We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (411)
Filter reviews
411 results
Traveler rating
235
122
36
13
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
235
122
36
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely evening mealswimming pooloriginal charmpisa airportshort drivequiet hotelhelpful in every waygorgeous hotelminutes by carlovely poolexcellent breakfastvisiting luccagelatobreakfast is servedold buildingtuscanynapoleon
Filter
Updating list...
143 - 148 of 411 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2012

It is not often that a hotel totally exceeds expectations.

Villa la Principessa was in a class of it's own for location, ambience and particularly service from the very attentive and helpful staff. The standard of dinner served in the garden was exceptional......with service second to none, particularly from the Cocktail Bar/wine waiter.
The pool area was such a nice place to be that we struggled to get my daughter and her husband to leave it to visit the beautiful city of Lucca (an ideal 10 minute taxi ride away).

We also had the pleasure of a real Italian wedding taking place which added even more to the atmosphere of the hotel ..........without causing the slightest inconvenience.

We will be 'selling' La Principessa as the perfect Wedding Venue to friennds and family......any excuse to return !!

Room Tip: La Principessa so well situated in it's own grounds that all rooms are peaceful.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lady123166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We just returned from a 5 night stay at this jewel of a hotel. The staff is lovely and accomodating, really making you feel like you are a guest in their home. The grounds are spectacular, a perfect setting for a "destination wedding" or for romance. After coming from Venice, we truly appreciated the amazing air conditioning, not a given in many European hotels, and the stunning pool. The views were incredible and the location can't be beat, both in proximatity to the airport and to the town of Lucca.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusieLivingston_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

As you wind down the long, curved driveway of the Villa La Principessa you feel like you might be going back in time. The grounds of this former "castle" are quiet and secluded. When you enter the foyer your time travel sensation is reinforced even more. The old world style typical of the era of this property enhances its beauty and charm. Antiques dot the common areas and welcome guests as you stroll throughout the rooms. The staff are generally friendly and helpful. The rooms are a bit over-the-top in their decor, but are comfortable and well appointed. The shower was a bit small, as was the entire bathroom, actually, but I have noticed this is common in much of Europe especially in the older converted hotels. The location is convenient to both Pisa (not terribly impressed there) and Lucca (fantastic town to visit!). The restaurant was slightly below average for both dinner and breakfast. I think this hotel would be a good destination for business travelers and family wishing to visit Lucca.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PirateLA40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Although not the best it's a nice hotel with a great pool that's well located.

Avoid trying to eat out of hours unless you want stale sandwiches and turning up for breakfast late (the waiter was very rude). Outside of that it was good though and our room was spacious and modern. A good value for money pick.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BelsizeBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

we have just returned from a fantastic visit to the area,( first time in Tuscany) the hotel is only a short drive from Pisa airport (a lovely 20 min drive through the tuscan hills) nestled behind the trees hides the villa, it is a beautiful and impressive building surrounded by trees and shrubs
.
The reception is very welcoming as you enter through the door,the staff all speak fantastic english,but it would be rude not to at least try to greet them in Italian.We booked a Double room containing a lovely comfortable bed for Five nights and we we'rnt dissapointed, spacious modern, air conditioned room yet in keeping with its decor with the style and age of the vila.

We ate at the hotel the first evening and the food was excellent not a huge choice of dishes but all class with good wine, the waiters were fantastic very good service from everyone we met. I would say the the drinks are a little overpriced however it is a four star hotel so you should expect to pay more ( 7 euros for a gin and tonic ) however the setting you are eating and drinking in does almost excuse the amount you pay.

We had breakfast included and all I can say is WOW sat outside in the garden and I could not beleive the selection of food they offered, and everything was presented and kept lovely, there was something for everyone hot and cold, absolutley the best breakfast selection I have ever seen.

The grounds of the hotel are very well kept containing a lovely swimming pool (towel service at pool also fully attended for drinks,the sun beds are lovely ) it was very relaxing by the pool no children there just adults so it was very quiet.Very welcome after a morning sightseeing as the temperatures were reaching in excess of 35 degrees.

You must take a short drive to Lucca and have a walk in to the area that used to be an ampitheatre take it in and enjoy a relaxing drink, a short drive into pisa is a must.Ask at reception and they will direct you to a free carpark that has a bus service into the leaning tower area
(1 euro return per person ) also visit florence altho expect to be amongst thousands of others ! but it was still a fabulous trip to see the sights.( about an hour away go early )

It is a very classy hotel attracting visitors from across the globe,a fantastic location to see Tuscany very easy to access the motorway.I cannot really find anthing to critisize about the hotel or the staff we met, A thoroughly enjoyable trip to a very sophisticated hotel, we will definatly be returning.Thank you to all the staff.

Room Tip: we booked a double and was not dissapointed on the back of the hotel with beautiful view.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerry salmon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews