We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No baggage assistance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Universo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Universo
Ranked #39 of 55 Hotels in Lucca
los angeles
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“No baggage assistance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This hotel has nice rooms, however there is no help with luggage, so if you are old or handicapped, it is a bit of a struggle. Also, the breakfast room is very crowded! However, the location is good for walking the town inside the walls. It is near the Duomo and also near a deconsecrated church that does nightly Puccini concerts. Also, good restaurants close by!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kdlosangeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    168
    110
    41
    22
See reviews for
53
226
26
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bruxelles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I am quite familiar with the beautiful city of Lucca, but staying at this charming and fascinating hotel has been an enlightening experience. We have been kindly and expertly guided through the many possibilities and options for the choice of rooms, finding what we felt was the right combination -quality for god price. We found ourselves in the middle of the town, walking distance from everywhere, quite literally. Besides, and most importantly, we were kindly and warmly guided thorugh the city many attractions and centres of interest in a very personalised way. Rarely have I found so much competence and generosity in sharing an obviously deep love for the place. We have discovered sides of the city, and of the city's life, that we would not have suspected. That was a very good start. The ambience is extremely elegant without ostentation, in a very aristocratic yet unassuming way. The service friendly and very efficient. A special mention for the breakfast, rich and fulfilling. That's what we felt Tuscany is about.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are more silent, but you cannot enjoy the view. Make sure you enquiry on the kind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FlipBruxelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Value hotel for the price. Spacious room, bathroom with a good view (imagine soaking in the tub with a view of surrounding rooftops), lots of closet space (I wish we were staying more than just 1 night so I could have filled it up!). WIFI signal was spotty in the room but who needs that anyway if you intend to be out soaking Lucca up.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaimorales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
808 reviews
208 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 772 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Arriving by train we found the Hotel very easily - a comfortable 5 to 10 min stroll from the station. It's located inside the City walls astride 2 squares. We arrived in January and there was a market and ice rink in one square which was loveley.

Check in was painless - polite efficient staff.

The exterior and public areas of the Hotel have a real sense of history. Reception and an adjoining reading / relaxation room are plush.

The rooms are fairly basic- small bathroom - tiny shower cubicle, and the rooms could do with some decoration as its v basic. Free wifi worked well as did the TV.

Breakfast was just about ok - certainly nothing to shout about.

But all in all we were happy with our 2 nights here - reasonably comfortable and very affordable with a good location. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Me_n_my_rucksack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Lovely hotel, perfectly positioned to explore the beautiful town! Room was spacious and opened our windows to a beautiful view of the square.

The hotel is tradional Italian grandure, no mod cons but the air con did the job in the 90 degree heat.

There was a range of couples with our holiday party and all from different backgrounds and we all said we'd go back to the same hotel and can't wait to go back to Lucca.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greygoosejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

what a total disapointment, my husband had always wanted to stay here. from the outside it looked like we were going to step back in history and stay in a magnificent hotel.....how wrong we were!! the reception staff were unfriendly they were boardering on rude. the rooms were awful with odd sized single beds pushed together and the bathroom was cold and full of mildew. the toilet was far from clean.....and as for the breakfast, if you like luke warm bitter coffee and cold boiled eggs you will enjoy. this was a complete diasapointment considering the wonderful location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sally h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UniversoLucca, Proprietario at Hotel Universo, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Friend, thank you for reviewing our hotel here. I am really sorry that your stay was not up to the expectations. It seems that you didn’t like neither the hotel neither the staff so it’s very difficult for me to answer to this comment.
Please trust me if I say that we care. We care of our guests, we care of our job. We try every day to give our friends coming here the sensation of being everytime more then welcome and we try to let our guests feel that we are here for them, to make their holidays pleasant in our beautiful city. The only thing I can say to you is that I really hope I will have an other chance with you to show you what I’m saying: we care. Marianna Marcucci – Hotel Universo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lucca hotels

Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We found this hotel easy to find once we arrived by train. The receptionist was very helpful. the room was small but very comfortable. Great to have your own bathroom. Breakfast was served n the dining room each morning and was very good. The hotel is in a great position with bars and restaurants all around. We went back a few streets and found some very good local restaurants with great a great local menu. Saturday night it seems the whole of Lucca comes to this area to be seen. Everyone dresses up and just mill around chatting. Great place will come back some day and we would stay in this hotel again great value and quiet.

Peter and Diane Asmar

Room Tip: All rooms had a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.1 mi away
Piccolo Hotel Puccini
Piccolo Hotel Puccini
#23 of 55 in Lucca
4.0 of 5 stars 231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo Diana
Albergo Diana
#32 of 55 in Lucca
4.0 of 5 stars 59 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo San Martino
Albergo San Martino
#5 of 55 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#4 of 55 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 935 reviews
0.1 mi away
Antica Residenza dell'Angelo
0.4 mi away
A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Universo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Universo

Property: Hotel Universo
Address: Piazza del Giglio 1, 55100, Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Universo 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Universo is the very first hotel built in Lucca, locatedo in the hearth of the historical centre. Estabilished as a guesthouse around 1850, under the name of "Locanda Universo and Tosca" it became an hotel in 1857. The Hotel is definitely the best starting point to discover the treasures of Lucca and its surroundings: within a few minutes walk you can reach all the sights of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Universo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universo Hotel Lucca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing