We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$120
View deal
Expedia.com
$108
View deal
Priceline
$127
View deal
Hotels.com$108
eDreams$120
Travelocity$108
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (439)
Filter reviews
439 results
Traveler rating
249
131
37
17
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
249
131
37
17
5
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 439 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2017

Lovely old historic building with lots of comfortable places to relax, enjoy a drink or chat with other residents. The staff were very helpful. We went to attend the Rolling Stones concert and prior to leaving England they hotel emailed us to know if we wanted to book on to a bus they had arranged because many roads were closed and parking limited in Lucca. Would definitely return there when visiting the area again

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrismQ7949BX
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
principessalucca, Direttore at Villa La Principessa, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2017

Dear chrismQ7949X
how can we thank you for the wonderful opinion that you expressed about Villa La Principessa?
You kindly noted all our attention to satisfied our guests and Your review makes us very happy!!
We are waiting for your next visit with great pleaure
Warm regards
Ivan Cristofori
Direttore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2017

beautiful old romantic hotel in an old park with pool 4 km outside of Lucca, high room height, friendly staff, average breakfast, the only negative impression: plastic cups in the bathroom and minibar.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ulrike_m_punkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
principessalucca, Direttore at Villa La Principessa, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2017

Dear ulrike_m_puntk
we would like to thank you for your positive opinion about Villa La Principessa.
We will take note of your advice about the breakfast and the plastic cups in the bathroom and minibar.
We hope to see you again during your next visit in Lucca
Warm Regards
Ivan Cristofori
Direttore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2017

It been 2 years since we last stayed here. Its like putting on your favourite pair of slippers.
Staff excellent, rooms great, dinner was tremendous, this is one of those iconic hotels that just does every thing right.
Handy for Lucca, 10 minute drive, good fro Pisa airport about 30 minute drive, and some tremendous eating places near by.
It wont be 2 years till we next come.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 826David
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
principessalucca, Direttore at Villa La Principessa, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2017

Dear 826David,

thank you for your good comment about our hotel , the services we offered to our guests and nice words about the attention of our staff.
We are looking to welcoming you for your next visit in Lucca
Kind regards
Ivan Cristofori
Direttore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2017 via mobile

A great place, where you feel very cosy as it would be your own castle, the garden and the swimming pool are nice and quiet. It is close to Lucca city center, aprox 10 min by car, the staff very friendly, breakfast served on the terrace outside very nice! There is a really beautiful castle which i suggest to be visited, it is the Villa Reale with its wonderful gardens and all the surroundings which are absolutely gorgeous! You can also visit Pisa, it's aprox 1 hour by car! Really nice experience at this Hotel!

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Vero_gro
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
principessalucca, Direttore at Villa La Principessa, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2017

Dear Vero_gro,

Thank you for writing your very beautiful review and to let us know that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay at Villa La Principessa.

It will be a pleasure to see you again and to welcome you with all our attention and care during next visit in Lucca
Ivan Cristofori
Direttore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2017

We stayed here because our conference was held at this hotel. Had we been visiting Lucca on our own, we would have preferred to stay inside the city walls, closer to sights and multiple dining options. When hot, the road to town seemed too far to walk and traffic was a safety concern for us as pedestrians. We did walk to a bus stop and took #53 into town for 2 euro. We caught cabs at the 3 main taxi stands in Lucca (train station, edge of city wall and main square) and that worked well except were few on Sundays. Fares to Lucca were around 15 euros depending on exact location. We also used a great car service called mydriver, from the Pisa airport. Mosquitoes abound in June in Tuscany, but the hotel can't control that. Despite repellent, we were bitten a lot. The hotel has a lot of vegetation and is lower in the valley and seemed to have many more mosquitoes than in Lucca, or at the hotel on the hill next door (Villa Cheli). The rooms were adequate, not luxurious. Decor was grandmotherly. Large keys are left with the front desk when you go. The AC kept our room nice and cool. Food was well prepared with fresh ingredients and tasted great. Service times are set and reservations for dinner are needed because it can fill up. Housekeeping was up early and frequently made up our room while we were down at breakfast - that was impressive. The folks working there were nice and doing their best. They seemed to be working a lot doing multiple jobs. You may have to look around to find someone to pour a drink in the bar. I should state that the conference demands and full occupancy probably contributed to that. The pool was refreshing and clean, but I had trouble figuring out the poolside service. They didn't staff a little old bar next to it and the nearest restroom was inside the hotel. People had to go find someone inside to bring out refreshments. Quietly reading books and drinking seemed to be the main activity here.

Room tip: 123 looked toward the hills and pool
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank CapricornSister
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews