We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most classy and lovely hosts in west Tuscany” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Alessandra

Villa Alessandra
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lucca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa Alessandra
Save
You added Villa Alessandra to your Saves list
Ranked #31 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Lucca
Villars sur Ollon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The most classy and lovely hosts in west Tuscany”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2010

We stayed in Villa Alessandra more than once, lately in april last year and keep finding this place absolutely lovely. In the midst of a typical Tuscan/Lucca countryside, far enough from the city not to be disburted by noises or pollution, yet close enough to be in the center of Lucca in roughly 15 minutes.

The old classy and aristocratic house is charming and beautifully decorated, exceptionnally well kept, and the rooms are spacious, extremely comfortable, each with its own decoration style,

One is welcomed by the most pleasant hosts. Of course they are hosts, not valets ( as pretended by one of the reviewers...) and you cannot ask a gentleman in his early seventies to carry your bags. They are very culturred people, know the countryside and Lucca very well and will guide you with intelligent and acute advice.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    1
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
3
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

My fiancee and I stayed in Villa Alessandra for 4 nights earlier this month. The Villa is in a beautiful location. The gardens are well preserved and the rooms are big and confortable. There is a pool, although it's quite small. What this place lacks is a host with good manners and willing to help and welcome his guesses. He and his wife make the atmosphere rather hostile. We asked him few questions regarding resturants, bicicles and other practicalities. He always treated us as if we were suggesting or asking the most stupid questions. Unpolite, unfriendly and unable to liase with its guesses professionaly.
We chose this place because it was recommended in Alastair Sawday's book and sounded great. The guide said the place has two bikes guesses could use. It did not. Our host didn't help us with this either.
As beautiful as this place is, I would not go back unless I know the host has changed.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GordiBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torino
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

An enchanted place in the hills of Lucca, close to the city centre.
A car is required
Very large baths and showers, elegantly decorated rooms : a touch of class
A warm welcome to match the aristocratic atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gvgv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2008

We really enjoyed our time at this B&B, particularly the beautiful Tuscany views, the attractive and air-conditioned rooms, and the hearty breakfast. The hosts were friendly and generally helpful. The pool was also fantastic during the hot August weather!

  • Liked — Beautiful villa and rooms, with views over Lucca. Delicious breakfast
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Rick_G_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2008

Stayed at this villa earlier this month. The location and villa are very nice but the owner, well to say that he was less then welcoming is an understatement. He didn't even welcome us to the house or offer to carry the bags....
While staying there for a number of nights, he merely grunted at us if we met him in the hall and was not forthcoming with any information on the area, restaurants, things to do etc...Have to say I was disappoined by it as the place was recommended in Alastair Sawday's book and from his description it sounded lovely.
It is also quite a bit out of Lucca so you definately need a car!!

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank j0sie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2003

location a little out of the way, about 7 minutes from the wall in Lucca. Restaurants required a car. The rooms were large and the bathroom very spacious. The views were awesome. The host however was less than warm and did not even offer to help us with our luggage

Helpful?
4 Thank wonderwips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Volpi
Hotel Villa Volpi
#28 of 56 in Lucca
4.0 of 5 stars 203 reviews
0.8 mi away
Relais La Cappella
Relais La Cappella
#12 of 56 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 235 reviews
1.7 mi away
Al Podere di Rosa
Al Podere di Rosa
#10 of 56 in Lucca
5.0 of 5 stars 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Villa Alexandra
Villa Alexandra
#5 of 158 in Lucca
5.0 of 5 stars 85 reviews
3.6 mi away
Il Seminario Bed & Breakfast
8.0 mi away
Hotel Da Carlos
Hotel Da Carlos
#1 of 1 in Santa Maria del Giudice
4.5 of 5 stars 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Alessandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Alessandra

Property: Villa Alessandra
Address: Via Arsine 1100/b, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 67 Specialty Lodging in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Alessandra is a noble country mansion built on the hill of Lucca in the middle of the XVIII° century (1760).Surrounded by vineyards and olive-groves edging its gardens rich of flowers and mimosa trees Far only few minutes from the Old City center unites the advantages of a modern town with the charm of the old times spirit It is available for weekly rentals (full Villa) or daily B&B (rooms only)or daily B&B (rooms only). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing