We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (412)
Filter reviews
412 results
Traveler rating
236
122
36
13
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
236
122
36
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely evening mealswimming pooloriginal charmpisa airportshort drivequiet hotelhelpful in every waygorgeous hotelminutes by carlovely poolexcellent breakfastvisiting luccagelatobreakfast is servedold buildingtuscanynapoleon
Filter
Updating list...
146 - 151 of 412 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Although not the best it's a nice hotel with a great pool that's well located.

Avoid trying to eat out of hours unless you want stale sandwiches and turning up for breakfast late (the waiter was very rude). Outside of that it was good though and our room was spacious and modern. A good value for money pick.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BelsizeBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

we have just returned from a fantastic visit to the area,( first time in Tuscany) the hotel is only a short drive from Pisa airport (a lovely 20 min drive through the tuscan hills) nestled behind the trees hides the villa, it is a beautiful and impressive building surrounded by trees and shrubs
.
The reception is very welcoming as you enter through the door,the staff all speak fantastic english,but it would be rude not to at least try to greet them in Italian.We booked a Double room containing a lovely comfortable bed for Five nights and we we'rnt dissapointed, spacious modern, air conditioned room yet in keeping with its decor with the style and age of the vila.

We ate at the hotel the first evening and the food was excellent not a huge choice of dishes but all class with good wine, the waiters were fantastic very good service from everyone we met. I would say the the drinks are a little overpriced however it is a four star hotel so you should expect to pay more ( 7 euros for a gin and tonic ) however the setting you are eating and drinking in does almost excuse the amount you pay.

We had breakfast included and all I can say is WOW sat outside in the garden and I could not beleive the selection of food they offered, and everything was presented and kept lovely, there was something for everyone hot and cold, absolutley the best breakfast selection I have ever seen.

The grounds of the hotel are very well kept containing a lovely swimming pool (towel service at pool also fully attended for drinks,the sun beds are lovely ) it was very relaxing by the pool no children there just adults so it was very quiet.Very welcome after a morning sightseeing as the temperatures were reaching in excess of 35 degrees.

You must take a short drive to Lucca and have a walk in to the area that used to be an ampitheatre take it in and enjoy a relaxing drink, a short drive into pisa is a must.Ask at reception and they will direct you to a free carpark that has a bus service into the leaning tower area
(1 euro return per person ) also visit florence altho expect to be amongst thousands of others ! but it was still a fabulous trip to see the sights.( about an hour away go early )

It is a very classy hotel attracting visitors from across the globe,a fantastic location to see Tuscany very easy to access the motorway.I cannot really find anthing to critisize about the hotel or the staff we met, A thoroughly enjoyable trip to a very sophisticated hotel, we will definatly be returning.Thank you to all the staff.

Room Tip: we booked a double and was not dissapointed on the back of the hotel with beautiful view.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerry salmon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Just back from staying in this lovely old hotel for a few days for my sons wedding. Our room (junior suite) was huge (116) it was really nice, full of antique furniture. The bed was very comfortable too.The bathroom very large, huge walk in shower, jaccussi bath etc. No falling over hubby to get to the sink or shower in the morning. Breakfast was held in large sunny dining room, nice mixture of hot and cold food. Staff were very helpful although no regular staff in bar at night. Pool area was very clean and towels were supplied. It was a relaxing hotel. The downside was, there was no ironing facility at the hotel, you CANNOT use an iron in your room. . All items are sent out to a laundry to be washed/ ironed. This was not convenient for some of our party as they only arrived the night before the wedding and needed their clothing to be refreshed. All clothes had to be sent out in the morning and they would be returned at night! For a cost of 6euros per shirt etc. The hotel would benefit from having a small room where you could go and iron and the staff would be able to check to see if everything was switched off after use. This is my only complaint about the hotel. I would definitely return for a holiday and would recommend it to all my friends

Room Tip: Ask for 1st floor or 2nd floor rooms facing gardens, they are bright & sunny.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank llany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed in the villa for 6 nights in early June 2012 during our first visit to Tuscany. The location of the Villa is convenient for Pisa airport and only a short drive into Lucca. It is also convenient for day trips to Siena and Florence. We had absolutely no complaints during our stay. The staff were all very helpful. We enjoyed the breakfast each day and had one lovely evening meal in the hotel restaurant - the meal was slightly on the expensive side but thoroughly enjoyed the food and setting. Our room was large and newly decorated. The common areas on the ground floor are very grand and provide numerous options for relaxing in the evening. The pool is of a good size and allowed us the option to relax following a couple of busier days sightseeing. All in all a fantastic stay and I would recommend the villa to anyone visiting northern Tuscany.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank paul d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
principessalucca, Direttore at Villa La Principessa, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Dear Paul D.
thank you for your nice words, as you said the Villa is in a great location to visit all the cities of Tuscany. Alternatively, relax in our park or by the pool is a viable alternative. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

It is a beautiful building with quite grand but comfortable public rooms (high ceilings, big fireplaces etc). We were warmly welcomed by the friendly staff and shown around a few rooms to choose from as they were all quite different in style. Having made our choice, we soon settled in and walked around the lovely gardens. It was too cold to use the pool but it looked superb as did the various terraces for sitting and relaxing.

We also enjoyed our evening meal in the formal restaurant - in fact it was one of the better meals we had during our trip to Italy. I imagine that, in summertime, dinner on the shady terrace would be a wonderful experience. The breakfast was also good.

Other plus points - easy parking, handy for Lucca but away from the crowds, English TV news (quite a rarity we found in this area). Negative point - chargeable Wi Fi - surely a hotel of this quality could offer free (limited if needs be) Wi Fi like everywhere else these days!

Overall, it was a very pleasant and relaxing stay and we will return (after having dealt with our emails elsewhere!).

Room Tip: If the room you are allocated is not to your style, ask if there are any alternatives as the decor and ambiance varies enormously from room to room.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveFrenchWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
principessalucca, Direttore at Villa La Principessa, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2014

Dear Love French,
Many thanks for the nice words, and we wait for the next trip to Lucca. Grazie!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews