We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personal tour”
Review of Domus Romana

Domus Romana
Ranked #31 of 114 things to do in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Personal tour”
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

This is quite a small museum, but worth seeing as it teaches you about the history of Lucca and the service is fantastic. We were the only ones there at the time and the woman there took us to watch a short film, then apologised for her (fantastic) English before give us a tour all to us, explaining about the layout of the Roman town and the artefacts on show. If you've got half an hour, pop in before heading to see where the old Roman amphitheatre was at Piazza Anfiteatro.

Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    31
    11
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A highlight of our Lucca trip”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I've never written a review on Tripadvisor before but after visiting Domus Romana, Lucca today I felt compelled to as I was so impressed the service we received there.

My mother and I popped in on a rather rainy day in September and were greeted by a lovely woman called Simone, we paid the small price of 3 Euros to watch an 8 minute documentary that contextualized the museum and the excavation. After the video Simone spent over an hour talking us through the excavation site, her English was brilliant and she was able to answer all of our questions.

If we had not had Simone doing such a fantastic job of bringing the history to life then I think that the small Museum would be less interesting and text-heavy. Therefore, I would suggest popping in before your visit to see if this could be arranged. I understand that another lady who works with Simone speaks very good French so this my suit your needs better.

We really enjoyed the Museum and 3 Euros was an incredible price to pay for over an hour and a guided tour that really brought the Roman city to life.

(Alice, London, UK)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Alice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domus Romana L, Direttore at Domus Romana, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Hello Alice! I remember very well about you ,and also your mother.Thanks so much for your review is important for us to continue. Greetings.Simona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“could be interesting”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The main thing this very small archaeological site is lacking is trained personnel. There were two people working there (and no one else visiting) when we went. One did not even attempt to speak English. The other one, in his early twenties, warned us that his English was "terrible", then went on to basically recite incomprehensibly what was written on the descriptions. He was unable to answer any questions. When he was done, he went back to texting and seemed annoyed when we returned to ask him a question. When we said goodbye, he replied without looking up from his phone. Luckily it costs only 3 euros.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank deepfreezeresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domus Romana L, Direttore at Domus Romana, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Google Translation
Siamo spiacenti che l'accoglienza non sia stata di Vostro gradimento. Vogliamo sottolineare che la Domus mette a disposizione i suoi spazi per lo stage riservato ai ragazzi studenti, provenienti dal settore turistico. Siamo felici di ospitare questi giovani dando loro la possibilità di fare esperienza direttamente nel campo lavorativo, fiduciosi di un loro miglioramento. Speriamo di poter accoglierVi nuovamente con una professionalità adeguata. Le vostre critiche sono un incentivo a migliorare. Grazie. La Direzione
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not much to see here”
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

A few rooms with some remains of the foundation of a Roman domus. No objects. Lots of text, not much to see. Thinknof something else.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravellingVille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parma
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“AHAHAHA. THIS IS A TRICK”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Roman what? this is a clear fake, the cellars of a renaissance baroque palace transformed into a Roman house, little parts of walls in a constant presence of cement. Good to be a restaurant and we would not miss it. As a museum, it really lacks everything. Especially from the Roman point of view. Bitterly disappointing. English on leaflets is almost funny.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank daniel peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domus Romana L, Direttore at Domus Romana, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Google Translation
Vogliamo sottolineare che i reperti storici visibili nel sito archeologico della Domus Romana di Lucca sono stati portati alla luce sotto la stretta sorveglianza della Sovrintendenza dei Beni Archeologici della regione Toscana che gli ha considerati di notevole valore e interesse storico per la città di Lucca.
Ad oggi, nel Museo della Domus Romana Lucca, non è invece possibile vedere gli oggetti storici rinvenuti durante gli scavi, perchè ci sono dei tempi burocratici dettati da leggi nazionali che ancora non ci consentono di esporli, ecco perchè attualmente sono state fatte delle riproduzioni dei suddetti oggetti per potere dare al visitatore l'opportunità di capire l'importanza del ritrovamento.
Pertanto riteniamo inopportuno il commento di questo visitatore, che senza dubbio non è documentato sulle leggi italiane. Inoltre , in un altra recessione si è permesso di paragonare” Piazza anfiteatro di Lucca ad un vecchia signora abbandonata alla fermata dell’autobus” quando migliaia di visitatori rimangono affascinati dalle caratteristiche di questa piazza.
Pertanto chiediamo di ben voler accettare la nostra richiesta consentendoci di continuare a promuovere il nostro sito e far conoscere Lucca Romana a visitatori maggiormente interessati alla storia.
Riteniamo che questa nostra puntualizzazione possa essere utile chiarimento anche alla recensione del 26 agosto 2012 “D'effetto, ma poca sostanza.”
Certi di un vostro consenso Vi ringraziamo. La Direzione.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Domus Romana also viewed

 
Lucca, Province of Lucca
Lucca, Province of Lucca
 

Been to Domus Romana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing