We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Palazzo in quiet area close to Lucca”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa La Principessa
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2014

A quiet old romantic Palazzo in a beautiful park, 10 min. away from Lucca Center.
The rooms are comfortable and clean.
Pool area is relaxing. Restaurant food is very good at reasonable prices. Romantic Athmosphere, especially when sitting outside.

Room Tip: Very nice old Palazzo in a beautiful park. Pool area is very relaxing after Tuscany sightseeing. Rom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Huckemuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
principessalucca, Direttore at Villa La Principessa, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2015

Dear Huckemuck,

Thanks for your review and for the kind words about the Villa and our restaurant. We wait you and your family for a new stay in Lucca.

Ivan Cristofori
Direttore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (388)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 388 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2014

Quiet hotel with large, clean rooms. A a green oasis with a wonderful garden near Lucca.
The pool is large and the whole setup quite relaxing.
Only negative point: Staff is sometimes difficult to catch e.g. for a dring at the pool or at the bar.
Overall very pleasant experience. I would book there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank femto2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
principessalucca, Direttore at Villa La Principessa, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2015

Dear Modrophen,
Thank you for your words that we need to improve our service. The pool has constant a lifeguard, so as to ensure safety and possibility to contact our staff for a drink.
Thank You.
Ivan Cristofori
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We first discovered Villa La Principessa three years ago when my wife and I were scouting wedding locations in the Lucca area, and fell in love with it immediately. From the outside it's a stunning historic villa amid glorious green gardens, and inside it's a trendy mix of vintage furniture, modern art, and tastefully clashing patterns.
Although we didn't hold the ceremony itself there, the main wedding party filled the hotel in the summer of 2012. My wife and I stayed in the main balcony suite, a large comfortable room with lounge space, bedroom, huge bathroom, and of course the exquisite balcony that overlooks the hotel's front door.
The majority of our time at the hotel was spent around the swimming pool, which is kept spotless, and is endowed with the most breathtaking views of the neighbouring hills. Our large party commandeered the area, and were serviced perfectly by the extra helpful and polite staff, whose English was faultless.
The overall treatment and unique location combined to make Villa La Principessa an unforgettable experience, and thus we have subsequently returned twice. Our visit last weekend was to celebrate our 2nd anniversary, and it did not disappoint.
Noting other comments on this site, I just wanted to share my thoughts. Re: location, I find the seclusion of the hotel is what makes it so serene. It's far from the motorway, and easily accessible to/from Lucca itself, so offers great isolation and privacy, which is surely one of the reasons you'd stay at this grand villa. That said, yes, if you don't have a car the cost of taxis can add up. The hotel will arrange these for you (very quick and on time), but beware of Lucca's distinct lack of taxis after midnight - best to prearrange pick-up or take the number of a friendly cabbie!
With regards to someone saying that this place is "lacking atmosphere", I would say that depends on who you are traveling with. The staff are unobtrusive, quiet, and leave you to enjoy your stay. Although that means that the bar is often unmanned, they are quick to serve you once requested. The "atmosphere", therefore, is surely the beauty of the surroundings, the blissful moments of peace enjoyed by the pool, and the indulgence of sharing the company of your traveling companion(s).
Once again arriving home and immediately wish we were still in Lucca, we will definitely be returning to Villa La Principessa.

Room Tip: Request a room in the main villa for that authentic experience. Get in early to request the balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Modrophenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
principessalucca, Direttore at Villa La Principessa, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2015

Thank you!!!!
Ivan Cristofori
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Very grand looking hotel from outside - looks like it has been a large private home in the past but apparently that was really quite some time ago and it has been used as a hotel for many many years. Our room was very nice - it did have loud fabric wallpaper which matched the curtains and the bedcover- perhaps a florenze design? pink and turquoise - the built-in wardrobe doors were also covered with this fabric so the whole room and its contents were almost indistinguishable - quite an optical feet! There was a lovely view to the pool - parking was free - the breakfast was absolutely ok - as was the dinner - but for the grandness of the place I did expect a little bit more foodwise - the 4 star we had stayed in in Oristano at half the price for example had just as good a breakfast and better coffee! As for the dinner - the flavours didn't quite hit the mark and the local restaurants we had eaten in in Stintino and Oristano were far better. However if its grandness you want this would certainly tick the box although the cushions on the old couches in the salon are a bit worn and lumpy but that's all part of its charm and authenticity.

Room Tip: We had a lovely room facing the pool - think 2nd floor - cant remember
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scottish-German
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
principessalucca, Direttore at Villa La Principessa, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

We thank you very much for the visit and for your nice comment.
We do our best to offer a wonderful stay at Villa La Principessa taking care of the relax, of the privacy and of the food and suggesting nice place to enjoy and discover Tuscany at its best.

We look forward to welcoming you once again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

we stayed at La Principessa for 3 nights during the Lucca Comics and Fair and well, we loved it. The room was large and lovely, the staff was really friendly and helpful, the surroundings are quiet : a perfect location after a long day taking pictures. We would definitely recommend this classy hotel !

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toumy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
principessalucca, Direttore at Villa La Principessa, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

We thank you very much for the visit and for your very nice comment.
We do our best to offer a wonderful stay at Villa La Principessa taking care of the relax, of the privacy and of the food and suggesting nice place to enjoy and discover Tuscany at its best.

We look forward to welcoming you once again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We found this place to be disappointing. The hotel exterior and grounds are beautiful. However, the property is located in a commercial/industrial area on the other side of the A11 autostrada from Lucca, an 8-10 minute drive from the city walls, depending on lights and traffic. The interior is decorated in a very haphazard way, with mismatched colors, and jarring modern art on the walls. The room was OK but nothing special. The breakfast was excellent, although the breakfast attendant was surly. They charge Euro 10/ day for wi-fi, which is evil. One rainy afternoon we went to the lounge to read. We quickly realized that the sound system was playing the same song over and over - not the same CD or tape loop, but the same song. The staff is apparently too brain dead to know or care. Finally, when I checked out I discovered to my surprise that the hotel had charged my credit card about two weeks before I arrived for the total cost of the stay. Lucca was one of our favorite places and we hope to return, but we will not stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndoverDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
principessalucca, Direttore at Villa La Principessa, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

We are happy you enjoyed the exterior of the hotel, the grounds, the room and breakfast and you are completely right when you say that Villa La Principessa is located "an 8-10 minute drive from the city walls, depending on lights and traffic” but it is NOT located in a commercial/industrial area on the other side of the A11 autostrada from Lucca!

The villa is 4 kms far from the exit of the motorway but located in the countryside and it is surrounded by a park with high ancient trees, in the middle of a residential area full of old private villas and hills are all around.

For what the charge of your room concerns we would like to point out that we just applied the policy of the reservation: if you buy on the web a “not refundable” rate to save on the price you have to know that the policy is to pay at the time of booking and not at the check-out: wi-fi is for 24 hours connection and not per day…

Enjoy your next vacation to Lucca.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

On arrival the desk staff were polite and helpful. We were early but the receptionist checked to see if our room was ready and it was so we were able to unpack and go and explore.The restaurant was closed for the first two days we were there so again the receptionist recommended other places to eat and booked it for us.The breakfast was excellent with a great selection of things to eat including eggs and bacon! A change after continental all the time.We went to eat in the dining room when it was open,only one other table was occupied ,the menu was expensive and limited and the wine very expensive. It wasn't the best meal we had had by any means so we went back to the local restaurant,where the locals go, the next night for more atmosphere! But the rooms are large with a very comfortable bed. Huge lovely thick towels and spotless bathrooms.I just wouldn't bother to dine there.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
principessalucca, Direttore at Villa La Principessa, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

We are so happy you enjoyed Villa la Principessa with its palace, grounds, the room and breakfast and the all staff thanks you very much for the nice comment.

We look forward to welcoming you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.7 mi away
Albergo Villa Marta
Albergo Villa Marta
#4 of 47 in Lucca
651 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Cheli
Hotel Villa Cheli
#18 of 47 in Lucca
367 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#3 of 47 in Lucca
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#7 of 47 in Lucca
948 reviews
2.5 mi away
San Luca Palace Hotel
0.2 mi away
Resort Dei Limoni
Resort Dei Limoni
#31 of 47 in Lucca
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa La Principessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa La Principessa

Address: Via Nuova Per Pisa 1616/G, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Lucca
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
#12 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
Price Range: $93 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa La Principessa 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa La Principessa is an elegant hotel with private park and swimming pool, surrounded by the hills around Lucca. All rooms are air-conditioned and bright.The historic centre of Lucca is 3 km from Villa La Principessa, formerly a noble residence.La Principessa's restaurant serves traditional recipes and Tuscan wines.The sun terrace and the garden offer panoramic views of the countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa La Principessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa La Principessa Hotel Lucca
Hotel La Principessa
La Principessa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing