We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (412)
Filter reviews
412 results
Traveler rating
236
122
36
13
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
236
122
36
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely evening mealswimming pooloriginal charmpisa airportshort drivequiet hotelhelpful in every waygorgeous hotelminutes by carlovely poolexcellent breakfastvisiting luccagelatobreakfast is servedold buildingtuscanynapoleon
Filter
Updating list...
177 - 182 of 412 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2008

Have just spent two nights at this hotel, having been a couple of years ago. Overall the experience was disappointing with the hotel looking slightly "tired". The rooms are still OK but bathrooms badly in need of updating. Grounds still lovely - peaceful and pleasant. Felt they were cutting back on staff so, although the staff were pleasant, the service was not up to scratch. The most disappointing aspect was the food with average breakfast (as is usually the case in Italy) and expensive lunch and dinner menus. The price would not have been an issue had the quality of the food been good but it wasn't. Needs to improve to warrant the price

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Paul088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UniversoLucca, Manager at Villa La Principessa, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2008

Dear Sir, we are sorry you had such sensation of our Villa. Every year we make many maintenance’s works to maintain the magical atmosphere of the past times. We couldn’t, and we wouldn’t, distort the soul of the Villa with modern furniture. Anyway we have all the modern comforts, like wi-fi and sat-tv , joined with antique furniture, not “tired” as you defined it.
For breakfast we serve a wide range of food like corn flakes, croissant, selection of breads, selection of salami, selection of hams and cheeses, various cakes, eggs, coffee, tea, hot and cold milk, etc. It is more then a common breakfast. Our restaurant offers traditional dishes from Lucca and Tuscany; we are sorry if you found it expensive, we could assure our rates are absolutely on the average and the quality of the food more then the average. We hope we could have the chance to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2008

This was our third visit, so we like it. Bit put out because our 'room with a balcony' not available for first 2 nights and first room offered unacceptable-however they then provided a suite for the first two nights. Balcony room very nice with comfortable armchairs and a table to write at though carpet getting a little threadbare but somehow fits in with the country house atmosphere. Staff very friendly and helpful. A car would make it more versatile but it is actually on a direct bus route from the airport at Pisa and there is a local bus service from outside the gate into Lucca, one of the most interesting and beautiful cities in Italy. There is also a regular service from Lucca to Florence (1hr approx.) Ask the reception to open the back gate for you to avoid walking along the main road to the bus stop.
Lovely pool area and pleasant garden.
Breakfast good but evening meals a bit disapointing.
Plenty of good trattoria in Lucca but unless you eat early you will need to get a taxi back.
We bicycled round the walls - since I have hardly ridden this was quite an achievement! There is an excellent hand-held tour guide to the town available at the tourist office in the bus square at Piazzale Verdi (Porta St Anna). The church and cathedral columns are amazing.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarigoldLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2008

My husband and I have just spend 3 nights here after finding the Villa on the internet. I mentioned in our booking request that it was our wedding anniversary during our stay and asked if we could have a a suite with a balcony (if available). When we were shown to our room we found there were only twin beds and there was no balcony. The balcony wasn't an issue because the weather wasn't that great, however when I queried the twin bed situation at Reception I was told that there was no request made on the booking for a double bed and that we should just push the beds together. Even though I didn't specifically ask for a Double Bed I assumed (evidently incorrectly) that by mentioning it was our anniversary, we would be allocated a "Double" not "Twin" Room. We had planned to dine in the restaurant at the hotel to celebrate however the indifferent attitute of the woman at Reception when we checked in completely soured our taste for the Villa and we spent as little time there as possible. Very disappointed considering we paid 235 Euros per night.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianneandGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UniversoLucca, Manager at Villa La Principessa, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2008

We apologize for the discomfort, there was a misunderstanding in taking the reservation. Unfortunately we were fully booked when you were here and we couldn’t change the room to one with double bed instead of twin. We didn’t say that you should put the bed together by yourself, but we were going to do it as we usually do in those cases. We can’t believe you were experienced such a bad time with someone at the reception, we always receive compliments for the kindness and helpfulness of our staff. We are very sorry and we hope to have the chance to welcome you again and make you have a better sojourn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2008

I stayed here with my parents. We booked for two nights but ended up staying just the one. This is not a bad hotel in any sense - the rooms are clean, service was great, staff were friendly and it wasn't bad value.

It does however belong to a more a genteel class of place that is frankly getting a bit dated. The room decoration is out of a 1970's soft porn movie and the gardens are dilapidated and need some love. The pool area is fine, but again, needs some money and some imagination lavished on it.

Restaurant was fine, but not out of this world.

The other problem is it's around 4 kms out from Lucca and there's a busy main road with no footpath - in other words unless you want to drive somewhere you're pretty much stuck there and the attractions last an afternoon.

Good for an overnighter, but until someone takes it hand and updates everything, probably not much more.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DamonR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UniversoLucca, Manager at Villa La Principessa, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2008

Thank you for your compliments on our staff. Sincerely we think that defining our room’s decoration out of 1970's soft porn movie is a bit exaggerated. We have many different type of rooms and the one that you've stayed in have a classical countryside silk decoration on the walls. Obviously you could dislike it, but it represents the atmosphere of the Villa. Please consider that the Principessa claims the most distant origins among all the Luccan Villas and a hard updating runs the risk to depersonalize it. Swimming pool have all renewed furnishings but the weather was not good during your stay and we understand it has made your stay less pleasant. The Principessa is only 5 minutes by car from Lucca and it is rounded by a secular park: the ideal place to rest and relax, but It combines the vicinity to the city and the calm of a countryside Villa. We hope to have the chance to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2007

The location is beautiful and very peaceful. It has a nice garden and you can hear birds singing all day long.
It's a bit far from the city center (5-10 min drive).
The room is very spacious and nicely decorated.

The TV is ridiculously small, the bathroom also very small and the box for the shower I could not even pick up the soap from the floor without opening the door first.

The service is not so good. There was no internet and the receptionist would be very rude when we asked to borrow her computer to get an urgent email. No concierge service, even though the receptionist can help you at times to call for reservations.

Breakfast is ok.

Overall I recommend the place for someone who wants piece and quiet and does not want to go to the town all the time.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Eduardo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UniversoLucca, Manager at Villa La Principessa, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2008

We thank you for your opinion. We have different type of rooms that vary in shape and size due to the historical nature of the Villa. It was builted in 1300. Just few bathrooms have only the shower, most of the others have very spacious ones. The tv has a normal size, don't know why you found it ridiculously small. As per the internet, we have the Wi-Fi in the entire Hotel. We are sorry if it didn't work when you were there but I can assure that, if we know that it is urgent, we let you use our pc. Our staff is always at your disposal, always friendly and helpful, always gives you a concierge service to organize your holiday at the best. Regards. Villa La Principessa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews