We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Hotel full of history with bags of character” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Universo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Universo
Ranked #38 of 55 Hotels in Lucca
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Hotel full of history with bags of character”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed for two nights at this hotel which is very close to St. John's Gate and only a 10 minute walk to the railway station ( take the left set of steps up from here ). The welcome at the desk was warm and the team were very efficient. The rooms and bathrooms are a good size and views on to the neighbouring squares are fantastic - the hotel has a bar and restaurant spilling out on to one of these squares. Walking anywhere is easy - less than an hour round the walls. Highlights are the amphitheatre ( try to avoid the temptation to eat at one of the many restaurants as service is very quick and quality suffers ) and all the sites associated with the Holy Face - Cathedral and museum combined tickets are great value and this allows you to visit the Roman ruins beneath St. Giovanni.

Breakfast was good and the imposing facade was always a welcome sight after a long day's sightseeing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DAVID C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    168
    110
    41
    22
See reviews for
53
226
26
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This hotel has a great location; close to stores, the wall, the train station and the opera. However, that is really the only good thing I can say. We were with a tour group and each of the others in our group shared stories about their bathrooms. Toliets not working, no hot water, etc. Our shower was in the middle of the bathtub - with no shower curtain or door. So, every time we showered the entire floor got wet. The bed was rock hard, and the lighting horrible. Wi-Fi worked only 1/2 the time we were there. The keyboard to the only computer provided for guests is filthy! The breakfast room is a nightmare....tables crammed in to a small space make it very hard to get to the buffet, and most mornings there was not a table to be had by 8:30am. And finally, the staff members are rude and generally unhelpful. I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dunedin34698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lucca hotels

Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We have just arrived home after spending three nights in Lucca at the Hotel Universo. Good location except when they were setting up a youth event in the piazza. Men spent all day putting up stands etc. and they worked until midnight with generator noise keeping us awake. In the morning activities started just after 8 am with loud music and then they packed up at 1 pm and everything was taken down and they left! Our room was very spacious - Had a shower but no bath but large bathroom and high window onto the piazza. Also large window in the bedroom onto the adjoining piazza. i.e. corner building and our room was on the corner. Close to numerous cafes and shops and restaurants. Small breakfast room with tables close together and breakfast itself was adequate but not impressive. No staff to help with luggage and only a small lift. Reception staff were reasonably helpful. Furniture and decor in need of uplift although rooms clean and beds comfortable and plenty of drawer and wardrobe space and comfortable sofas. Our room had an anti room with a sofa and space to store luggage. Mini bar had broken down but free bottled water provided.. Lucca is a lovely town and we enjoyed walking on the ramparts which surround the town and are used by locals for cycling, jogging and walking. Botanic Gardens are well worth a visit. Also Cathedral and other churches. We had three nights there and divided the town into areas which we were able to enjoy individually. We were told there were good rail links to Florence, Pisa and other towns.

Room Tip: We think all the rooms face either one or other piazza. Our room was on the 2nd floor so easy two f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaskell_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

A grand old hotel in Lucca, which is an under-rated city in Tuscany. It may not have the Piazza del Campo of Siena or the Ponte Vecchio but it's a lovely town well worth a stop. The Universo is perfectly located on the edge of two of Lucca's main squares & I see some of the other reviews talk about it being a bit tired but I think the fact it's an old, but grand hotel is part of the charm. The room we had was big with an old four poster - all quite charming. On the negative side, the Wi-Fi was not good, and the fruit juice at breakfast was a bit tasteless but overall, I'd definitely recommend the Universo.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeTY2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nova scotia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Univero in Lucca. We arrived very late as our plane was late and we drove there from the airport in Rome. We found the staff welcoming and helpful,and they continued to be so on or stay and even after we left as our luggage had been lost during our teip from Frankfurt. The rooms were a good size and very comfortable and the hotel was inside the wall facing a interesting piazza. It was easy to explore Lucca as well as close to the train station. My husband had noticed this hotel 2 year5s earlier when we had sp0ent an evening in Lucca and thought we would never be able to stay there so we were pleas3ed that we had this opportunity. Just a wonderful elegant hotel and perfect to come back to after tourimng through Tuscany!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CatherineHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The location of the hotel is ideal. I looks better from the outside, while the inside, though pleasant, is a little the worse for wear. It is clean, but the carpets etc are worn. The reception staff were helpful. The rooms also need a major uplift. They feel as if they were last re-decorated twenty years ago,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ron_owens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Couldn't wish for a better location to explore beautiful Lucca, the hotel itself needs a little tlc although rooms are clean, breakfast was basic self service but adequate. Hotel bar never seemed to be open, but there are plenty of bars and restaurants within minutes of the Hotel. My only gripe would be that there is no chance of a shower without getting your hair wet and no shower caps are provided, this would be fine if the hairdryers had any power! No iron in room or available in hotel, so be prepared take crease free clothes and a shower cap.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ValCT57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.1 mi away
Piccolo Hotel Puccini
Piccolo Hotel Puccini
#23 of 55 in Lucca
4.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo Diana
Albergo Diana
#31 of 55 in Lucca
4.0 of 5 stars 59 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo San Martino
Albergo San Martino
#5 of 55 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Antica Residenza dell'Angelo
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#4 of 55 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 934 reviews
0.4 mi away
A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Universo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Universo

Property: Hotel Universo
Address: Piazza del Giglio 1, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Universo 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Universo is the very first hotel built in Lucca, locatedo in the hearth of the historical centre. Estabilished as a guesthouse around 1850, under the name of "Locanda Universo and Tosca" it became an hotel in 1857. The Hotel is definitely the best starting point to discover the treasures of Lucca and its surroundings: within a few minutes walk you can reach all the sights of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Universo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universo Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing