Starting with the great welcome by Giulio and Gaia, the owners, la Romea is a hit across the board. Homey and very comfortable, all of la Romea's rooms are generously proportioned and baths are updated. Each room seems to have something special as well.....scraps of medieval fresco or a painted ceiling. Pleasant sitting room. Good (enough for Tuscan summer) AC that should keep North Americans happy. All in the center of charming Lucca. But can't say enough about Giulio and family, who raised the visit from good to great. Definitely will return.

Room Tip: All rooms are good so no Ned to fret ver your choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RANDALL D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

My family of four just spent a night at la romea and couldn't have been happier. Its a handsome old house that they have renovated beautifully and they were the ideal hosts, providing great recommendations and were extremely helpful, friendly and relaxed. I'd highly recommend la romea to anyone and hope to return for longer.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PollyB550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Very atmospheric B&B located deep in the old city section of Lucca. Housed on the 3rd floor of a 14th century building and presided over by an extremely warm and accommodating couple. Individually decorated rooms, internet access, and lovely breakfast buffet, convenient location to all restaurants, shops and historic sites. Difficult to find, but well worth the effort. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This B&B is very easy to find from the train. It’s about a 20 minute walk. Just make sure you turn the right way out of the train station. Very nice welcome. They were very helpful on directions and making dinner reservations. Our room was fabulous. It was the largest room of our entire trip. It was nice to have a roomy bathroom and bedroom. Our train left before breakfast so I can’t tell you much about that. I would definitely stay here again and you should consider as well. Lucca was actually one of my favorite places in our two week European vacation.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sioux20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Nice b&b in Lucca. Giulio and Gaia are excellent hosts and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. The location is excellent and there is a great pizza place right downstairs. The breakfast was delicious and lovely.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Payam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We are just finishing a week at La Romea. Our hosts are just charming and very helpful. They seem truly glad to have us stay with them. Clearly they make everyone feel that way. Our room is very comfortable, the bed firm but not too. Despite the fact that this is a fourteenth century building everything is immaculate. I highly recommend a stay at La Romea. And of course, Lucca is facinating.

Room Tip: Our room is the Rosso and looks out on the narrow street which is a great place for people watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#3 of 48 in Lucca
1,148 reviews
0.2 mi away
A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca
0.1 mi away
Guest Apartment Margherita B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Boheme
La Boheme
#8 of 177 in Lucca
252 reviews
0.3 mi away
Il Seminario Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
B&B L'Antica Bifore
B&B L'Antica Bifore
#6 of 177 in Lucca
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed & Breakfast La Romea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast La Romea

Address: Vicolo delle Ventaglie 2, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Lucca
Price Range: $103 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bed and Breakfast La Romea is a typical exemple of historic residence, located on the first floor of a late XIVth century palace in Via Sant'Andrea, a short walk fron the Guinigi Tower. Guests will be welcome in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere at the hart of the medieval town. The spacious living room gives room for your private meetings and a wonderful breakfast. We can organize Baby sitting as well as Dog sitting, please ask the reception. We can organize for transportation to and from the two major airports of Pisa and Firenze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bed & Breakfast La Romea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed & Breakfast La Romea Hotel Lucca
Bed And Breakfast La Romea

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing