We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (412)
Filter reviews
412 results
Traveler rating
236
122
36
13
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
236
122
36
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely evening mealswimming pooloriginal charmpisa airportshort drivequiet hotelhelpful in every waygorgeous hotelminutes by carlovely poolexcellent breakfastvisiting luccagelatobreakfast is servedold buildingtuscanynapoleon
Filter
Updating list...
139 - 144 of 412 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2012

The villa is nestled in the hills.
Great pool area to relax at, surrounded by luscious gardens.
Excellent breakfast buffet with nice outdoor seating.
Rooms were nice with new, modern bathrooms and spacious showers.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanni14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
principessalucca, Direttore at Villa La Principessa, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2015

Dear Vanni 14

Many thanks for your importan opinion!
We are very pleased to offer a relaxant break and our intent is offer the possibility to our guests to fully appreciate the swimming pool, the park and gardens around the Villa,
We look forward to welcoming you again during your next visit in Tuscany
Ivan Cristorori
Direttore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We spent six nights in this hotel, the staff were very good and our room was fine, BUT our holiday here was spoilt by the lack of amenities outside. The swimming pool area is cheap and unattractive, there are insufficient loungers and the chairs are uncomfortable. The outside area where dinner is taken is poor and unattractive. The outside area where lunch is taken is very poor - a few tables on bare earth. The garden has no comfortable garden furniture or shades and the lawn is mainly weeds. Lastly, the breakfast is the same each day which after a few days becomes very boring.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grumpylady-61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

This was our second stay here, and although it's looking a bit threadbare in spots, I wouldn't hesitate to return. The grounds are extensive and beautiful. Our room was large, airy and comfortable with a lovely view of the back garden and pool. There was plenty of closet and drawer space. The bathroom was tiny, but we managed. We had breakfast in the beautiful garden every morning, and what a bountiful breakfast buffet it was! We had dinner in the garden twice. The menu was quite sophisticated and the food was delicious. The afternoons were very hot, and we enjoyed spending time at the pool after morning sightseeing. Everyone on the staff was courteous, helpful and attentive. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brillag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
principessalucca, Direttore at Villa La Principessa, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2015

Dear Brillag

thanks four your important review , our intent is to offer our guests a pleasant and confortable stay at Villa La Principessa.

Our staff appreciated your nice words

Looking forward to welcoming you during your next visit in Lucca
Kind regards
Ivan Cristofori
Direttore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

The hotel, its staff and its surroundings couldn't have been any better. My only gripe is that we didn't stay here long enough!

The surroundings are beautiful, the gardens that form part of the hotel are immaculate, idealyic and a pleasure to walk around at sunset. The rooms themselves were pristinely clean and looked after, and absolutely beautiful. The pool and the pool service could not be faulted.

The staff really made you feel very welcome, nothing was too much for them and they always bore a smile.

This was an absolutely perfect romantic getaway. There was a family with young children staying, but we did not hear any noise at all and the family also seemed to be enjoying their stay as much as we did ours.

No trip to Tuscany will ever be complete again without at least a weekend break at Villa La Principessa. A very quick bike ride/20 min walk/ 5 mins in the car from Lucca, but you feel completely alone surrounded by the mountains.

Cannot recommend highly enough.

Room Tip: We went for a luxury room - the floor space was bigger than our actual house in the UK, amazing.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sporzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

It is not often that a hotel totally exceeds expectations.

Villa la Principessa was in a class of it's own for location, ambience and particularly service from the very attentive and helpful staff. The standard of dinner served in the garden was exceptional......with service second to none, particularly from the Cocktail Bar/wine waiter.
The pool area was such a nice place to be that we struggled to get my daughter and her husband to leave it to visit the beautiful city of Lucca (an ideal 10 minute taxi ride away).

We also had the pleasure of a real Italian wedding taking place which added even more to the atmosphere of the hotel ..........without causing the slightest inconvenience.

We will be 'selling' La Principessa as the perfect Wedding Venue to friennds and family......any excuse to return !!

Room Tip: La Principessa so well situated in it's own grounds that all rooms are peaceful.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lady123166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews